We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After reading the reviews, there's no way I would stay here.”
Review of The Jenner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jenner Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jenner B&B and Inns
Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“After reading the reviews, there's no way I would stay here.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just wanted to mention something, and hoping the owner may see it. My husband and I are looking for a place by the ocean to stay at. This looked like a very cute little b&b, but after reading the reviews, I felt like I was in a horror story. Perhaps giving your establishment a little TLC would bring better views, and want people to actually stay here. FYI

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsForrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    72
    45
    36
    67
See reviews for
48
167
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After a really long drive yesterday over long and winding up-and-down roads, we fell upon the Jenner Inn - we were exhausted and this seemed like good place to stop. They had a room that accommodated the three of us - a room with queen bed and a 'twin' which was actually a day bed = trundle/ pull out. The room also had a table with 3 chairs, a loveseat, microwave, and fridge. I thought it was cute... quaint and shabby, and comfortable. My Mum, who is a bit on the picky side and examines everything, thought it was a bit rough around the edges and needed some maintenance and a lick of paint.

Breakfast was included and was a nice experience overall. Diana came out and told us she was preparing our food, that fresh muffins had just come out of the oven and that she was scrambling some eggs for us. It was good food and she came out again later to check on us and wish us well for the rest of our trip. Everyone we encountered here was friendly and polite, contrary to some of the other reviews I have seen here.

The location is perfect... close to the seals at Goat Rock, where we even saw a large pod of Hump Back Whales this morning at high tide (this was a really treat so early in the migration season).

I'd say the only slight downside for me was the lack of food options in Jenner - we had the choice of indian cuisine or fine dining. The Innkeeper made a reservation for us at the River's End Restaurant for 45 minutes after we arrived and it was a really smashing meal (but pricey at $42 for a filet)...we thought it was worth it though.

We had my dog with us and they are dog friendly (although $35 extra is more than the normal pet fee)...they even have an area at the back of their property where you can let your dog off leash... we gave mine a good run out there this morning before we set-off, which was really an added bonus!

I can definitely see myself returning for a night or two in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After getting over the initial shock of all of the stairs that had to be climbed to get to the Mill House, my friends and I settled in for an enjoyable 5 day stay. When making arrangements on the phone, management told us that the Mill House was "funky." That it was. The structure itself is over 100 years old decorated with very old furniture and window coverings. The two full bathrooms were spacious and modernized. No standing in line:-) The equipped full kitchen was convenient for coffee in the morning and the storage of snacks and light meals. The dining room/living room had a table that was great for playing cards in the evening. The fireplace was an extra blessing and used almost every night as the evenings were cool, wood and kindling supplied by the management. Breakfast was a work of art. The new cook made the presentation almost too good to eat. The food was fresh, healthy and tasteful with at least 4 different fruits accompanying each plate. Closet space upstairs was very limited. One friend ended up hanging her clothes over the window. It wasn't until 4 days after we arrived, that we discovered we had a view of the Russian River from that window:-( The manager was very helpful when it came to giving directions on where to visit and how to get there. She also suggested some great eating places which we tried and loved. (Timber Cove, River's End, The Boat House) Jenner Inn was a great hub for day trips to numerous other areas that we visited during the day. Other than the fact that the decor was very old, the experience was wonderful with lots of elbow room, our own beds, pretty views out of each window, and complete privacy and quiet. Basically, we had our own little home for a few days. Although motel rooms may be more modern, they will pale in comparison to the privacy, space and peace and quiet of the Mill House at the Jenner Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

So many reviewers had trashed the breakfast that I was concerned about what I would find. It turns out they hired a new breakfast chef a couple of weeks ago and she is great. We had a quiche and a muffin that were so recently out of the oven that I almost burned my finger unwrapping the muffin. Both were off-the-charts good. The fruit on the plate was fresh. The only problem was that the tea water in the container on the sideboard wasn't quite hot enough. When the chef came out to ask how we liked the breakfast, we told her about the temperature of the hot water and she thanked us for the feedback. It is clear that she really wants to do things right.

We stayed in the Gray Whale Room in th Mystic Annex. The room was large and comfortable. We really enjoyed the large porch and the two chairs provided. These are not plastic stack-ems. The would be welcome on most backyard patios in America. We alos enjoyed the Franklin stove for which they provided enough wood for a good 3-4 hour fire. The bed was comfortable and the sofa and chairs were not bad. The shower was incredible! You rarely see that kind of water pressure. Truth be told, the overall appearance of the room was a bit tired and they should consider some upgrades.

If you wants a really fine b&b experience, you need to drive another 40 or so miles up the coast and stay at the Whale Watch Inn. For the Jenner area, however, I think the Jenner Inn is plenty good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

North of San Francisco, the Russian River meets the Pacific at Jenner. On the north shore of the river is the Jenner Inn a collection of cottages overlooking the river. Each has a private balcony and stunning views of the Pacific shore and the mouth of the Russian River.

One of the quietest, most comfortable and best view we have ever seen!! We have returned more that a dozen times.

Room Tip: We like Lancelot and Avalon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank none202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoatRock, Manager at The Jenner Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much! We'll see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! This place has really deteriorated and is terrible. If there was a rating lower than 1, I would have picked it. It's one thing that there aren't tvs or phones, but combine that with little to no cell phone reception in the area, one can only hope there aren't any emergencies. The entire property has not been maintained and is overgrown, the paint peeling off the buildings and I don't think the furniture has been replaced for decades.

The first red flag was the 50% deposit up front and full payment upon check-in. If I could have gotten my money back the second I walked into the room I would have turned and run. The decor is your Grandmother's flea market. They try to pass it off as Asian Zen, but it was a mish-mash of tacky crap. The cob webs in the corners and around the skylight really added to the creepy ambiance. The loveseat was so lumpy, forget sitting on it let alone even thinking of taking off the slip cover and folding it out to sleep on. The in-room refrigerator was circa 1950 complete with rust along the bottom - just where I want to put my food! The crowning touch was the termite sand/droppings on and IN the bed. The staff's response (I sure hope it wasn't the owner) was "it's termite droppings, it won't hurt you, they only eat wood". Need I say more? YES!

Other staff members seemed at a loss on how to be helpful - just shrugged their shoulders and acted embarrassed to even be working there. Since there was nothing to do at night, we inquired about any board games in the lobby. They had about 3 games, none with complete pieces - so that was a bust. They claimed the guests kept stealing the game pieces. Thank God for the C-store next door where we bought a deck of cards.

For $170/night this was a total rip off. Buyer Beware!

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like, but based on condition of the property I doubt they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 885TravelFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoatRock, Manager at The Jenner Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate the opportunity to improve our guests' experience based on customer comments. Jenner-by-the-Sea is a rural hamlet on the coast and is surrounded by natural beauty. We try and preserve the unspoiled feel of our natural surroundings. True, there is little to n cell reception out here on the coast which we advise guests of on our website, in the reservation confirmation and at check-in. There is an emergency phone located outside our building just in case. TV and internet are also limited where we are and for the vast majority of our visitors, this is a boon - getting away from it all is. after all, why most people travel out here. It's standard industry practice for small Inns such as ours to charge a one night deposit on reservation and the balance at check-in. Actually, most small Inns will charge the entire amount due on reservation. Most of the furnishings on your room are antique and each room is unique, with their own "personalities". The Tree House has some beautiful Asian-inspired furnishings as well as a Chinese leaded window, hence the description "Asian Zen". While this might not be to your taste, a lot of visitors enjoy this room. The refrigerator as be repaired, as we are constantly updating our accommodations. We do apologize about the termites - unfortunately, we have no way of controlling when they are active. We did offer to upgrade you to another room at no additional charge so that we could take care of this issue but you declined the offer, and we would never treat the building for termites while we had guests staying in it. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in Jenner - we feel you would have enjoyed your stay more if you had taken us up on our offer to stay in a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jenner hotels

Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Jenner in was one of our first stops in a week long trip to Cali. It was amazing. The cottages were homey feeling and full of beautiful antique furniture with a great view of the Russian River. The beds were very, very comfortable and warm. It was a very quiet and serene setting, Within minutes of the ocean. There was no television access and no cell phone service there at all, however it made the stay that much more relaxing being able to get away from the world for a night. The owner, Richard, was very friendly and helpful, even made our dinner reservations for us at the restaurant down the street (which was an amazing experience also). We had an amazing time and I would recommend the Inn to anyone who needed some quality rest and relaxation!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
91 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,281 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
9.7 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenner Inn

Property: The Jenner Inn
Address: 10400 Coast Route 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jenner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF FEBRUARY 2016. Where the scenic Russian River meets the crashing Pacific, the landmark Jenner Inn is being reborn. Its new owners are painstakingly restoring the historic inn, room by charming room, transforming the hostelry into a destination worthy of its breathtaking setting. Charlie Coyne, along with wife Katie and his cousins Marty and Tom, are the principals of Dublin Square, the family-owned company that is behind the renovation and rebirth of the Jenner Inn. The Coyne family has demonstrated its ability to breathe new life into historic properties and create superior hospitality experiences. A native Northern Californian, Charlie was practicing law in the 1980’s in San Rafael when his brothers brought him on board to join them in resurrecting the foundering Delta King stern-wheeler that used to ferry passengers across the San Francisco Bay. Under the Coyne family’s leadership, the Delta King is now a thriving hotel and restaurant operation moored on the Sacramento River in Old Sacramento. Tracing its roots to 1904, the Jenner Inn began life as a lumber mill, and played a critical role in the rebuilding of San Francisco after the 1906 earthquake and fire. The mill closed in 1914 when the town consisted of some fifty buildings, seven of which are today part of the Jenner Inn. After the original hotel on the site was destroyed by fire in 1948, the current main structure was built—a one-of-a-kind redwood building with galleon windows, wheel beamed ceilings, and solid oak floors—its design reminiscent of a sailing ship (not surprising since the craftsmen who constructed it were Swedish boat-builders). The building is believed to have been designed by an associate of famed architect Julia Morgan. Today the Jenner Inn is a collection of 21 rooms and free-standing cottages scattered throughout the village, many of them dating to the era of the town’s founding. The Coyne family’s vision for the property is to maintain the inn’s legendary charm while updating its decor, furnishings and amenities. Most important, the inn aims to meld seamlessly with its setting, capitalizing on the surrounding natural scenery, quaint village atmosphere, and proximity to Sonoma Wine Country. Because each room is unique, prices will vary, but the goal is to offer a romantic destination emphasizing the natural beauty and activities of west Sonoma, including kayaking, whale and seal watching, abalone diving, fishing, bicycling and the world class Sonoma wine and food bounty. Several rooms are being designated as pet friendly. Renovation of the inn is occurring in stages, one building at a time, with the hotel continuing to operate throughout the process. Guests may choose from any of eight lodging types, ranging from the cottages with waterfront, meadow or grotto views; to the Jenner House’s comfortable creek side rooms and suites; to private studios. Many have kitchens, most have water views, some have private decks, and all offer comfort, privacy, and charm. In coming months the Jenner Inn’s dining room will include a full bar, and restaurant, beginning with full made-to-order breakfast for guests. The Coyne family’s vision for the Jenner Inn grows from Charlie’s experience as general manager of the Delta King Hotel and Restaurant for twenty-two years, as well as involvement in other hospitality projects in Northern California. An avid abalone diver, Charlie happened upon the Jenner Inn while returning from a diving trip. Dublin Square LLC purchased the Jenner Inn in February 2016, opening the door to another adventurous chapter for the Coyne family. Says Charlie Coyne, “ Our attraction to the Jenner Inn mirrors what motivated our purchase of the Delta King. We will be guardians of an incomparable asset with significance that transcends our ownership. We view the Jenner Inn as a treasure of historic proportion and natural beauty that cannot be duplicated. Our emphasis will be to accent the inherent attractions of the Jenner Inn and west Sonoma County. We were elated at the opportunity to acquire such a unique property located so close to the Bay Area. “ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Jenner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenner Inn & Cottages Hotel Jenner
Jenner Inn And Cottages
Jenner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing