We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My fiance and I traveled here to celebrate my birthday. What an amazing birthday it was. This place was absloutley the best! Our room was so cozy with the fireplace we felt right at home. We enjoyed some dinner on the bbq and sat in the hot tub on our patio overlooking the meadow and the ocean. All you could hear when you walked outside was the waves. I will never stay anywhere else. Best birthday ever thanks to the Fort Ross Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelshuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaRomeo, General Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you for the wonderful review. Thanks for allowing Fort Ross Lodge the privledge to host you. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 355 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

Whenever my sweetie and I feel the stress in our lives escalating, our remedy is a two night stay at the Fort Ross Lodge. We have been coming here for years and we have never found another place with its earthy, rustic character. It is remote, private, secluded, and a perfect spot to get away from the density, noise and consumption of everyday life and melt away stress. If you are looking for a quick overnight getaway this might not be your place, because it is definitely off-the-beaten-path in terms of location---Highway 1 is windy and tricky to navigate, so it takes a little effort to get there. It's not in the middle of a downtown area or swarming with restaurants. But this is what we love about it! Here you can really slow down, breathe in fresh air, go on beautiful hikes in the lush woods, gaze at the beach views from the rooms on the hill or take a hike to the beach. The rooms are comfortable and clean and come with fireplaces which are lovely to use in this cool climate. It's not swanky, though they are in the process of upgrading the rooms now so the style may change soon--but rather it feels like a home away from home. We are lucky we found this place years ago and we can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bipurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaRomeo, General Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Fort Ross Lodge and for your wonderful Trip Advisor review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is not a 5-star hotel. It's a bit too funky for that, but our experience was 5-star. The grounds are spacious, the rooms, though small, provide some nice extras such as a candle and wine glasses. Rooms, (built almost like adjoing cabins) can be had with kitchen, fireplace or spa if desired. Value was good (for a winter stay). The staff is friendly and trying hard to please. The ocean view from the patios is at a distance but quite peaceful and beautiful as is the short walk to the world's most dramatic coastline.
The world of on-line reservations has not come to this place as of this writing. Don't expect a slick chain hotel with fancy lobby and breakfast. We were revisiting a romantic stay of 25 years ago and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Over the past 4 years I have been going to Fort Ross lodge very frequently. However, this was the first time I had been back since the new innkeepers took over. Laura and her husband were so nice and accommodating...more than I ever expected. When we had an issue they took care of it right away and completely exceeded my expectations. I see they are making upgrades to the rooms which is great. I look forward to seeing what they will do with the lodge as time goes on. I have always considered Fort Ross Lodge my home away from home. You don't go there to be on your cell phone or laptop all day. You leave all that behind and just enjoy the stillness that surrounds you. That is why I love it there. Nothing beats sitting in the hot tub at night looking at the stars then going inside to a warm fire. That is heaven.

My favorite rooms have always been 5,8,16, 23 and 24.
5 and 8 are king rooms with kitchenettes and hot tubs
16 is a queen room with a hot tub
23 and 24 are on the "Hill". Huge king rooms more private than the rest of the lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VitaAmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My brother and I reserved from Montreal, Canada based on info from AAA California Book. The whole experience of CA-1 isn't that great but the effort we made to get to the Lodge wasn't worth it! The road between Jenner and Fort Ross Lodge is the worse 12 mile ride we ever experienced...very dangerous aside from the fact you can't even see the ocean because of the ever present fog... Our cabin (room) was on the second row behind another series of cabins so we had absolutely no view. When we made the reservation, we were told that we would have an ocean view! The concept is more for a romantic getaway than anything else...not very practical, You have a Bar-B-Q outside but no dishes!! Two wine glasses on the counter.! The patio-door had a broken shade and you have 3 windows near the ceiling so you can wake-up at the crack of dawn... Gets very cold at night so we used the heater in the morning. No heater in the bathroom and no hair dryer either (every hotel room in America has hair dryer!!!)
The only restaurant nearby ( one mile) is Alexander's at Timbercove Inn and it is very expensive! Had we know all of this, we would have spent the night in Santa Rosa!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quebecoise37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at the lodge about 10 yrs ago on the Hill, in the Queen room.
This time we stayed in room #14 great ocean view, private patio w/ hot tub, friendly staff, and a weber to cook on, indoor fire place ( they give you wood and charcole everyday ) we got a
excellent rate for August. Sun - Wed. It wont take 10 yrs to come back again. A little rustic
but we like that. The Timber Cove is where we ate one night at ( great food ) we BBQ the rest of the time. So bring your own food to cook.
Thank you again to Steve and Ro Star.
Russ & Marian Marshall : )

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockinRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

To escape the Sacramento heat a friend and I spent three nights at the Ft. Ross Lodge. We visited the area before but this was a first stay at this location. If you are looking for 5-star fancy this isn't the place for you. With that said, we found the room to be clean and comfortable - two beds - fireplace - wet bar - bbq on the patio. The innkeeper was friendly and informative. With the screen door, it was nice to enjoy the fresh coastal air. Slept great! We had one dinner in Gualala but had more fun using the bbq. Overall a pleasant time and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goincoastal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
135 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,650 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
527 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
19.0 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range: $149 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing