We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spin and Margie's Desert Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree(Joshua Tree)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Yucca Val/Joshua Tree Nat Pk Area(Yucca Valley)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites(Yucca Valley)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands View Motel(Yucca Valley)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$92
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneertown Motel(Pioneertown)(Great Value!)
$245
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harmony Motel(Twentynine Palms)(Great Value!)
$107
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joshua Tree Inn(Joshua Tree)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
276
32
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
32
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenprivate patiojoshua tree national parklove this placelounge chairswe loved our staygas grillshort driveyucca valleyoff the highwaypots and pansmagical placean oasisthe perfect place to staywest entrancemain roommaggies
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 317 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

clean and open. full of all that your would need to cook. you can be warm or cool. the parking is close. it is a bit hard to find the sandy road but well worth it. great cable. outdoor spaces to sit. it has only 5 places so it is quiet and full of lovely folks.

Room Tip: our room was like a very large one bedroom apt. in NYC. it has everything you would need.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggycosgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in Room 5 which i believe is the newest one? It was modern and really comfortable, down to the details like nice soap, bathsalts, local photos on the wall, hilarious guestbook, note pad and pens... i like all these little things as they make the difference.
One suggestion, i found it quite hard to find the little road/driveway. It's really small and hard to spot when your driving 65 on the main highway it's pretty tricky to spot. I recon a bigger sign would make a big difference. Apart from that it was flawless!

Room Tip: Room 5 doesn't have a kitchen but it has a fridge and a coffee machine, as well as lots of extra bits and prices like nice wine glasses, mugs , knives n forks... which is pretty much a kitchen really without having a kitchen.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockwoodLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spin and Margie’s is a quaint, comfortable and secluded Inn that is truly “hidden” away and quiet. It was the perfect place to stay and one of the highlights of our week long trip to Joshua Tree National Park at the beginning of January. We are from Alaska and this was our first visit to this amazing area. We chose Spin and Margie’s based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The Inn definitely lived up to the five star ratings and positive reviews left by others. We stayed in Suite #1 and my husband and I and our two teenagers were totally comfortable. The Suite was cutely decorated and had everything we needed. We had plenty of space and appreciated the well stocked kitchen, as it allowed us to cook when we didn’t feel like eating out. The Desert Hideaway grounds were also amazing –obviously a labor of love. We were so busy exploring the park and surrounding areas, we did not have a chance to relax in the courtyard or sit in front of the fire pit and gaze at the stars –next time. What we appreciated the most about Spin and Margie’s, though, were our hosts. They gave us a lot of valuable information and advice about the area, restaurants, reservations, etc. prior to our arrival. They left park maps and other information about the area for us in the room, and they checked in more than once to see how our trip was going and if we needed anything. We look forward to returning to this amazing place and I would highly recommend Spin and Margie’s to other travelers!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay in Suite #1. We were looking at a smaller room initially, and Mindy suggested the larger Suite #1--it was perfect for a family of 4.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bg0udreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Spin and Margie's. Welcoming, comfortable, cosy, beautifully appointed, well stocked, secure, private, great views, lovely grounds, .....can't say enough! and can't wait to come back again. It is well located, easy to get to. We felt completely at home there. There are many individual, personal touches in this well cared for hideaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We can't get enough of Spin & Margie's. Each room has it's own character and all (we've stayed in 4 or the rooms) are cozy and comfortable. The grounds are fun and quirky and one day we really need to make better use of them like playing horse shoes and bbq some food. The private patios are great for reading and relaxing. The environment is very conducive to getting the creative juices flowing.

I sort of wanted to leave a crappy review so I don't have to worry about getting reservations... but so far we've lucked out and gotten rooms when we wanted them.

I love this place!

Room Tip: Its really more of a show up and enjoy your room kind of place. I love that we can be social with others there if we want but we don't have to either. There's no pool and you don't need a fitness center because the park is so near by... go out and hike!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews