We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a Gem”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had to leave our vacation rental in Guerneville but wanted to spend more time with our son & niece. I had seen Ft. Ross Lodge on a bicycle ride earlier in the week and when we found it online grabbed 2 rooms for our last night in No. CA. What a great location for us, we are not fancy people, just want clean & quaint, we got that and more. The weather is perfect on the coast, and when the cool fog moved in, the fireplaces in the rooms were awesome. If you need to be stroked & pampered, go elsewhere, if you like a great place with awesome views, stay here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night for our 20th anniversary. It was so peaceful, and the view was wonderful. If your looking for the palace this is not it, If you want nightlife this is not it, this is clean , comfortable, quiet, affordable, and a great place to relax. No phones, no computers, no cell service...perfect...my husband said he hasn't been so relaxed in years. He wants to visit again SOON...YES!

Room Tip: any of them. for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of our lodge. So glad that you enjoyed your special anniversary at our lodge. Shhh, don't tell your husband :) We are trying to improve WiFi to all of our guest rooms. Hope to see you both again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I spent one night at the Fort Ross Lodge with my family. We all really enjoyed it. We had adjoining rooms each with patio and hot tub and fireplace. The views over the ocean are spectacular. All was very private and very quiet. There is also a pool and sauna and a sun room for those cooler days.
Things to know: first, the road from the south is hanging on the cliff over the ocean. While the address in Jenner, the lodge is actually 8 or 10 miles north of there. If you are squeamish about narrow, winding roads on cliffs, this may not be for you. On the other hand, it truly is a beautiful drive. Second, you are a long way from restaurants. Each unit has a Weber grill and the management provides the charcoal. As we came up from San Fransisco, we stopped at a grocery store, purchased a cooler and ice and all the fixings for a great bbq. A couple of bottles of wine and we were all set. There is a convenience store right across route 1 that has the basics as well as sandwiches. And keep in mind you cannot get to the water here. No beach though there are some a few miles away.
There is no cell service but in the past several weeks the got wifi so you are not completely incommunicado with the world. All in all, a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moirnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we booked a night at the lodge. The prices are fantastic for what you get. We had a private patio with a full ocean view, full size hot tub, barbeque and a cute studio room with little dining table and comfy bed. The owner was very sweet and she provided us with fire starters for our barbeque and even extra towels for the hot tub. Do come prepared with food though if you plan on barbequing. We had to drive all the way to Gualala (about 40 minutes north) to find a decent store. But part of it's charm is it's remote location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkurtz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a long and winding road we arrived late to be greeted warmly by the managers, Tom and Sheila. They were so helpful and kind. The property has an incredible view and the rooms are lovely. The spa area is gorgeous, particularly the sun room, which has Wifi. Tom and Sheila were generous with information about the area and shared their secret beach with us. Wonderful beach combing for abalone and beach glass. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so fortunate to have Tom and Sheila as our Resident Managers'. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great spot to stay after a long day of exploring. We chose this spot over some more expensive options down the road in Bodega Bay. It is serene and isolated. I didn't mind at all that there was no WI FI or cell service.

You do need to drive to find anything to eat. But you are driving up and down the California coast line on the famous route 1.

The accomodations are fine. Bed is comfortable, everything is clean, can get all the normal channels on the TV. We only stayed one night. I think one or two would be all you need to explore the area.

It's probably just me but I was under the impression you could get down to the water from the property. Not the case as you are on top of a big cliff. Didn't really matter to me, just thought I might stick a toe in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank closetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hard to beat this spectacular location. Distant ocean view from some cabins, but short walk to cliffs edge and a trail down to the ocean. I had a non view inexpensive ($129) room with Queen bed, kitchen counter with sink, mini fridge, micro, non flat screen TV and DVD (tons of Direct TV stations), small DR table and chairs. Patio with BBQ provided. They just got WIFI but it doesn't work in my room, barely works right in the office. Ext lights go out in middle of night, makes the place pretty dark.

I included some photos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our lodge. We are still working on improving the wifi to reach all individual guest rooms and are hoping to have this situation resolved in the next few weeks. Also, thank you for bringing the lighting issue to our attention, we have all exterior lights on timers, but will have our staff reset them to stay on longer. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
142 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,719 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
533 reviews
22 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
21.9 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range: $165 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing