We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing desert getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ladyelysi...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing desert getaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It's hard to believe that it's been two years since we visited Joshua Tree and stayed at Wikiup. We had a long weekend in the fall and greatly enjoyed hanging out under the stars, cooking family meals and going hiking in the National Park nearby. Wikiup was clean, comfortable and well kitted out. A great getaway with family and friends and one that we would gladly make again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The desert setting
Liked least: We could have used another bedroom but it was our choice to stay in a 2 bedroom house.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate vacation hideout”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I selfishly hesitated to write this review just to increase the chances Godwin Ranch would be available whenever I needed to take off and take a break from the old grind. But I gave in because the nice people at Joshua Desert Retreats do such a great job of furnishing their rentals with everything you need for a truly memorable vacation, they really deserve kudos and thanks from these guests. The property is conveniently located about 20 minutes from the 29 Palms Joshua Tree National Park entrance. After you spend the day cruising the Mohave and Colorado deserts, you have a great place to come back to and lie on the swinging platform bed in the back yard to enjoy the brilliant night sky. Spectacular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Laying on the swinging platform bed in the back yard taking in the stars at night.
Liked least: Could maybe use a few more barbecue tools.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maddy4148...
Sunland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Desert Oasis”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I had an amazing experience with friends at this property! It was a nice, relaxing weekend getaway. The house had everything we needed for a great weekend: a fully equipped kitchen to cook and store food, comfy beds and an amazing Jacuzzi and pool. This is a great place to go if you need a peaceful and quiet vacation from city life. I definitely recommend wikiup to anyone who likes the desert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corina812
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend in the desert with friends !!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Comfortable and beautiful property to get away from it all.. I had such an amazing weekend with friends at this out of the way, yet close to everything desert home. Very much enjoyed the terrace, pool and Jacuzzi too :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David U
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Witt's End, far beyond our expectations.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I was looking for a remote, relaxing vacation house in the Joshua Tree area for a low-key bachelor party with a bunch of guys in desperate need of a long weekend away from it all. Joshua Desert Retreats' website was excellent, and all of the properties looked excellent. After chatting with the property manager, I settled on the 'crown jewel' property, Witt's End.

We were not disappointed.

The property is absolutely amazing. Three houses on property: one large main house, one large "party house" (pool table, ping pong, outdoor hot-tub, more bed-rooms, kitchen, living room), and a small house for sleeping and laundry. The houses are all in excellent condition, very well maintained, and clean as a whistle! But, the overall vibe is what really gets you. Cozy, with a nice blend of 60's suburbia, modern amenities, and traditional western themes.

One thing I was worried about was how much of the "necessities" were provided. My memories of vacation house rentals as a kid in the Outer Banks were that we had to buy a lot of toilet paper, paper towels, cooking necessities, etc. etc. My group of guys are as low maintenance and un-picky as they come, so I packed some toilet paper and a roll of paper towels and figured we would sort anything else out after we arrived. No need.

The place was well stocked with the necessary paper products to at least get us started, plus cabinets full of spices, garbage bags, coffee filters. All the little things you don't realize you need until you are in the middle of a meal. Surely much of this has all been left by various guests over time, and I made sure to leave a few things myself when we checked out.

The only thing we got stuck on was a proper wrench for changing the propane tank on the grill. There is a more than ample tool kit (along with light bulbs and other hardware items) in one of the closets, which I was very impressed by, but it seemed that one specific sized item may have gotten lost. We were happy to pick up a wrench, change out one of the many propane tanks that are available, and leave it for the next folks! So, this isn't even a complaint. I am merely pointing out that the place is SO WELL KEPT that other than providing our own food (obviously) and spending a few bucks at the hardware store on a quick trip for ice and beer, there was literally no reason or need for us to leave the property for four days. Amazing.

Also, the photos on the website do not do the scenic desert surroundings justice. The view in any direction is stunning. There are a couple of houses between 300-600 yards in either direction, but the actual fenced in property is HUGE to begin with! You will have no worries about enjoying the maximum amount of privacy and isolation possible! No worries about waking the neighbors by playing music on the outdoor speakers, or laughing at the impressive outdoor fireplace, drinking and smoking cigars late into the night!

I cannot recommend Witt's End more highly. We spent the entire weekend talking about how soon we could plan another trip back, and who else we might like to invite the next time. Like I said, I rented Witt's End for a bachelor party and it served our collective tastes and purposes perfectly, but it is really the perfect mix of everything you would need for either a bachelor party or a retreat for a few families with their kids (they even have a nice dog house behind the main house). The website lists it as sleeping up to 14, but for a group of guys on a "dude weekend" I recommend 5-6 to be supremely comfortable. With kids and couples who would be sharing rooms, you could certainly be more than comfortable with around 10 people on this property.

Thanks to Joshua Desert Retreats for a lifetime of memories! Can't wait for our next trip to Witt's End, and cannot wait to try out some of the other properties in the future as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious, amazing desert vistas! Instant relaxation!
Liked least: There is nothing I can legitimately complain about. As close to perfect as I could have imagined.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AJ F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, spacious retreat - excellent!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Wikup is a really fabulous setting to escape and relax in. It's great that there is a pool AND hot tub, cable TV, lovely outdoor settings besides the enclosed backyard, and so on. I was frustrated to cook a big meal for me and my friends to later find the dishwasher didn't work -- I am sure they will be able to repair that, though. And the only other thing from preventing a five-star rating is a lack of WiFi. But I plan to go again. It's a great place to decompress and have a good time with friends. Really enjoyed it a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very spacious. It was also really secluded but not too solitary.
Liked least: Lack of WiFi, broken dishwasher
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing