We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the national park and a good Indian restaurant”
Review of High Desert Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Desert Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Close to the national park and a good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The town of Joshua Tree is pretty small but it is close to the national park. We stayed several days for some hiking in March. There's a good Indian restaurant and a convenience store next to the property and also a bar with an inexpensive happy hour about a half mile down the highway. . There are grocery stores in nearby towns and since the motel had a small refrigerator and microwave, we were able to do some of our own cooking. The room was clean and the tv and wifi worked fine. The photos of the motel make it look like there's a scenic picnic area - there's a picnic table, but it's just in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
85
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a motel right on the main road in Joshua Tree. The location is very convenient. Being right on the main road, I thought it would be noisier than it was. Despite a modest amount of road noise, I was pleasantly surprised. We had an upstairs room, so there was obviously no noise from above or headlights shining through the window. The room was spacious, clean, had Wi-Fi and a refrigerator and microwave in good working order, which we utilized. The proprietor gave me free tokens for the ice machine. Another bonus were the discount coupons for virtually every restaurant in town, which we also utilized. For all this the price is very inexpensive. I would recommend the High Desert Motel and definitely stay there again while visiting this strikingly beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed for 3 days here while visiting Joshua National Park, excellent housekeeping, property is old but well maintained. Clean. Close to everything. If you cannot stand highway noise, bring ear plugs (we always do).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmatrixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Reasonably priced, clean facility near the Northwest entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. Unfortunately, we were in a downstairs room, and we had upstairs neighbors tramping around late at night. I would definitely recommend going for an upstairs room if you wish to have a more peaceful stay.

Our bathroom fan was squeaky and on its last legs. The loop under the bathroom sink had a small leak resulting in moisture on the floor below. Lastly, our refrigerator was a bit noisy during its on-phase of its cycle.

Room Tip: I recommend an upstairs room as we had upstairs tramping about late into the night. That sound trans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in a suite (larger room) in February 2014. The decor is not the newest but the place is clearly maintained and cleaned to a very high standard, and the suite beds are huge and comfy. We weren't disturbed by the highway noise, and enjoyed a good night's sleep.

If you're loking for dinner, try Sam's next door for a surprisingly good Indian.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the quintessential American motel, like you see in movies with an upper and lower deck and all rooms facing the same direction. No swipe cards here but an actual plastic motel key for your room (retro! haha). For $65 a night, I thought it was great. Nothing fancy but all needs are met and we didn't have any complaints. We spent 2 nights here over the New Years Eve holiday and it was surprisingly quiet.

This is a great place to lay your head if you're planning Joshua Tree adventures as it's located very close to the park entrance. In fact, I think it might be the closest lodging to the road that leads into the park. Also, it's 1/2 mile from Joshua Tree Saloon (great bar), Crossroads Cafe (my favorite food in JT) and Natural Sisters Cafe (healthy breakfasts). Also, it's right next to a liquor store/mini mart which is convenient.

The staff were nice and they seem to care about the place, it showed in the upkeep. It's true, the beds might not be the softest and the fixtures are a little outdated and dingy, but open your door and you've got a sweeping view of the most beautiful desert landscape in the west. There is even a little pool (not in use during our stay as it was December). I would stay here again, as it's good for the budget traveler. The shower was great, everything was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andromeda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
412 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Motel

Property: High Desert Motel
Address: 61310 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-1906
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your High Desert Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing