We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State Park was Closed”

Fort Ross State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.00*
and up
Fort Ross State Historic Park Walking Tour
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Guided Kayak Tour on Russian River
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As of November 3rd, we are open only on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays (closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays) through March 15th. In addition we are open on state holidays: January 1 & 19, February 16, March 31, May 25, July 4th, September 7, November 11, Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas Day. Open December 22nd, 23rd, 24th and from December 26th to January 2nd. Because of Sacramento budget cuts, our days of operations vary with the season. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashia territory. Our visitor center showcases a museum, bookshop, and an 18-minute video introducing the park's history. Some points of interest: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The park was very nice and the staff was there, but the park was closed, as well as the parking lot. Evidently the park is open only on the weekends.

1  Thank PlumasSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you PlumasSierra for your comments,

I take it that you visited during the week while we are closed?
Currently we are only open Fri-Sun 10AM - 4:30 PM. We hope to be open more in the future. After Sept 3rd, we are only open Saterday & Sunday. You can always check our website for any changes in that schedule.

Thank you for your visit & please come again!

Sondra K Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Fort Ross State Historic Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having not grown up in California I did not know the local history of the early settlers in this area. Fort Ross was a Russian settlement where they hunted otters with local indians for trade. Nice little museum with a path to walk out to the redone settlement. Pretty views, good place to take your picture with a cannon.

Thank hikingbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello hikingbee,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all the help from TripAdvisor reviewers, leaving a bit of info to our future guests.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,
Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Fort Ross is an excellent example of the restoration/recreation of a historic landmark. While the emphasis is on the site's life as a Russian outpost in North America, it also tells the story of its many uses over time. The location is gorgeous, and has picnicking as well as beach access. The museum is first rate. The State has come a long way with this place since the days when I was a kid; back then the coastal highway ran right through the middle of the fort!

Thank Curt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello Curt T,

Thank you for your review! Very informative for our future visitors. Fort Ross Conservancy takes a special pride in the upkeep of the museum and visitor center. I'm glad you could tell it was well cared for.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

not much there but sill fun - bring a picnic, books, games and also go down to beach.

Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello TravelwKids4,

Thank you for your review. I wonder if you came on a day when the Fort compound was closed and were not able to see all the buildings? Either way, we hope to have you back at our park someday to visit the historic orchard, cemetery, Call House and Russian compound.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Visitor's Center is very well done and if you have the patience for it (as clearly some of the reviewers here do not) viewing the film and understanding the historical signifiance of the place will greatly help your appreciation of the exhibit. The original stockade has been rebuilt around 1 or 2 buildings that are original, and a number of buildings that are new but accurate replicas. The setting is stunning and it is interesting to contemplate what life may have been like here 175 years ago. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here and will likely come back. By the way - your entrance fee at any state park will get you into any other state parks on the same day. We felt that the price per car was a bargain.

Thank thedoublee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hello the doublee,

Thank you for your excellent review. Lots of good info in there for future visitors.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing