We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best vacations I've ever had.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“One of the best vacations I've ever had.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I'd like to share with you my secret hide-a-way in Joshua Tree. It's an unassuming place: a small strip motel built in the 50s, and one you might overlook if you didn't know what I know. The fact is, it's a mom and pop business, and the owners are delightful people. They truly enjoy going out of their way to be helpful to their guests.

When I stayed there, recently, the owners, Ravi and Jasmine, gave me help as to where I could find the best food and suggested places of interest in the area that I wouldn't have known of otherwise.

One thing I especially liked about The Safari, was how safe I felt there. Ravi is very particular about who he lets sign the register. The motel is well lit and has a fantstic surveillance system. Being a woman travelling alone, I felt so at ease and at home there. In fact, I plan to always stay at The Safair Motor Inn anytime I'm in the area. And I am, in fact, a little hesitant to publish this and give away my secret.

Thank you Ravi and Jasmine for being part of my wonderfu Joshua Tree experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
45
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estavayer-le-Lac, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We spent two nights in this simple motel and would definitely go back, even for a longer stay. It is close to one of the entry of Joshua NP, close to the restaurants, supermarkets, and it has a nice inner garden and a big swimming pool. The owner, Mr Ravi, was charming and gave us some good advices. He gave us the address of an excellent Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: Our rooms were far away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaflorens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Mrs+Mr. Appreciate for stay ,valuable time to write great review .Your friendly conversation, always

smiling ,Helping other was amazing.This world really need people like you .

I hope this time not snowing in Switzerland .

See you again some time. ..Ravi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

This was my third stay at the place. The amenities are very simple, the cost is average but the service that Ravi and his family provide are excellent!

Room Tip: Ask the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamanoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Joshua Tree is a small town with limited resources but it is convenient to the national park. I would recommend staying 6+ miles down the road in Yucca Valley where there is more to offer: groceries, shopping, restaurants, motels. But if you just need a basic place to sleep instead of camping in the park, this motel will do the job. The manager is kind but the property is in need of improvements. Free Wifi was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfeifavs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Appreciated for stay , Gov. not allow in this town any noisy big franchise businesses .People love
small restaurants we have in this village.We always fix things ,again same ? never ends .we
just installed new ac/heat with remote many place don`t . When you pay $45-50. please do not
expect $70.-80 service, amenities. California is more expensive than Colorado. see you some
time again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landers, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

The rooms as well as the grounds were all clean and neat, and everything that you would expect to come with a motel room was there. However, what really puts the Safari Motor Inn above the rest is the exceptional, personalized customer service that is all too rare these days. Ravi's entire attitude basically communicated: "If you need anything, please ask." The entire experience was a good refreshing taste of customer service as it is supposed to be.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Appreciated for your stay and time to write this review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I needed a place to stay four nights a week for about three months due to work. During that time, I stayed with my friends at the safari. Each and every time I stayed there, they made it their top priority to make sure I had everything I needed and that my every stay with them was a comfortable one. They are the most friendliest, caring people I've met in a long time. The service is one of a kind at the safari. The rooms are very clean, the location is great and I couldn't find a better rate. I would absolutely recommend the safari to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CriscasSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
appreciated for stay , you always very quiet we urge to guests It is very important night time .See you some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

I have been traveling to Joshua Tree for several years to climb. When I get tired of camping or it's too cold I always stay at The Safari. Ravi and his wife have always made me feel welcome and always go out of their way to help. For instance, when I was unable to get a fast enough connection to the internet, Ravi immediately came to my room with a signal booster for the Wifi. The Safari is a no-frills kind of place, but it's a great value and I always feel as though I've been a welcome guest.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
appreciated for your staying and great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
14.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Property: Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing