We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful...”
Review of The Jenner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jenner Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jenner B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I went up here on a bit of a whim, just needing to get out of the city. I had read the reviews and was a little nervous about this place. They had a lot of availability for the weekend of- also made me nervous. Anyways, we got up there and checked in early. We stayed in the Avalon room which is a nice room, with an AMAZING wrap around porch and a nice soaker tub in a big bathroom. Was it the nicest, most pristine place I've ever stayed? No. But the setting on the water was so spectacular that you didn't really spend much time in the room. And the room was totally fine. A little old, could use some TLC and paint but fine. I didn't do a white glove test (intentionally) but didn't notice anything out of line. The Innkeeper mentioned that the property had just been purchased so I'd guess some renovations are on the way. She mentioned that they will be re-opening the restaurant soon as well. As long as your expectations are in line I think it's a great place to stay. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The Avalon room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoEndFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

This review would have been "Very Good" except for the curmudgeonly behavior of the owner/innkeeper, Richard (more about that later.)
The Inn and Cottages are a collection of probably 1920's-vintage New England-style buildings, ranging from one-room cottages to houses broken up into two or three suites, and ranging along the Russian River and up the hillside behind. The location is fantastic (which is why the Inn commands the prices it does, given the conditions).
We stayed in the Pelican Suite, which sits exactly above the River. The view up-and-downstream is fabulous. Even with the windows closed, you can hear the surf pounding, less that a mile away. To sit on the deck, or in the shared hot tub, with a glass of wine and watch the sunset is (almost) priceless. Even on a rainy or foggy day, the bay window fronting on the river is a great place to sit and watch the activity below. Harbor seals, river otters, brown pelicans, cormorants, mergansers, vultures, various raptors, and miscellaneous smaller birds are always in view.
That said, the accommodations are fading. The bathroom tub/shower and the sink have been renovated recently (but the new grout-work is poorly done). The "kitchen" is really a kitchenette, with a small wet-bar-type refrigerator, a microwave, a toaster over and an apartment-sized cookstove. There is a "Mister Coffee" coffeemaker, with a minimal number of coffee packets (which were not replaced during our stay). There are a minimal number of pots, pans and silverware. The furniture is faded, the paint is peeling, there is rot in many areas exposed to the elements. The Pelican Suite would benefit from about $10,000 of rehabilitation.
Again, that said, the location almost overpowers all of the neglect that has been loaded on this property by the 35-years of Richard-the-Innkeeper.
Which brings us to Richard. Allegedly, he has sold the property, but, even though it has (possibly) been sold, he is still the majordomo. His telephone call to me, prior to our arrival, was so offensive I debated about chucking the entire prepaid deposit, just to avoid dealing with Innkeeper Richard.
Hopefully, if the property changes hands, the new owner, Stephen, will have the resources to bring what used to be the gem of the Sonoma coast back to its former glory.
P.S. The Cafe and Wine Bar are no longer open. The Inn no longer serves breakfast. They do have a mediocre tea service in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Pelican Suite and River House provide the best river views. CAPT Will Jenner Suite has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was meant to be a romantic night out for my husband's birthday, but we had to leave in the middle of the night because the smoke alarm went off and the room smelled of gas. This was the Fanny Jewel room.

Our check-in was in a hurry as we had dinner reservations, the room was cozy looking and we didn't really look around until after dinner when the inn keeper had left for the night… The room was very stuffy and didn't smell great, slightly gassy, so we turned off the heater and aired out the room. We also found ants in the bathroom and other parts of the room, and a large patch of fuzzy white mold on the floor just inside the door. There were ant traps around the room, so they knew about the infestation and rented out the room anyway. Thought we'd watch some TV, pick up the remote control and it was dripping wet! It had been sitting in a puddle of water on top of the television, apparently there's a leek in the roof too.
We slept until 2:30am and then woke up to the smoke alarm going off. Even though we'd turned off the heater, the room was hot and very stuffy - as in hard to breath. We were concerned about carbon monoxide since there was no smoke in the room. We opened the door wide to let in fresh air and packed up our things and got out of there. As I said, the inn keeper had left for the night. We left a note with our key in the drop box.

I had hoped that within a few days we might hear from the management. If I ran an inn and a guest had to leave half way through the night because a room was unsafe, I would contact that person to let then know the problems were being fixed and attempt to set things right with that customer. As that customer, all I can do is warn others to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just returned from Jenner after a delightful two day stay at the Jenner Inn, along the water only 90 minutes from San Francisco. It was my second stay at the Inn and we plan to return soon for another wonderful get away.
Our suite was charming, beautifully furnished, overlooking the river as it flows into the Ocean, and the hospitality and helpfulness of Tammy and Richard (Manager and maintenance man) and InnKeeper Richard Murphy were unmatched in today's regularly fast paced world.
Our picturesque and well equipped suite had a kitchen, DVD player, great bathroom and lovely king size bed and day bed, plus antique tables and comfy thick cushioned arm chairs, looking out of the 270 degree view windows.
The Inn and it's buldings are quaint and charming, beautifully decorated, and are just what you would want in a traditional, ocean front inn.
We spent our time walking the local beaches, seeing the towns of Duncan MIlls, Occidental, and Guernville and hiking in the locat state parks.
Richard has owned the property and managed it for over 30 years-He is a "hospitality" pro, who knows what visitors in seach of beauty, tranquility, relaxation and outdoor activities thrive on.
Cudos for owning and running such a charming place

Room Tip: You have your choice of a multitude of rooms and suites, either right on the water or back from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillValley_caEkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I agree with several previous reviews - so-so room but lovely setting. We enjoy the area with its beaches, fishing and wineries nearby. We enjoyed our morning breakfast and evening snack in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freshimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed one night in the Merlin Room. The room had a outstanding water view but the balcony needed a thorough cleaning. This is a good place to get away from it all because it doesn't have internet access or a television. We enjoyed our stay but we felt it was too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very charming inn by the sea. Buildings are clearly very old (hence the charm) and come along with the typical issues with old buildings: noise/creaks from neighboring rooms, no hot water in the shower when the neighbor flushes their toilet, etc. Decor is outdated (ie flowery wallpaper and drapes, etc) but that's part of the charm too. However, I had anticipated these things and they were certainly not a big inconvenience. The room was spotless and the rate was pretty good for a last minute booking. The inkeeper at evening check in was very friendly and helpful, as was a different inkeeper at checkout the next morning. Be forewarned though, there is ZERO cell phone reception in the Jenner area (made for a great escape from real life).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMSkiVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
126 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,584 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenner Inn

Address: 10400 Coast Route 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jenner
Price Range: $162 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jenner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF FEBRUARY 2016. Where the scenic Russian River meets the crashing Pacific, the landmark Jenner Inn is being reborn. Its new owners are painstakingly restoring the historic inn, room by charming room, transforming the hostelry into a destination worthy of its breathtaking setting. Charlie Coyne, along with wife Katie and his cousins Marty and Tom, are the principals of Dublin Square, the family-owned company that is behind the renovation and rebirth of the Jenner Inn. The Coyne family has demonstrated its ability to breathe new life into historic properties and create superior hospitality experiences. A native Northern Californian, Charlie was practicing law in the 1980’s in San Rafael when his brothers brought him on board to join them in resurrecting the foundering Delta King stern-wheeler that used to ferry passengers across the San Francisco Bay. Under the Coyne family’s leadership, the Delta King is now a thriving hotel and restaurant operation moored on the Sacramento River in Old Sacramento. Tracing its roots to 1904, the Jenner Inn began life as a lumber mill, and played a critical role in the rebuilding of San Francisco after the 1906 earthquake and fire. The mill closed in 1914 when the town consisted of some fifty buildings, seven of which are today part of the Jenner Inn. After the original hotel on the site was destroyed by fire in 1948, the current main structure was built—a one-of-a-kind redwood building with galleon windows, wheel beamed ceilings, and solid oak floors—its design reminiscent of a sailing ship (not surprising since the craftsmen who constructed it were Swedish boat-builders). The building is believed to have been designed by an associate of famed architect Julia Morgan. Today the Jenner Inn is a collection of 21 rooms and free-standing cottages scattered throughout the village, many of them dating to the era of the town’s founding. The Coyne family’s vision for the property is to maintain the inn’s legendary charm while updating its decor, furnishings and amenities. Most important, the inn aims to meld seamlessly with its setting, capitalizing on the surrounding natural scenery, quaint village atmosphere, and proximity to Sonoma Wine Country. Because each room is unique, prices will vary, but the goal is to offer a romantic destination emphasizing the natural beauty and activities of west Sonoma, including kayaking, whale and seal watching, abalone diving, fishing, bicycling and the world class Sonoma wine and food bounty. Several rooms are being designated as pet friendly. Renovation of the inn is occurring in stages, one building at a time, with the hotel continuing to operate throughout the process. Guests may choose from any of eight lodging types, ranging from the cottages with waterfront, meadow or grotto views; to the Jenner House’s comfortable creek side rooms and suites; to private studios. Many have kitchens, most have water views, some have private decks, and all offer comfort, privacy, and charm. In coming months the Jenner Inn’s dining room will include a full bar, and restaurant, beginning with full made-to-order breakfast for guests. The Coyne family’s vision for the Jenner Inn grows from Charlie’s experience as general manager of the Delta King Hotel and Restaurant for twenty-two years, as well as involvement in other hospitality projects in Northern California. An avid abalone diver, Charlie happened upon the Jenner Inn while returning from a diving trip. Dublin Square LLC purchased the Jenner Inn in February 2016, opening the door to another adventurous chapter for the Coyne family. Says Charlie Coyne, “ Our attraction to the Jenner Inn mirrors what motivated our purchase of the Delta King. We will be guardians of an incomparable asset with significance that transcends our ownership. We view the Jenner Inn as a treasure of historic proportion and natural beauty that cannot be duplicated. Our emphasis will be to accent the inherent attractions of the Jenner Inn and west Sonoma County. We were elated at the opportunity to acquire such a unique property located so close to the Bay Area. “ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jenner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenner Inn & Cottages Hotel Jenner
Jenner Inn And Cottages
Jenner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing