We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Desert Digs!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurelia F
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful Desert Digs!!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The Adobe is the best, most comfortable and professionally run rental in all of 29 Palms! We continue to enjoy the comforts of The Adobe including the hammock, BBQ pig, multiple lounging areas and cozy indoor spaces. Additionally its proximity to Joshua Tree National Park plus many shops and restaurants make The Adobe a perfect desert getaway!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful with amazing views.
Liked least: Satellite TV receiver obsolete and non-functional; mattress not very comfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua A
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Desert Retreat”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed with Joshua Desert Retreats in 'The Adobe' cabin just outside 29 Palms for the final leg of my American honeymoon.

I have to say it is probably the best place I have stayed in all my travels, it has everything, a fantastic secluded desert location but still close to local shops, gas stations and Joshua Tree National Park all within a ten minute drive, acres of land with cactus and old artefacts decorating the garden, a brilliant hot tub, a cool pool, tasteful indoor decor with all the amenities you need including a lovely bathroom and an abundance of fire pits and bbq's for the night time.

When night falls this place really shines. Your own little patch of desert becomes illuminated by fairy and solar spot lights that highlight the individual features, and when the suns completely gone the sky is filled with bright stars and a magnificent view of the Milky Way.

I would thoroughly recommend this wonderful place to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're offering 25% discounts for return visitors and 40% discount if you book this month for a stay between July 1st - October 31st.

Thank you again for the GREAT review! We would love to welcome you back for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakataram...
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace, privacy and quiet”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived after a hectic schedule. Other than airport hotel overnight, this was our first stay in USA. So at first we found some things different. And the heat was amazing! By day two we were acclimatised and the peace of Adobe was working its magic.
Loved the bed, the hammock, outside shade areas.
In fact if we return to Joshua Tree, we will probably want to return to adobe or another house in the group.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
310AnnieH
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Perfect 3 nights in Joshua Tree”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a perfect 3 nights at the Adobe over the summer. It was our first time at Joshua Tree and we'll never want to stay anywhere else when we visit. Even our dog loved it! The interaction with the owner was simple and easy and everything at the house was exactly as promised. This is a magical little house with amazing sunrise views of the desert - we can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny99i...
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceded expectations”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Had stayed at Godwin Ranch next door years ago and was charmed then by the looks of the Adobe. It's large, well maintained, artsy but not cluttered or kitchy, clean, very comfortable, well appointed, and quite simply - FUN. Make no mistake, this is not The Ritz - it's the high desert. The Adobe is a rustic version of home. Air conditioning worked well and we needed for nothing. Amazing views.Quite neighbors. Amazing starlight. Looking forward to a return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and charm of building.
Liked least: The desert is very harsh and the reed sunshade was showing it. Swamp cooler didn't seem to work, so we used the A/C instead. No complaints, no regrets.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewed November 5, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed October 14, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing