We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, yet retro and an awesome place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mojave Sands
Save
You added Mojave Sands to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 3 Joshua Tree B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Modern, yet retro and an awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at this ultra cool and comfy motel on January 5, 2013. I went to Joshua Tree with a large group of friends to attend a sound bath session at Integratron (http://www.integratron.com/6ComeOnIn/ComeOnIn.html) and we booked this motel and inhabited all of the 5 available rooms. What I loved most about this motel, was that I wanted to take a photo of everything on site! It was so exquisitely and ecclectically decorated (they used re-purposed vintage furniture, record players, albums, old typewriters, and glass vases from thrift stores, as well as other nic nacs to decorate each room), it was hard NOT to be enamoured with every single detail of this place! Aside from the fantastic decor in each of the 5 rooms, every room was really user-friendly, too. Our room was the "suite" and had the kitchen with the bar-counter area and living room area, but all rooms have a great bathroom and shower with nice fixtures, comfy beds with soft linens, pillows and blankets, and groovy artwork on the walls. Note: every room is uniquely different but equally great to stay in. Aside from the indoor living space, one of the things we all loved about this motel was the courtyard! The pool has a floating firepit, a rock wall of tranquil water falling into the pool and the entire grounds are lit by lanterns and string lights. There is also a fit pit in the courtyard for the guests to use and hang around. In the morning, we all made coffee and breakfast in the "suite" and ate outside in the communal courtyard, then went hiking at nearby Joshua Tree. I would absolutely stay here again!! Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend booked a night here last year, and while overdue, it occurred to me to that I needed to rave about this place.

It's just off of the main road, but once you get through the main gates you feel wonderfully isolated from the rest of the world. We booked a standard room, which came with a no-fills yet very nice and comfortable queen size bed. There was a coffee maker, small fridge, and a record player with an eclectic mix of stuff to play. The shower was something else altogether- massive, beautiful, amazing. Whoever designed the space clearly appreciated a good shower.

No tv, but why would you come all the way out here to stare at a television anyhow.

At night there were bonfires in the common area. Awesome.

It really was like staying at a friend's incredibly sweet house. No one bothers you, and you can sit back with your loved one hanging out with a beer on your own private porch, listening to records.

Would absolutely recommend this place if any or all of those things sounds like your kind of thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lch253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night of our honeymoon when we visited the Joshua Tree National Park this September and we couldn't have had a lovlier time. We stayed in room number 5 and were instantly impressed. The design and style were just perfect for our tastes and the vintage typewriter, turntable and ecelectic collection of books instantly made us feel at home and we could have stayed a couple of days just hanging out in the room without actually seeing any of the surrounding park.

As others have mentioned, the eucalyptus steam shower is fantastic and just what we needed after a day of exploring under the desert sun. We loved that the the room was dead quiet and we both slept soundly throughout the night. It was clean and the coffee machine and kitchen were all lovely additions to have.

The owner Blake is a fantastic guy. To hear how he has put the place together over the last 10 years with just a handful of friends was truly inspiring. Like other reviewers we were blown away by the architecture and design but to hear that it all comes from his own creative mind and not some multi million dollar architecture firm was something else.

As his dogs followed us around, Blake was kind enough to share with us some of his future plans for expanding the hotel with amazing old salvaged trailers and a cafe.

The Mojave Sands is very much a work in progress that is expanding beyond the current 5 rooms available just now and we can't wait to return next time to see the progress!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsoMysterio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay that has a special FEEL created by soft lighting, artwork, and a record player with a "tube amplifier" along with an array of diverse vinyl the Mojave Sands could be a real find as it was for my wife and me. It doesn't have cookie cutter motel rooms, a lobby, pool and restaurant. If you are looking for that there are scores of them around but if you are looking for a place to compliment you visit to the Joshua Tree park this place will add to a memorable trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

You either 'get it' or you don't (and it appears most people do.) All the stuff you've already read about is great -- the eucalyptus steam shower (life saving), the records, the brilliant design etc., etc. But the genius is the way it all adds up. If you want to be fussed over then stay at a hotel. If you want to step into a real Mojave Desert artist community experience (that happens to have outstanding aesthetic taste) then stay here. Blake is a doll - more of an artist with some rooms to rent than some silly innkeeper. This place has heart and if you get it, you'll have a lot of heart for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights during a weekendat one of the two suites, #1, for $300/night.

Pros: the property itself is gorgeous. Beautiful landscapes and architecture. Owner and his wonderful dogs are friendly. The room is very spacious. The bed is very comfy. The steam shower is a wonderful touch.

The bad:
1. our room is AT the major intersection of 29 palms highway. VERY noisy throughout the day. The first day was not a relaxing experience. We had to turn the music up to cover the noise from the busy traffic. The traffic however dies down after midnight so we slept okay.

2. For $300 a night, no breakfast, no room service (no cleaning during the stay), not even shampoo in the shower. High speed internet is probably located in the furthest biggest room (#5). The signal gets lower when move further away and final so no signal in #1. This is quite a disappointment. There is no owner or staffs on site. Anything you need have to give them a call and wait for them to stop by.

3. The stove didn't work, the coffee machine, boiler, blender are all very dirty. Also, the furniture are old & tired -Sofa is very dirty and stained. At the common area, the "reflection pool" is like a dirty, algae pond.

Personally I think the only room that *might* worth staying is another suite- #5, which is the furthest from the road, 1/3 bigger than #1 with private out door sitting area and shower.

As much as we had a enjoyable stay, I think the room is overpriced for what it offers. For the same amount of money I would urge the owner to improve these important details to stay competitive with guest houses of many over private ranches in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank giggleuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a delux suite room for two nights.

Good:
The room is big.
The bathroom has a steam shower.
The hotel looks cool for a momen until you look into details.

Bad:
No one works in the hotel for 24/7 (no front desk or house keepers). They won't show up and provide services unless you request it.
There is a small kitchen in the room, but the hot plates did not work. Are they just decorations?
Don't use their air mattress for an extra person. It becomes completely flat within a couple of hours. Bring a sleeping bag or request one more room if your party is more than two.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Felisuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
12.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
14.7 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Desert Motel
High Desert Motel
#2 of 3 in Joshua Tree
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Sands

Property: Mojave Sands
Address: 62121 29 Palms Hwy, Joshua Tree, CA 92252-2319
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mojave Sands Motel is a 1940's motel that was taken apart and reconstructed. The doors, windows, bed frames, hardware and some of the furniture, were created either on-site or by local crafts people. Reclaimed wood, steel and other materials were used wherever possible. There are two large suites with kitchens and steam showers and three unique, comfortable single rooms with queen beds. Each room has a private patio and water fountain. Located right in the middle of town and only minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park, Mojave Sands provides a peaceful escape from the hectic pace of modern life, where one can come to recharge and enjoy the unique beauty of Joshua Tree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojave Sands Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing