We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time experience - WONDERFUL”
Review of Skydive San Diego

Skydive San Diego
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Jamul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Skydive San Diego has been servicing the skydiving community for over 25 years. In 2016, Skydive San Diego is currently owned and operated by a former Navy SEAL and former member of the famed US Navy Parachute Team, the Leapfrogs. The vision is to transform the drop zone into one of the premier skydiving destinations in the world. A tandem skydive from 13,000 feet above a view of the ocean, Mexico and mountains is like none offered anywhere. It is an incredible experience and should be on everyone’s to-do list. Our tandem instructors are some of the best in the world and will make your experience awesome every time. Come out with your friends, family and they can participate with you or watch you go through all the steps and cheer you on as you land right in front of them. We are one of the few drop zones in the San Diego area that offer this type of experience. Experienced skydivers can also receive coaching, a full-service rigging loft, and load organizing. Skydive San Diego caters to adrenaline junkies who prefer to skydive solo, offering First Jump Courses (FJC) through the USPA Certified Accelerated Free Fall (AFF) program for those who wish to begin their skydiving journey. For fun jumpers there are even more options to advance with a dedicated flight school, which offers formation skydiving, freefly, canopy, and wingsuit coaching by some of the most talented skydiving instructors. Instructors at Skydive San Diego are some of the most experienced in the world and have several thousands of jumps each. Many are world record holders, and all are friendly, approachable, down-to-earth, and dedicated to helping their students. A one-stop destination for skydivers, skydiving enthusiasts and visitors, Skydive San Diego offers experiences that last a lifetime. Skydive San Diego operates the drop zone to the highest safety standards. We have some of the best skydiving aircraft, equipment and riggers in the industry. Skydive San Diego is also where many of Americas most elite military train receive their solo jump certifications.
Redlands, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“First time experience - WONDERFUL”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

They do a fantastic job of preparing you for your jump (tandem) and keeping the mind busy so your nerves don't get the best of you. A+ outfit the way everything was run from the moment we got there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dumbstruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my first skydive, so was unsure what to expect, only wanted to make sure I survived to tell the tale!
I got a great price on Groupon for my tandem skydive, so if you are looking for a discount, keep your eyes peeled.
Directions from San Diego are a bit sketchy using Google maps, the website has better directions and when you call to make a booking you are also advised not to follow Google maps.
All staff were very friendly, I was the first dive of the day on a cool November morning. After the fog had cleared, I was up in the air within minutes! The great thing about this dive is you aren't really given time to back out - the plane starts rising and as soon as you reach altitude you are directed to the door - no waiting around, out you go! The view was amazing, and while I don't have any idea about the San Diego area, the instructor points out many land marks and buildings. I got the package with the $59 go pro camera (no still photos) - this deal was okay but perhaps for my first and probably only experience, should have gone the next package up.
At the end you are given a certificate and a memory you will have forever!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cutieb00tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
“Best Birthday Party Idea Ever”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

They did a great job with our group of (primarily) first-timers. The drive out was not remembered because we were nervous about jumping, but on the way back I noticed the nice desert landscape of the drive. The view once we hit 13,000 feet was unbelievable! Could see from North County all the way into Tijuana including a great chance to walk skull practice at the Olympic Training Center from overhead. Fantastic experience I hope to repeat each June!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What fun - experience and the workers”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great fun....Upon arriving had to fill out some paper work. Then get signed in. Then wait for a short time for the training. Then suit up, met our tandem jumper, and our photographer. Everyone was helpful and full of energy! Made the experience so much more fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You dont have to go tandem!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Did my AFF level 1 jump here in december. Craziest thing ever. Spent the day in the classroom learning about skydiving and practicing drills, Excellent instruction, from a pretty cool chick. Then the time came to get in the plane, and jump out. 13000ft, with my own chute. The two guys that jumped with me were awesome, made me feel at ease and made sure nothing went wrong. 54 seconds of free fall, followed by a 7 minute ride around the sky. Wicked drop zone with great views. watch it here
http://www.youtube.com/watchv=Y1jw_XBhQmM&context=C3bec777ADOEgsToPDskKrwdjjO5YmpinCNkSUo8yq

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank steeleinwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive San Diego also viewed

 

Been to Skydive San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing