We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty great for a last minute booking!”
Review of The Jenner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jenner Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jenner B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very charming inn by the sea. Buildings are clearly very old (hence the charm) and come along with the typical issues with old buildings: noise/creaks from neighboring rooms, no hot water in the shower when the neighbor flushes their toilet, etc. Decor is outdated (ie flowery wallpaper and drapes, etc) but that's part of the charm too. However, I had anticipated these things and they were certainly not a big inconvenience. The room was spotless and the rate was pretty good for a last minute booking. The inkeeper at evening check in was very friendly and helpful, as was a different inkeeper at checkout the next morning. Be forewarned though, there is ZERO cell phone reception in the Jenner area (made for a great escape from real life).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMSkiVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Jenner Inn and Cottages is a lovely little set of antique/ shabby chic styled cabins nestled on the mouth of the russian river, right where it meets the pacific ocean. Very historical area with Armstrong redwoods state park a very short drive away. Also really close to great Sonoma county beaches, vineyards, wine tasting, hiking, anything nature related. We stayed in the Grey whale room. The bed was very comfortable. We got a free bottle of champagne (Korbel of course, the Korbel winery is just next door in Guernville) and a "box of chocolates" (5 chocolates on a plate). The room was clean and right on the river. Gorgeous view of the surrounding hills, river and the sunset over the ocean. No phone or tv so get ready to unplug!

The accomodations are nice, but perhaps a bit too shabby for the price. You are definitely paying for location! The cabins are old mill cabins, over 100 years old, don't expect some brand new hotel. This is a historical area with lots of old buildings. Try to appreciate all the vaulted wood ceilings.

Do use the fireplace! Wood is provided. On our first night the fireplace was pre made, we just had to light it. The fireplace made the room so warm and romantic! (wink wink).

Finally, DO NOT EAT at the hotel restaurant. It is way over priced for the quality of food they serve. GO TO the RIVER'S END!!!!!!!!!! It's 500 feet away and you will have a great meal for the same cost. Make a reservation, they don't take drop ins.

The room has a mini fridge. Buy water at the corner store. Ocean town tap water is not so tasty.

Room Tip: Go to the river's end restaurant not the hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunibee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Fanny Jewell room for 3 nights in September. This was a lovely big room with a view of the river. We found it very comfortable. I was concerned by the fact that the only hanging rail for clothes was in the bathroom and I was worried our clothes would get damp. As this was the start of a three week tour of California we did have a lot of clothes to try to find room for and there wasn't a lot of storage space. The shower needed attention too as it wasn't properly fixed to the wall. Generally a little TLC was needed. But we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaymaker7343Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I wish I had taken time to read reviews before spending way too much money for incredibly disappointing accommodations.

We stayed one night in the Rosebud room- a shabby, dated, poorly insulated and rodent infested cabin. The view was lovely, and we got a $25 discount because the hot tub was broken, but apparently so was the space heater, AND the hot water heater. To warm up, I attempted a hot shower (this room does not have a bathtub), but the water turned cold within three minutes. Oh, did I forget to mention that the silverware in the kitchenette was coated with filthy caked food remnants?

We are 2 weeks away from our due date, trying to have a lovely romantic evening away before the baby comes. We've been saving up for for a while to make this weekend happen and we're sorry we didn't make a better choice.

The Jenner Inn was a total bust.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TandBHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Rosebud Cottage - a charming place overlooking the river. It had everything we wanted- privacy and peace. No tv, radio or phone reception to get in the way of enjoying the scenery and wildlife of the area. A coffee maker, microwave and fridge enabled us to make breakfast and a snack to eat as we sat on the deck watching the sun go down. The hot tub was not working but we could use the one in Rosewater Cottage as it was vacant.
The hotel is in need of some tlc - it is up for sale and the restaurant was shut - but it is still worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesSue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came to Jenner to do some kayaking ..and found this great place : Jenner Inn... We went with 2 friends ( 4 of us in all ) The rates were great ..we had a fireplace...(they even gave us the wood !) The bedrooms were separate : one was in the loft ...
Very cool....clean, neat ...( also with a kitchen!)

We were right across the street from the Russian River !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceWriterAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

not exactly cheap, plus a little dated on the inside, its like stepping back into the early 80's!! plus, the room was quite dusty.
but on the plus side, the woman on reception when we stayed was super nice.......and she had a great rack!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yeahokay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,596 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenner Inn

Address: 10400 Coast Route 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jenner
Price Range: $164 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jenner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF FEBRUARY 2016. Where the scenic Russian River meets the crashing Pacific, the landmark Jenner Inn is being reborn. Its new owners are painstakingly restoring the historic inn, room by charming room, transforming the hostelry into a destination worthy of its breathtaking setting. Charlie Coyne, along with wife Katie and his cousins Marty and Tom, are the principals of Dublin Square, the family-owned company that is behind the renovation and rebirth of the Jenner Inn. The Coyne family has demonstrated its ability to breathe new life into historic properties and create superior hospitality experiences. A native Northern Californian, Charlie was practicing law in the 1980’s in San Rafael when his brothers brought him on board to join them in resurrecting the foundering Delta King stern-wheeler that used to ferry passengers across the San Francisco Bay. Under the Coyne family’s leadership, the Delta King is now a thriving hotel and restaurant operation moored on the Sacramento River in Old Sacramento. Tracing its roots to 1904, the Jenner Inn began life as a lumber mill, and played a critical role in the rebuilding of San Francisco after the 1906 earthquake and fire. The mill closed in 1914 when the town consisted of some fifty buildings, seven of which are today part of the Jenner Inn. After the original hotel on the site was destroyed by fire in 1948, the current main structure was built—a one-of-a-kind redwood building with galleon windows, wheel beamed ceilings, and solid oak floors—its design reminiscent of a sailing ship (not surprising since the craftsmen who constructed it were Swedish boat-builders). The building is believed to have been designed by an associate of famed architect Julia Morgan. Today the Jenner Inn is a collection of 21 rooms and free-standing cottages scattered throughout the village, many of them dating to the era of the town’s founding. The Coyne family’s vision for the property is to maintain the inn’s legendary charm while updating its decor, furnishings and amenities. Most important, the inn aims to meld seamlessly with its setting, capitalizing on the surrounding natural scenery, quaint village atmosphere, and proximity to Sonoma Wine Country. Because each room is unique, prices will vary, but the goal is to offer a romantic destination emphasizing the natural beauty and activities of west Sonoma, including kayaking, whale and seal watching, abalone diving, fishing, bicycling and the world class Sonoma wine and food bounty. Several rooms are being designated as pet friendly. Renovation of the inn is occurring in stages, one building at a time, with the hotel continuing to operate throughout the process. Guests may choose from any of eight lodging types, ranging from the cottages with waterfront, meadow or grotto views; to the Jenner House’s comfortable creek side rooms and suites; to private studios. Many have kitchens, most have water views, some have private decks, and all offer comfort, privacy, and charm. In coming months the Jenner Inn’s dining room will include a full bar, and restaurant, beginning with full made-to-order breakfast for guests. The Coyne family’s vision for the Jenner Inn grows from Charlie’s experience as general manager of the Delta King Hotel and Restaurant for twenty-two years, as well as involvement in other hospitality projects in Northern California. An avid abalone diver, Charlie happened upon the Jenner Inn while returning from a diving trip. Dublin Square LLC purchased the Jenner Inn in February 2016, opening the door to another adventurous chapter for the Coyne family. Says Charlie Coyne, “ Our attraction to the Jenner Inn mirrors what motivated our purchase of the Delta King. We will be guardians of an incomparable asset with significance that transcends our ownership. We view the Jenner Inn as a treasure of historic proportion and natural beauty that cannot be duplicated. Our emphasis will be to accent the inherent attractions of the Jenner Inn and west Sonoma County. We were elated at the opportunity to acquire such a unique property located so close to the Bay Area. “ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jenner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenner Inn And Cottages
Jenner Inn & Cottages Hotel Jenner
Jenner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing