We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Joshua Tree

Just finished a great weekend in Joshua Tree. Jarod and Jeremey were great guides both on the... read more

Reviewed May 18, 2021
petermorgan4243
,
Los Angeles, California
First time climber but not the last time

As a first time climber, Jared made me feel comfortable and safe. I never felt dumb for asking... read more

Reviewed May 12, 2021
Kimbers118
Read all 263 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Joshua Tree
from $179.49
More Info
from $177.67
More Info
from $177.67
More Info
from $225.00
More Info
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
263
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
263
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews multi pitch rock climbing climbing experience hit the spot outdoor climbing these guys the great reviews christmas day felt safe half day trip fun experience my girlfriend afraid of heights great guide an amazing experience climbing routes two thumbs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 263 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2016

A group of friends and I spent a weekend camping near Joshua Tree and planned a day and a half of climbing with Cliffhanger Guides. Sabra and Seth were extremely thorough with information and planning. The lunches they provided for our trips were very good and easily accommodated the fact that one person in our party was vegan. Roddy was our guide for both days. He was upbeat, very intelligent, and did a great job of explaining everything as we went to different locations. When we first met up to go climb, we told him that all but one in our group hadn't climbed outdoors, but we were still looking to do some tough climbs and challenge ourselves. Roddy did a great job assessing our abilities on our first day and on the second day we were all pushed a bit to take on some challenging climbs that were a lot of fun and provided a lot of learning. Altogether, Cliffhanger Guides did a great job of providing us with a great climbing trip.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank FernRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

Mike was a wonderful guide, especially for my 9 and 12 year old boys. he was extremely patient and encouraging while slowly building their confidence over a half day of climbing. his cheese extravaganza lunch was pretty good too!

Thank Ndphish
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We came back for our third adventure with Sabra - a full day of learning how to trad climb. Every time we're out with Sabra on the rock we're amazed by her vast knowledge and experience. She's able to make the best out of any adverse weather condition (bitter cold, high winds) while making sure that everything we do is safe. She not only thought us a lot about placing gear but also set up climbs which were fun but also challenging.
We can highly recommend her as a guide for Joshua Tree climbing and definitely will be back as soon as possible for more learning and fun.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016

Rock climbing with our Cliffhanger Guide, Seth, was a highlight of our trip to Joshua Tree. We are a family of four (two adults and two boys ages 11 and 13) and all have some climbing experience, both in the gym and outdoors. Seth quickly figured out a great mix of safe yet challenging routes for us to climb. It was a great feeling for all of us to succeed on the more difficult routes with Seth guiding us all the way. He was a lot of fun to spend a day with and lunch was delicious.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank M5828JLnancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016

I have climbed before, but hadn't been out in over a year. Mike was a great guide and we went up an awesome rock - Saddle Rock, beside the Ryan Mountain Trail. He was experienced and the conditions phenomenal.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank 607gracep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews