We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility at it's best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here and loved it. She is returning in February with a women's group. We had a great time. It was amazing being so far out away from all the distractions of the "real world" i.e. cell phones, tv, traffic, work, etc... Cannot wait to go again. We made some really good friends while there and have stayed in constant contact and planning a "reunion" in the near future

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I came here with a group. The atmosphere supported us completely in where we came for: a retreat in a sacred environment. The cottages are well maintained (although my 6 foot 7 is a challenge for bed and shower :-) and give good shelter in cold (heating) and extreme warm (airco) times of the year ... Outside it appears as if every inch is maintained by the gardeners .... Swimming pool and hot tub ... Wow

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank JoostS_NL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

During my visit to JTNP, I made a stop at the Joshua Tree Retreat Center and am so glad I gave myself a few hours to wander around the extensive grounds. (Note: I did not stay overnight as a guest, but visited as a fan of Frank Lloyd Wright's architecture). This is a very peaceful spot -- there is an outdoor labyrinth you may walk. There is outdoor furniture situated around one of the fountains, giving another opportunity to simply sit and admire the beautiful area surrounding the center. The well-stocked bookstore is staffed with friendly and helpful people and is worth a look around.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I went into the bookstore to treat myself to something "Mentalphysical" and was asked to share my joy of being in such a wonderful place. I came from LA tired and depressed and left feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. The place was clean, the food was wonderful, and everyone was so friendly. So close to LA and so far away from the stress! My friends and I plan on coming back when ever we can! What a beautiful way to see the Milky Way... what a wonderful time in the clean Joshua Tree atmosphere and desert panorama. Next time I'm bringing the entire family.

Room Tip: There's charm all over the place... ask for the cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

wonderful place to go to for spiritual reconnection. View is beautiful. pool area and spa just remodeled and beautiful. The rooms although older are very nicely appointed. comfortable bed and very clean. Management is very well organized.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaunav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
14.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
631 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
13.9 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,208 reviews
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Retreat Center at the Institute of Mentalphysics

Address: 59700 20 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Joshua Tree
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joshua Tree Retreat Center offers personal and group retreats. The Retreat Center buildings were designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and son Lloyd Wright. This 420 acre retreat features a swimming pool, heated pool, Jacuzzi, fire pit, campground. We offer a wide range of accommodations to suit all tastes and budgets: one bedroom apartments, studios, cottages and a 10 bedroom house with fireplace and private pool. Contact us about the availability of our highly rated food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing