We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”

River's End Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
River's End Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The epicenter of Sonoma Coast dining...the River's End is located in the quaint village of Jenner by the Sea about 20 minutes north of Bodega Bay. The restaurant is set on a bluff overlooking the Russian River spill into the Pacific Ocean. During lunch you can watch the Osprey dive in the river for fish or the harbor seals frolic at riverside. Dinner time is all about the sunset - the show is worth the visit. Fortunately, the restaurant chefs and service staff aim to outdo the natural surroundings. The kitchen prepares California cuisine with a focus on local ingredients. Chef Martin Recoder prepares menus that are changing with the seasons and delight the heart. The service staff is led by Maitre d'/Owner Bert Rangel, who has owned and managed the restaurant for over 10 years. The Chef in the Redwood Bar is talented Patrick Keane. Trained at the French Culinary Institute, Patrick utilizes the freshest ingredients and classic techniques to create truly "Artisanal Cocktails".
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Sunset on the porch with a glass of excellent local Chinno Blanc, the most amazing view. Portuguese clams were exquisite, sea bass was tender, atmosphere was pleasant. Adjacent cabins have the same, priceless view. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mura02456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    170
    59
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A small restaurant with a big view”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went to Jenner this year to celebrate my birthday. I was very happy with eating at the Rivers End. Its a fantastic place to watch the sunset and enjoy some fabulous food. What I love about this restaurant is the menu. One can have the fancy 5 course tasting meal pared with some excellent wine, or you can order off the menu. The food is awesome. We did the tasting meal which was crab and all the courses were very good. I hope to go back and try some of the other great items on the menu. I was eyeing all the tables and everything looked really tasty.
The restaurant is small but the big view of the river running into the Pacific ocean makes it worth the small tables. Well worth coming to check out the sunset and having one of the delicious cocktails at the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthere001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow!! What a view!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stopped by this small, quaint, little place by accident and boy what a wonderful surprise! The service was excellent, food not only looked fabulous but tasted great, and the View!! WOW!! No one should pass this restaurant without stopping.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_and_L_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, and View”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We went for lunch and really enjoyed this place. We shared a duck salad and a shrimp pasta, along with a bottle of local wine. Fantastic view, wonderful food, unhurried service (since it took a while for us to finish the wine). We highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimboMalibu_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great view (best for outside drinks)”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant for late lunch recommended by wine tasting room stuff. The sun room was comfortable & has great scenery. We ordered fish and oyster, and the food was excellent. They have a deck outside of bar with chairs & great view. It'd be a great stop just for afternoon drinks.

The beach below is where a river ends with ocean (the heavy stream changes by minute,great photo ops), and some seals hang out in the ocean. Strolling the beach is a must after meals/drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's End Restaurant also viewed

Jenner, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Jenner, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to River's End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing