We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An anniversary treat”

River's End Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
River's End Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The epicenter of Sonoma Coast dining...the River's End is located in the quaint village of Jenner by the Sea about 20 minutes north of Bodega Bay. The restaurant is set on a bluff overlooking the Russian River spill into the Pacific Ocean. During lunch you can watch the Osprey dive in the river for fish or the harbor seals frolic at riverside. Dinner time is all about the sunset - the show is worth the visit. Fortunately, the restaurant chefs and service staff aim to outdo the natural surroundings. The kitchen prepares California cuisine with a focus on local ingredients. Chef Martin Recoder prepares menus that are changing with the seasons and delight the heart. The service staff is led by Maitre d'/Owner Bert Rangel, who has owned and managed the restaurant for over 10 years. The Chef in the Redwood Bar is talented Patrick Keane. Trained at the French Culinary Institute, Patrick utilizes the freshest ingredients and classic techniques to create truly "Artisanal Cocktails".
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An anniversary treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great place with views to die for and service to match. We stayed in a lodge that was a little run down but still lovely

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    165
    58
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“View can't be beat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to this restaurant. We were sat at the window with the stunning view of the River. Remember to request a table at the window.... if you are seated further inside the restaurants it really is not the same experience. We had lunch and as it was salmon season.... we had to try that out.

After we had ordered our food they brought in some sour dough bread.... I know I'm a stickler with my bread... but this was stale re- heated bread. What a shame not to pay attention to this detail. California produces such great bread ..... you just need to get it fresh everyday. They had just opened for lunch when we were there. Later same day we had dinner at Valley Ford Hotel "down the road" they had two kinds of the most wonderful freshly baked bread... so somebody in the area most deliver bread on a Saturday. Otherwise bake it yourself. It is straightforward.

We started out with the beet salad that was presented tower style. You cannot really mess up a beet salad and they hadn't. It was pretty and tasty except it was clearly pre-made which is absolutely fine but it needs to be brought closer to room temperature to get the sweetness from the beets.

They had two warm main dish salmon versions for lunch. One south western style and one with a mustard sauce. Both were equally super wonderful. Salmon cooked to perfection.

Dessert was creme brûlée with chocolate ganache ..... The menu stated it was for two ... and it WAS. It had a good taste but again like the beet salad ....it was bone cold throughout except for the caramelized sugar top..... when it's that cold you don't get the same vanilla taste and it's consistency is a bit dense ...more like old fashion creme pudding. Just didn't get the sensation of a freshly made dessert.

The service was impeccable and super friendly. The view is stunning. Price point reasonable for the quality of food they serve. I really like they pay attention to sustainability. An absolute must try if you are in that area.

Helpful?
Thank Karen1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 Stars!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere were all perfect! We have dined here before several year ago, and it was good, but this trip we dined twice in one week, because it was that great!

I had the Duck 3 Ways and my wife had the pasta with shrimp and truffles. Great wine selection and home made ice cream.

Compliments to the chef, owner and staff. Great work. We will be back some day.

Helpful?
Thank DoorDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

First time here, and we were staying in Monte Rio. Nice drive and views are terrific. Unfortunately Mother Nature did not cooperate with a sunset, but it is still scenic and we had a window seating for two. We were early and had a drink at the bar. Theo, the bartender was quick to acknowledge us and made a perfect drink. We were able to be seated even before our 7:15 reservation. We also brought our own wine with us, and as their menu states there is a $20 corkage fee. My husband started with the Technicolor beet salad and I had the Orozo salad. Both very good. (Orozo Salad could even be a great vegetarian main dish - it was large) We both opted for the King Salmon menu I with the Southwest and he Salmon and asparagus. Both were very good - but I think the flavors of the corn, forbidden rice and watermelon salad of the Southwest entree won out. If we are every back here again - will make this a definite place to stop!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1redheartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice location. Staff was friendly, but we thought the food was just okay and somewhat over priced. Some tables (the one we sat at) were in a corner and cramped.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's End Restaurant also viewed

Jenner, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Jenner, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to River's End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing