We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Splash of Desert Color”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Splash of Desert Color”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A classically quirky, funked out desert hideaway, Spin and Margie's is true to its name, off the 29 palms hwy down a short stretch of sandy dirt road and only a few minutes drive from Joshua Tree National Park's west entrance gate.

The Western Nomad suite we stayed in offered plenty of room to lounge, cook and cool ourselves down after some fun under the hot desert sun. The swamp cooler worked wonderfully, the room was kept very clean and stocked with some personal amenities such as soaps, shampoo and conditioner, plenty of towels, post cards, writing pads, some spices in the kitchen, television with several DVD's, literature on the park and its nearby restaurants, and even a CD player with some groovy jazz, bluegrass and bossa nova in the mix. The check-in process was smooth, and we even ran into Margie the next morning who was very kind in offering her own tips about what to see and where to go given the time of year we visited (late June, which can get rather hot!).

The grounds at Spin and Margie's are colorfully decorated and adorned with numerous seating areas and beautiful desert landscaping. They even have a communal BBQ next to a quaint water feature and though we did see one or two of the other guests, the experience remained a quiet and peaceful one that never felt crowded, indeed it felt quite private and relaxing. It is truly an oasis in an arid land, and while it is not particularly cheap, I would not hesitate to spend a few extra bucks to stay here again. Charming and unique, tons of character and a great location.

Room Tip: The Western Nomad is one of the detached suites with lots of room for a couple to enjoy. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geothrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
153
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can't really add anything new to the previous reviews. I loved staying there. I stayed there while my husband was off camping and felt very comfortable and relaxed the entire time. Having a little kitchen meant I could get fresh fruitand bread and local Joshua Tree Coffee Company coffee at the organic grocery for breakfast. Leftovers from the great Indian/pizza place made for convenient lazy lunches.
It was a wonderful place to stay and I hope to return. The only heads up I have would be to watch carefully for the turnoff - especially after dark. I guess a GPS system would remedy this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amo_a55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Spin and Margie's is a magical place! It's charming, inviting, peaceful, tasteful and well thought out- down to the last detail. The suites are cozy, clean, nicely decorated and well stocked. The grounds are charming and accommodating for R&R and breathtaking nature gazing. Everyone is super thoughtful and friendly. Spin and Margie's feels like it's own little world and a home away from home all at once. It's pretty much dream come true.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I love Joshua Tree National Park. I would not be visiting this sublime destination without the availability of the amazing suites at Spin and Margie's. My typical day starts with coffee in my room or in the suite's individual courtyard or by the fountain in the main courtyard or out by the fish pond. So one of my toughest decisions is where to relax and drink my coffee. I head into the park, hike for miles and return to Spin and Margie's where I am faced with another tough decision; where to take a nap and where to eat my evening meal. The beauty of the Park and the beauty of Spin and Margie's go hand in hand. Ahhhhh, I wish I was having coffee in the courtyard now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesLeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed in #5 (Desert Rambler)..the biggest room. Very nice, with private enclosed area as well as very nice courtyard in the front. We were four adults and felt private and homey at the same time. The kitchen was very easy to cook in..the grill outside was immaculate. The grounds were perfect for the desert setting. The place was full while we were there but we never heard anyone else and felt like we had it to ourselves. After a full day of hiking in the park it was so great to come back to this place, have drinks, cook dinner, and sleep on nice bedding --- then cook breakfast and begin the next day of the same. I highly recommend this place---however I hate to, because then the next time we need to stay here it may be full - or the rates jacked up too high! Highly recommend to anyone who wants to be near the park --but doesn't want to have to camp--and wants to relax and enjoy family time privately when not in the park.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms...#5 was great for us..4 adults who all get along well...must h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

On our one month tour this was the most colourful & quirky place we stayed. Small Mexican village feel to the place. Facilities great & we made full use of the BBQ. Cabin & beds were clean & comfortable.Mindy was very friendly & gave us good tips about area. Very peaceful location with interesting garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfvogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We loved our cozy, homey and attractive suite. The whole place had unique and tasteful touches - so much more personal than a chain hotel. We loved sitting by the common area fountain and watching the birds, and roamed the grounds taking photos. The linens seemed new, the bed comfortable, and the whole place seemed so well kept up. We met Mindy who was lovely and friendly, and made sure we had everything we needed. The place is not within walking distance to anything but a short drive to the park, and restaurants. We loved the Natural Sisters for juices, egg wraps, and healthy treats. We will be back as soon as possible to stay in this gem!

Room Tip: #3 suite had a small separate room for our two teenage girls with a door for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
10.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
8.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
577 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
304 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

Property: Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Address: 64491 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spin and Margies Desert Hideaway a hi-desert hacienda with four stylishly decorated suites and a contemporary stand alone cabin on five acres. Relax in the enclosed courtyard filled with native desert plantings and a soothing fountain. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. This is the vacation you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spin And Margie`s Desert Hideaway Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing