We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms... bad breakfast”
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn Sonora
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“nice rooms... bad breakfast”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

we liked the country inn case of the rooms: big, good sleeping comfort, clean.
there is also a nice pool and a lots of parking places near the rooms.
due to some complaints here, we did not have too high expectations but we where surprised in a positive way.
on the other hand: the breakfast was awful.. some packed danish pastries, lousy coffee... eggs and toast... everything not really tasty and there was also no place to eat...
anyway.. the motel is fine and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austrokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 17, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    69
    83
    28
    39
See reviews for
75
92
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. There are not a tremendous number of options in the area, so, under the circumstances, it was fine and served its purpose. We needed a place to sleep and shower while visiting family, and that's exactly how we used this motel. This is a budget motel, so have your expectations set properly, and you're likely to find this place to be just fine.

This is an older motel that has been somewhat updated. We stayed in the back and didn't have any noise from the highway. We requested a non-smoking room and were told we had one, but there were no markings anywhere on the door or room indicating it was a non-smoking room, and the room reeked of stale cigarette smoke when we arrived. In fact, our first foray into town was to the local Walmart for air freshener. Once we sprayed the room & let the A/C run a while, the smell went away, and we didn't experience that strong smoke smell again.

The furnishings were updated, though the wooden frame around the bed is a shin buster in the middle of the night. The platform bed looks nice, but ouch - I've been home over a week and the bruise and gash on my shin was so deep that it still hasn't fully healed! The TV is fine - a small, flat screen model with good reception. The A/C worked well - we kept it on high all night as that made it run steadily and drowned out any noise. This was a pretty quiet place, but I usually prefer a hotel with indoor hallways, and I'm not used to sleeping with cars coming and going right outside my window, so I liked having that white noise in the background. The bed linens were inexpensive and scratchy, but the bed itself was comfortable enough. The bathroom was old but clean. We had plenty of hot water for showers and the water pressure was fine.

All in all, this is a budget motel, and in that category of lodging, it was fine.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel is away from the highway and is quiet. It's on a hill, so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MfromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is just simply for a night stay. You will have to expect no amenities that is offered except for a bed, towel and shower. It's almost close to a on-the-way hotel stay where you need to crash. Although they have remodeled their rooms, there are things kept at a minimal and not replaced with the full convenience. Their front desk has different people working there all the time, it's not the same as day 1 at night, day 2 in the morning and day 2 in the evening. the room I have stayed at, the bathroom door did not shut properly, which means does not lock. The front door does not shut by itself, you will have to pull it to close it out entirely, and the worse is that when housekeeping comes to clean your room during the day while you are out on sightseeing, you will come back seeing your door unlocked and opened. Do not leave any valuables in your hotel room although it's a small town or they claim that they have surveillance camera on site.

Room Tip: avoid main level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annymous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamestown hotels

Elk Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Enjoyed nice buffet, with pancakes, french toast, scrabbled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bagels. Yes! Also genuinely kind managers. Thank you

Room Tip: First and third floors have easy entry (no stairs) due to hillside location and choice of front or r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greglucas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The rooms are beautiful. The front desk is very helpful & cooperative: I got lost and they stayed on the line. I was on my drive back from rafting and had a message waiting hoping I didn't get lost on my way back! I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chachelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Judging from the photos online of this hotel it looks to be a fairly nice place. The rooms had been somewhat upgraded, but I don't think they are as clean as they should be. Carpets seemed to need a good shampooing. Our room was directly in front of the pool, which at times did get a little loud. The beds do not fit the platforms they are on so we were constantly smacking our legs on the corners of the platform. I came home with a couple of bruises from it. I did not try the breakfast. Location was good! I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We booked two rooms here, for two nights. The rooms looked nicely updated, but were dirty. There were crumbs under the table, and the towels were all stained, and in some places even looked dirty. The breakfast was, well....plan on supplementing it if you plan on doing any hiking at Yosemite or anything. Expect two choices of dry cereal, and a Danish. Oh, and coffee. You may also need to sit on the floor to eat, as our family did. There is seating for six. That's all. The one saving grace of this hotel is the pool. Aside from having to skim it ourselves (lots of buggies), it is beautiful, and a decent size. The female management is extremely rude, so try doing business with non-family staff. You will be much happier. Pray for no "issues" or problems. You will not win. These people are out for all they can get. Oh yeah, watch out for the wood around the beds--expect some bruising.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this review, November 14, 2015
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
1.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Property: Country Inn Sonora
Address: 18730 State Highway 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9129
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Sonora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing