We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic. Convinient and good value.”
Review of High Desert Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Desert Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic. Convinient and good value.”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the High Desert Inn on our visit to Joshua Tree. It is a basic, clean motel, situated very close to the cafes and restaurants in Joshua Tree and to the Park entrance. Nothing fancy about it, but a good value budget hotel to use as a base when visiting the park.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    82
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
85
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Writing this review using the 20 Mbit WI-fi connection (speedtest.net), best WI-fi I have ever experienced! The room is clean, well equipped with fridge & microwave. TV is 20 or 22 inch. There is a small table for eating & a desk for the computer. Try it, you'll like it!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougMKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frauenkirchen, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

- Value for money
- Best internet ever seen in motels like this (20 M/bit)
- Room was were clean and spacious
- equipped with fridge, microwave, hair-dryer and coffee machine
- Pool available
- located directly at a highway but not noisy at all.
- dinner relief up to 20 %
- fully recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoliCsiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Only stayed one night, but if I were back in Joshua Tree I would stay here again! Super clean, great price, good WiFi, and quiet!! I got the best sleep of our entire trip here. The rooms are a bit outdated, but I could care less. And I LOVED the fact that they still use keys, real metal keys for the doors! Good amenities - fridge that works great, microwave, coffee pot with Don Francisco’s coffee, great water pressure in the shower... all around good place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToughMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for one night. We enjoyed the pool. The service was ok. A/C noisy, fridge present.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinoGeppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
215 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Clean room, comfortable bed, quiet. This provided the basic staples I consider important. Pluses were a pool & and area menus posted in the lobby & free wireless. Can't beat the price! Room is a bit outdated, but this doesn't matter to me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannford, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the High Desert Inn in Joshua Tree, CA. We were there visiting our son who is in the Marines and stationed at 29 Palms. The shower was to die for. The water pressure was unbelievable and plenty of hot water. We got a smoking room and for a smoking room it did not stink of smoke. The people here were very nice and accommidating. We had a very good time while staying here. The room rate was really reasonable compared to other places here to stay. The location was great close to the Joshua Tree National Park and everything else we did there. Very good location if you are there to visit someone stationed at 29 Palms. Which our son does live in Joshua Tree so it was really close to him. They came in daily and cleaned our room. The room was equiped with a small frig and microwave and of course a coffee pot. Very good place to stay for the money nothing fancy but clean and in a very good location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLMannford_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
411 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Desert Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Desert Motel

Property: High Desert Motel
Address: 61310 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-1906
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — High Desert Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your High Desert Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Desert Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing