We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeport, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We spent one night in the "Hill" property on April 26th. This property is managed by a couple, upon check-in the woman was very informative, polite and friendly. Check-out was a different story. The man was extremely rude, so I understand the previous reviewers comments. Fortunately, it didn't ruin our stay. The views are outstanding, you can hear the ocean crashing and the seals from the hilltop property. Our room had a 2 person sauna, jacuzzi tub, and fireplace. Some of the furnishing are a little tired, but the views made up for it. We sat on our deck and watched the Ospreys hunting, overall very peaceful. We would stay here again, but avoid units 1-4 as they have little privacy and limited views. I would choose units 14-17 for the best views and most privacy.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Rude Manager
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infineon2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    86
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
197
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We weren't expecting much when we stopped, we were just tired and looking for a place to stay. WOW! We got so much more than we expected! This place is so beautiful! The views from each room are of grass, rocky beach, and ocean. :) Beautiful! The room we checked into didn't have hot water--something had apparently just broken--even though it was quite late, we were promptly moved into a better room (to compensate for the trouble). I thought they handled the problem really well.

We found our bed comfortable, our fireplace well-supplied with wood, and the view (as I mentioned) stunning. Everything seemed clean and well-cared-for, although I agree with another reviewer that the sliding glass door would be nicer with a screen. We had more trouble with aggressive birds than with raccoons, but any wildlife in the room is too much, really.

Everything closes down early around here, so be sure to plan ahead for dinner.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Dogfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We've enjoyed Ft. Ross for 11 years staying there 2-3 times a year. The ocean views are without parallel, we enjoy observing the wildlife, deer and raccoons, watching the sun set and stargazing from our hot tub, reading on the patio and relaxing without interruptions are just some of the many highlights.

I am surpised and vehemently disagree wtih some of the more negative comments made. We find the managers friendly and helpful, and the entire staff is extremely considerate of privacy. The managers taught me how to bbq and start a fire in the fireplace. In our 33 stays, staff have never walked in announced and are reluctant to enter to clean if we are within 100 yards of the room.
The lodge is going through some renovation - exterior and interior. Our room had new bedding and it is always clean. Returned home from Ft. Ross today and have reservations for the spring.

  • Liked — Location, staff and ocean views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DeeRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We enjoy so much about the Fort Ross Lodge: ocean view, herds of deer tippy-toeing on the lawns at dawn, the "unhotel-like" rooms, the quiet, and the privacy, a Weber kettle for BBQing on the patio including a free chimney and charcoal. Unfortunately, on this, our second stay in the same room (number 11), we noticed a few not-so-nice features that could be attended to if the owners choose to do so:
1. The odor in the room was a real turn-off. Even when we put the "scented" candle outside, we smelled a completely unrelated unpleasant aroma that seemed to come and go and was perhaps heater-related. One evening the reek actually woke me.
2. The mattress really needed replacing. Zero support.
3. No screens on the sliding glass doors. In order to get some fresh air, the doors need to be left open, and with all the critters, especially those cute but aggressive raccoons, a screen is a real necessity.
4. Uncomfortable chairs!
That said, we will probably try the lodge once more, but book a different room.

  • Liked — Quiet, lovely view, deer, unhotel-like
  • Disliked — The room smelled terrible
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LvsNrthCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

If you're near Jenner on the coast, you're not near much, so this hotel may be close to the only choice. Our group had 4 rooms for 1 night and on average they were okay. I loved the woodburning fireplace! Some window door sliders had no working lock which bothered a couple of the solo women, and the hot tub heater was broken when we were there, but on the whole it's an interesting, coastal kind of redwoodsy place. A short walk brings you to breathtaking views of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJAW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We've stayed at the Fort Ross Lodge several times over the years. The views are nice and the rooms are ok considering their age and that they are technically beach houses that are exposed to a lot of weather and elements; definately 70's chic.

The owners are moody, they can be nice and they can be rude or nosy, and they definately don't mind their own business, even to the point of commenting on how we attend to our children.

Up to this point I'd considered going back, but the last time we went the septic tank was over flowing down below the pool, in the open grass field. We had no idea why the ground was so wet, but seeing as how there are seeps in the area we figured it normal. We were flying our kite there and the kids were in and out of the wet grass and ice plant for an hour or so. It wasn't until we headed in that we realized that it was untreated sewage from the septic tank that was making the ground so wet. I told the owners, he tried to convince me it was something else until he inspected it and found that the septic pump was broken and not pumping up to the leach field.

Upon returning home our youngest became very ill and lost a lot of weight for a toddler. He had contracted 3 different parasites (including salmonella) from being in the sewage and it took him 2 weeks to recover. Shortly after the rest of the family became ill with similar symptoms and were all treated for the same 3 parasites. So here we are 6 months later and we all still have the same symptoms and have all been tested again and all still have the parasites.

I've called the management, and told them and got the response I expected: indifference, and no apology.

So, unless you like stomach cramps, diarrhea, and irritable bowels watch where you step and don't take your kids to the Fort Ross Lodge. It's a shame because it could be such a nice place if it weren't for the owners. Watch for "under new management" signs when your in the area, only then will we go back.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bear_and_Frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We stayed here one night during our Highway 1 motorbike trip. Though probably not the "target audience", we were warmly welcomed.
The room was very nice and so was the bathroom. The apples and the small bottle of wine we found in the room upon our arrival were a nice touch.
The room had a veranda outside, which looked very inviting.
I would love to come back here and stay a bit longer to make full use of the facilities.
The only problem with Fort Ross is that, if you arrive after 9 p.m., there are no dining options around at all.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GulfWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing