We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossroads Cafe

Crossroads Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Crossroads Cafe is a classic American Diner, located on 29 Palms Hwy, near the main entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. We offer a wide variety of traditional diner fair to go along with unique specials that are all made from scratch and made with love. In addition, our menu is filled with great options for folks with dietary restrictions of any kind. From our savory bacon pancakes to the classic hamburger, from our fish tacos to homemade vegan chorizo & eggs, our menu has something for everyone. Happy trails and always pack water into the park!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressed by food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Atmosphere was fun and friendly. Service was attentive and quick. Prices were very reasonable. I had the soup-salad-macncheese combo, and all was delicious. It was more than enough food. One young son ordered the quesadilla, but wanted to substitute the veggies with different veggies. It became a very specific order, and the server made sure everything was just right. The other son enjoyed his large hamburger. We all had leftovers. Beer's good too. Only disappointment was that they ran out of the delicious-looking apple pie we saw at another table. I don't think we could have eaten another bite anyway. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    126
    21
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for flesh-eaters and veggies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had burgers, soup, tacos, salad and brownies (not to be missed!) and it was all good. My wife is almost vegan and they had plenty of choices for her on the menu. Draft beer is good too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelBHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lets face it, Joshua Tree is a little off the beaten track and I was not expecting a lot of choice in eating out, but decided on Crossroads cafe from reviews. The decor is interesting and offers lots to look at while waiting the arrival of your freshly prepared meal. The menu gave lots to choose from and catered for several special diets and our lunch was good enough to take us back for breakfast, a great corned beef hash and French toast, the next day. Attentive service, an obvious commitment to the quality of both the ingredients and the end product and a laid back vibe made it a really enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“go on the weekend and get the eggs benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had two breakfasts in Joshua Tree--both were at Crossroads Cafe. The food is fresh and fantastic. Everything from the herbed potatoes to the coffee tasted great. We were there on the weekend and were able to order the eggs benedict. I got the version with bacon and avocado. So good. Had we been there longer, I would have eaten breakfast there every day without fail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very busy when we arrived, but were seated promptly with our order taken. GREAT food. Went with my family and everyone found something to eat. They even have an awesome vegetarian options.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossroads Cafe also viewed

Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 
Joshua Tree, California Desert
Joshua Tree, California Desert
 

Been to Crossroads Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing