We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting place. Worth to visit”

Fort Ross State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Fort Ross State Historic Park Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As of November 3rd, we are open only on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays (closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays) through March 15th. In addition we are open on state holidays: January 1 & 19, February 16, March 31, May 25, July 4th, September 7, November 11, Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas Day. Open December 22nd, 23rd, 24th and from December 26th to January 2nd. Because of Sacramento budget cuts, our days of operations vary with the season. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashia territory. Our visitor center showcases a museum, bookshop, and an 18-minute video introducing the park's history. Some points of interest: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Interesting place. Worth to visit”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fort Ross is actually a fort that Russians built in the beginning of 19 century. It has interesting museum and wood fortress with several buildings. I recommend to read in advance about Fort Ross , then your finding will be even more interesting. Fort Ross has short trails to beautiful cove/beach. It make sense to combine Fort Ross visiting with hiking in Salt Point park that has > 20 miles trail system.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vitaliy94080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello Vitaliy94080,

Thank you for your review. An excellent suggestion that visitors save enough time to visit Salt Point to go hiking and/or tide-pooling. It is a beautiful sister-park to us.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    82
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful walking trails”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have been to Fort Ross many years ago on a field trip with one of my children, unfortunately I cannot tell you how it was on this most recent trip. We pulled up to the park on a Monday only to find the gate closed. The sign on the gate said that the fort was open on weekends only but the park was open Monday thru Sunday from dawn till dusk. We decided to park on the road and walk in. Imagine our surprise to see cars in the parking lot! There were volunteers working on parts of the park and park employees were doing some tree trimming. The fort was indeed closed so we did not get to go inside but did walk around the grounds. I'm assuming this is due to either it being the off season or the State of CA has hacked more of the State Parks program or both.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Aileen,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you came on a day we were closed. We have been operating under "service reductions" since the budget crisis of 2009, and it's been very hard for all of us. But the good news is that finally the gates are unlocked, and we are now open five days a week(Thursday - Monday) through Labor Day 2014. Would you please consider updating your review so we are not penalized for the closures? We are a small nonprofit that supports Fort Ross, and these reviews are important to us. Thanks for all your support!

We hope to see you again this year,

Best,

Sondra K Hunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to visit with significant history”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you have an interest in history, or just want a great ocean view and a walk. The beautifully maintained grounds and buildings preserve a former important era for all to enjoy, and the visitor center also offers a great movie and exhibits. This is an especially good stop if you have children given the wide open spaces and access to the buildings, but would be fun for anybody. Unfortunately, due to California budget cuts, this may not be open if you are coming through during the week, so be sure to confirm ahead of time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello CFMWvisitor,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you felt our grounds were well kept, and our visitor center informative. Thank you.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Informative journey back in time”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

To walk through Fort Ross was a wonderful step back I. Time, we were fortunate that a guide there opened the store and room us back in time, looking at the forts store, how the Russians traded supplies with passing sailors and how they worked with the alaskans

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello travelbug1959,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Fort Ross all the way from Australia!

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating look into Sonoma Coast history.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent three hours wandering the grounds of Fort Ross, which is beautifully maintained. The museum is very well presented, with lots of information about the Russian presence, lumber business, and the Native American history of the coast. I was especially impressed by the detailed sea charts made by the Russian explorers and used by nearly everyone who followed for safe navigation. Easy access, great history lesson!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Winterfield,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am so happy to hear you were impressed by our clean grounds and informative Visitor Center. Thank you.

I hope you are able to come back again some day.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing