We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when they say non-cancellable-they MEAN it!”
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn Sonora
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“when they say non-cancellable-they MEAN it!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

It might be unrealistic to book a non-cancellable reservation and then think they might realize that having surgery instead of a holiday is NOT an event that can be planned. I hoped for an opportunity to change dates, but Rick-the front desk manager- said NO. Not only did he say no, he was so cold and unhelpful. I accept that it was my mistake, but if he is this inhuman on the phone, I wouldn't expect much in person. The booking was thru Expedia and they were unable to get him to cooperate either. So. don't book unless you know you won't get melanoma.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    64
    81
    27
    39
See reviews for
70
88
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After reading the reviews, we didn't know what to expect. Overall, it was a good experience, and it fit our budget. I had forgotten a wine cork opener and the front desk helped me out. They were pleasant and helpful. Reviews said they were short on washcloths so I brought some of my own. Other than that, it was an okay stay. If you're looking for the Ritz, go somewhere else. If you are tight on money and not too particular, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annhcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit difficult to find : it is in fact in the middle between Jamestown and Sonora (on the left side of the road if you go north). Be careful because the cars are driven too fast ...
The hotel has three levels : I succeeded to get a room on the first one for easily carrying the suitcases.
The room we got in was very large and well equipped : king size bed, fridge, microwave, coffee pot and Internet which was working properly, for a normal price.
The room for the breakfast was not well equipped : unless you return to your room you have to eat with your plate on your lap (what we did) as there is no table. A girl prepares small pankaces which are good.
In the evening you must return to Jamestown to find several "western" restaurants which are not luxury but sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was quite noisy and extremely filthy, in particular the surfaces, microwave and the bed frame. We have travelled for quite a long time, staying in many different motels, but this was by far the dirtiest. We tried to clean the worst parts ourselves (check the pictures and see, how the towel looked afterwards!), but at one point gave up.
As we were talking to the owners, asking for a different room, compensation or other solution (like a proper cleaning job the next day) they did not take us serious at all (“According to our standard, the room is clean!” / “Our housekeeping did a pretty good job!” / "I don't know, where you got that black towel from!"). Instead of offering any kind of solution, the owners felt offended by our complaint and became very rude. In the end they threatened us with the police and kicked us out of the motel – even as it was already midnight and we had a one year-old baby with us! Can you believe this? Those guys should not work in any kind of service industry, as they give a [--] on their guests…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MatthiasL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was by far the WORST hotel we ever stayed at. Management is rude, rooms are dirty, and there is an awful smell not only in the lobby but also in room. Asked for a different room and was told no. Asked for them to smell room and told it was fine, we made the smell. REALLY? I can honestly stay this place is nasty and you are better off sleeping in a car - it was that bad.

Room Tip: do not stay here, there are not any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights which was a bit of a mistake. It was good for going to Yosemite and surounding areas and Jamestown railway was excellent.
The hotel business card states very clean rooms, but our room (on second floor) was not as described. The bed and bathroom were very clean, but everywhere else was very dusty and the carpet was filthy.
Breakfast was a joke, cherios, pancakes and not much else. There was no room to eat it and we were asked to eat in our bedroom or outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 910Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
289 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were told that check in wasn't until 4. When we returned to check in the cleaning staff were still cleaning the rooms past 4 o'clock. The cleaning staff were helpful but seemed overstretched - perhaps they could employ more staff. We had to ask for towels as there were none in our room. The pool was freezing cold so didn't go in it.

The breakfast arrangements were not good. It was laid out haphazardly on a table in the lobby - not very professionally arranged unlike all the other motels we stayed in. There was nowhere to eat it so you had to take it back to eat in your room. There were limited items available and only warm apple juice.

The bed was on a solid base which stuck out. We knocked our legs on it numerous times so ended up with bruises. However it was a nice room. The motel is three miles from Sonora on rte 108. You would need to drive into town to eat as there is nowhere nearby.

We thought the motel overpriced at $129. There was no frig (although space for one in the unit) and no microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
1.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#5 of 8 in Sonora
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Property: Country Inn Sonora
Address: 18730 State Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9129
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Sonora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing