We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife in the yard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the cactus wren cabin at Spin and Margie's. The cabin has it's own patio area for stargazing and is a nice size for a couple. We saw lots of birds in the garden area and a roadrunner near our patio! This is a self service style inn, there is lots of information to guide you and there is a number to call if you need anything or are low on supplies in the room. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 312 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Let me start by saying the property is charming, the kitchen is fully stocked, and the art is funky and awesome. It just wasn't a great fit for us, esp. for the (not cheap) price. A few things:

1) the beds were a bit small, and creaked something awful, and the walls were fairly thin, so every time someone rolled over, everyone heard it.

2) the (again, gorgeous) property has a lot of nighttime light, and also catches the nighttime lights from the town, so good star-viewing is pretty much impossible. Nice sunsets, though.

3) The coffee was....not good. I'm not sure what was wrong with it, and it may have been user error, but....blech.

4) The heater is in the main room, and warms most of the cabin up nicely at night, but unless you leave the door to the bedroom wide open at night, it stays quite cold. Made for an awkward sleeping situation, with everyone either a little too warm or too cold, especially as the thermostat is inside the set-off bedroom.

That said, after years of coming up to the park, it's the best place I've found to stay, unless I can convince the owner of the house painted to match the mountain as you come up to the west entrance to let me crash.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank stara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

There is no breakfast served here....but who cares? This is one of the three "coolest" places I've ever stayed. If you want breakfast...prepare your own! All but one of the five suites have kitchen facilities of some sort. Coffee and tea are provided, as are many condiments, spices and oils for food preparation on your own. Grocery stores are slim pickings in town, so grocery up in Yucca Valley or 29 Palms. I find our room (#4) to be quiet, comfy, light and well ventilated. The private patio area is indeed private and comfortable. The common areas are delightful with well thought out seating arrangements for groups large and small. I don't think I'll ever get tired of looking at all there is to see here: how they've put colors, textures and materials together to get such visual interest. This has obviously been done with an artist's eye. Oh yes, I will be back!

Room Tip: Pay close attention to the website. It is very accurate as to what is offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MhzGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our second time at Spin and Margie's. The first with our 18 month old! So you can imagine that we really needed a vacation. Staying here was just what we were looking for. Peaceful, calm, artistic, funky, creative and most importantly happy! We stayed in The Desert Rambler. Which had a small full kitchen. Love being able to bring up our own food for b-fast and lunch and go out for dinner. Or in our case order in!! They keep it so clean, and I have got to ask Margie, where do you get those amazing sheets! Super comfy. We are already planning our next trip there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissieLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After years of traveling to the Joshua Tree park area, I have finally found the perfect place to stay -- clean, charmingly decorated room with sitting room and kitchenette with private or semi-private patios and surrounding garden, all within easy driving to the park. The owners are very attentive to all details, keeping the grounds and rooms clean and well appointed. Highly recommended as a quiet getaway.

Room Tip: Units 3,4,5 have private patios; units 4 and 5 do no have adjoining walls with other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed this little inn. It was clean and the grounds were wonderful, there was no one on sight, but we never needed anyone so that was fine for us. There is highway noise and cabin 5 was really bright inside at night from the lights outside shining in. Wonderful place, we highly recommend!

Room Tip: There is no pool, but I cannot uncheck the box. Cabin 5 was lovely, but there is no kitchenette if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Funky, charming, clean, well maintained. We loved the plac.. First time in Joshua Tree for New Years and it was a perfect 2 day retreat to recharge the batteries. Off the main drag and wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Thank you Thank you. See you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtofStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
8.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
650 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
9.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
314 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
280 reviews
10.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway

Address: 64491 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spin and Margies Desert Hideaway a hi-desert hacienda with four stylishly decorated suites and a contemporary stand alone cabin on five acres. Relax in the enclosed courtyard filled with native desert plantings and a soothing fountain. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park. This is the vacation you have always dreamed of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spin And Margie`s Desert Hideaway Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing