We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - nice town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamestown Railtown Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here recently on our way from San Francisco to Yosemite. We had stumbled upon a little gem of a place. Up the road is comumbia, a wild west town, which is worth a visit. Railtown which is next to jamestown, has a lot of steam engines and is also worth a visit. The railtown hotel is cheap, basic but clean and has a small pool. I would recommend a stop here on the way to Yosemite.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ouiser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night and wish we could have stayed longer. Nice comfortable room, Nice pool. Great service. I left my sandals out by the pool at night, and they were right outside the gate in the morning waiting for me.We enjoyed it and will stay there again! We ate at Pete's (within walking distance). Very good Greek and American food.

Room Tip: we were downstairs just behind the pool in room 27. We had a little side yard and chairs outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkayblancojohnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was not even made when we opened door. Beds were dirty like someone just spread cover over dirty sheets. Never again. Manager was helpfulby sending us to another nicer hotel with a discount. Close to restaurants of choice. Nice in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewright60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed last summer on our way from Yosemite. The couple running it are so gracious, very accommodating, very friendly. The pool is very clean and nice. We opted to do the jaccuzzi IN THE ROOM!!!! The town is so nice to walk around in, the food is very good. We just loved the small town feel, and this inn is in a perfect location. It really set the mood for our travels. We needed handicap accessible, and the managing couple switched things around for us so we could stay on the main floor. The rooms are VERY, VERY spacious. Fridge, microwave, coffee. We enjoyed it so much and they were so easy to work with, we stayed an extra couple of days to recoup during our journey. Thank you for a very memorable experience. We would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stopped at the motel to sleep before Yosemite. The most basic motel but still gives you what you need for night on the way. Cheap and clean. No breakfast But there is a good and fast wifi.
Those looking for a basic place to put your head, it would be the place. Those looking for something luxurious look for another place

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elik972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

$55 for a room with 2 Queen beds Nice furnishings and plenty of room. There was a Jacuzi in the room which the front desk clerk did not mention, and it was an extra charge to use. The motel exterior was very well presented, overall this was a nice place to stay. The town is historic and full of interesting shops and amenities. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giltim_coro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a good value for the cost motel, room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Also has a pool which pleased my wife. The old town is also great, expected the sheriff to ride down on his horse. No breakfast but good coffee shop at other end of high street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonyRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
136 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
416 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamestown Railtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamestown Railtown Motel

Address: 10301 Willow St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9761
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range: $70 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamestown Railtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Historic Downtown Jamestown, in the Sierra Foothills. Gateway to Yosemite National Park, High Sierra, Big Trees, and Scenic Caves. Near Columbia State Historic Park, Railtown 1897, and Dodge Ridge Ski Area. Adjacent to historic Gold Rush towns of Sonora, Jamestown, Chinese Camp, and Columbia. Take your pick of fun activities such as boating, fishing, water skiing, swimming, white water rafting, or horseback riding during the summer months, or skiing, snowboarding, ice-skating, or sledding during the winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Jamestown Railtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamestown Railtown Hotel Jamestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing