We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for History lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redding, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Place for History lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Quaint and well preserved. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are set up like museums and very comfortable. There is a private soaking tub in a room by itself. It is a huge two person cast iron tub. The soaking room is loaded with special bath salts, bubbles, music, towels and robes.
Stay for dinner in the beautiful dinning room. A gourmet breakfast is included in the price of your stay.

Room Tip: The hotel has central air so you have to ask the staff to cool it down on an especially hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmonsgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your needs were met. We hope you'll come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
112
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband does NOT like B&B's and though this is billed as one, I decided to take a chance! We weren't disappointed. From the moment we stepped in the door and the barkeep moved away from his customer and moved to the small desk to register us, I knew we were in for a treat. After handing us the two keys--one for our room and one for the front door, in case we came in after hours (who DOES that?), he led us up the stairs to give us a tour of the 9 room establishment and show us to our room. (No elevator and steep stairs, so leave some of the luggage in the car.) Our room was clean and quaint, and the saving grace was that there was a private bath! The rooms were beautifully appointed with all the needed amenities including a plush robe to wear in the "Soaking Room." No TV's, a pleasant change, and lots of journals written by past guests of Room 11. We booked dinner on the outside patio and were very pleased with our meal and the wonderful service. The owner Steve stopped by to chat and was happy to answer our questions. The next morning, a gourmet continental breakfast was served in the dining room, a perfect ending to a lovely stay. Attentive staff, lovely atmosphere and a relaxing get away for a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are closest to Main Street and the balcony to which all guests have access. Could get n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickicampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, Vicki! We take great pride in our business and our service to customers. We're always glad to hear from customers who recognize this. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was looking for a quiet getaway for some R & R and this turned out to be the perfect spot for me! This old Victorian hotel is clean and well maintained. Its charm is enhanced by its antique furnishings and its location on the old main street of sleepy Jamestown, CA. The attentive and personable staff were eager to fulfill all requests. That there were only nine rooms added to the charm by making it seem more exclusive. A relaxing and carefree stay. Thank you National!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Don, we are so pleased that you were happy with your stay here. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope that you will return soon. Thank you for appreciating our efforts at maintaining a truly historic inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel rooms do not have tvs or radios. What a nice change! We talked and read the journals going all the way back to the 1980's. Such great stories about the guests that have stayed in Room No. 5 including stories about the resident ghost Flo. The staff was the best, the food outstanding and the rooms are very clean. It is a step back in time with the rustic hotel and bar. My husband went gold panning with Miner John and had an authentic experience plus came home with a little bit of gold. Our room was a little warm for us so I asked for a fan which they promptly brought in. I told our server it was my husband's birthday and the staff brought out a homemade brownie with ice cream and whipped cream and sang him happy birthday. The owner, Steven, was attentive and stopped by our table or popped in the bar to make sure we were well taken care of and happy with our room. Brian, the bartendar, was entertaining and quick to keep our wine glasses full. Loved it! We would gladly return for another peaceful stay at the National.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own bathroom but Room No. 5 which is the room we stayed in. The bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Settles1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! One of our goals is to make our guests feel welcomed and attended to. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you will return to us again soon. It was a pleasure having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast if you are looking to get a real good feel for the history of the area. It is not over restored or updated, enough for comfort and convenience while keeping the charm and atmosphere. We had a room in front which was great for looking out over the town, but a bit noisy in the evening, it was quiet late at night however. Nice restaurant and bar. It has few rooms so the staff knows everyone. Great for mature kids or romantic getaway. Not great for those with limited mobility, narrow steep stairs up to rooms.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy, look over town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goofyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We may not be able to control the occasional street noise but we make up for it in our attention to our customers' needs and wants. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed here twice. Both times the staff has been great, the food in their restaurant is very good. Michael the bar tender is one of the best. You can always count on him for a funny story and a good drink. I have traveled all over the world and this place is one of my favorites. Always a quite and relaxing weekend. Again, food, staff, accommodation beyond expectations. Also, the historical aspect of the place such as the furniture and the building itself its like stepping back in time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Randy, we're so happy to know that you are a satisfied customer! We appreciate your kind words about our business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is beautiful. Full of antiques. It felt like I was back in the "old west" days. The perfect place to stay on a trip along the Golden Chain Highway (49). Stayed 2 nights. Good location to travel out during the day to other towns nearby then come back for a nice dinner and a drink in the saloon. A warning to anyone who turns in early--try not to get a room over the bar. It can be noisy but not too late ( pretty quiet by 11pm). Very comfortable room with a nice attached bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Debra, we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We were glad to have you as a guest. We do try to keep the noise down from the bar as best as we can by 10:30 on weekends but, on occasion, a few people are still with us as we're about to close. Our policy is not to turn down a customer's request as long as we have wait staff available.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Property: 1859 Historic National Hotel
Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing