We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK for 1 night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn Sonora
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“OK for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights which was a bit of a mistake. It was good for going to Yosemite and surounding areas and Jamestown railway was excellent.
The hotel business card states very clean rooms, but our room (on second floor) was not as described. The bed and bathroom were very clean, but everywhere else was very dusty and the carpet was filthy.
Breakfast was a joke, cherios, pancakes and not much else. There was no room to eat it and we were asked to eat in our bedroom or outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 910Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    75
    25
    33
See reviews for
64
81
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
268 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were told that check in wasn't until 4. When we returned to check in the cleaning staff were still cleaning the rooms past 4 o'clock. The cleaning staff were helpful but seemed overstretched - perhaps they could employ more staff. We had to ask for towels as there were none in our room. The pool was freezing cold so didn't go in it.

The breakfast arrangements were not good. It was laid out haphazardly on a table in the lobby - not very professionally arranged unlike all the other motels we stayed in. There was nowhere to eat it so you had to take it back to eat in your room. There were limited items available and only warm apple juice.

The bed was on a solid base which stuck out. We knocked our legs on it numerous times so ended up with bruises. However it was a nice room. The motel is three miles from Sonora on rte 108. You would need to drive into town to eat as there is nowhere nearby.

We thought the motel overpriced at $129. There was no frig (although space for one in the unit) and no microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Couldn't figure out where this motel was actually located. It was on a highway. Had a pool. Breakfast was a joke! The carpets were in need a a cleaning. Would choose another place if I returned to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbyouzwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a cosy hotel in sleepy village actually in between two villages
for a motel this is a very good hotel It`s clean what is very importent
The rooms are clean and spacious with refridgerator
Everyday bedmaking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Danmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Country Inn Sonora is in the middle of nowhere, right between Jamestown and Sonora. It’s an okay place to stay if it’s only for one night. If you want something to eat you have to drive to one of the two cities about 10 minutes in car. The motel has a pool, which is nice on a warm summer day. They had continental breakfast from 6.30 am to 9.30 am, but when we arrived in the reception at 8.45 am, they were almost out of everything and there were no refill.

Room Tip: Come early to breakfast, no refills !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailando81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here while driving from San Francisco to Yosemite. It was a very nice stay with good comfort. There room was clean and big. The only thing we can complain about is the breakfast. It is not very good and there was not really a place to eat it, so we had to go outside or to our room. However we would again stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daphil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife in recently. We were driving back from Lone Pine through Yosemite and back to the Bay Area, and having driven for almost seven hours we were tired and decided to stop in Sonora for the night. We picked this hotel because it looked slightly better from the outside than some of the others in town we looked at.

The price for the room was really good. We paid $105.00 for the suite, which was an absolute bargain. The room itself was nothing special, we got a Queen size bed, sofa, TV, fridge, and a shower and toilet. Either the light in the shower was busted, or it did not have one at all, but you had to shower in the dark. The room was clean and serviceable but nothing fancy. My only real complaint was that a "responsible" dog owner had let their pooch take a crap in the bushes near the rooms front door so the entry way had a strong whiff of dog poo. I had to ask to get the hotel to clean it up. If you are travelling with a pet, it might be worth noting that this place does allow you to keep pets in certain rooms. That could be a plus point for you.

Another thing to note, the hotel is right on a main highway so you can get a small amount of traffic from the road. It was well over 30 degrees when I stayed there so the air conditioner unit covered the traffic noise until I turned it off in the night.

Finally, as usual the hotel offers a small basic breakfast, but unless you are trying to save money on eating out you are better off just eating out at one of the many local restaurants in Sonora or Jamestown.

Basically, It was OK for what I needed it for, i.e. a place to stop over for the night, but If I was taking a holiday in the area I would stay in a nicer hotel in Town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Property: Country Inn Sonora
Address: 18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9605
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Sonora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing