We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and well appointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamestown Railtown Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Reviewed October 10, 2012

$55 for a room with 2 Queen beds Nice furnishings and plenty of room. There was a Jacuzi in the room which the front desk clerk did not mention, and it was an extra charge to use. The motel exterior was very well presented, overall this was a nice place to stay. The town is historic and full of interesting shops and amenities. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giltim_coro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a good value for the cost motel, room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Also has a pool which pleased my wife. The old town is also great, expected the sheriff to ride down on his horse. No breakfast but good coffee shop at other end of high street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonyRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just needed a room--called and seconds later had a king room at a great rate and super easy drive to and access to hotel. Loved hopping into the pool to cool off and sitting at a pic nic table in a little grassy oasis. Nice to have frig and microwave. Checkout was as easy as check in. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackohlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good stopover accommodation en route to Yosemite National Park. Our king room was quite spacious, the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of ice to top up our cooler, and we had a good wifi connection. The swivel chair was somewhat rickety and the in-room Jacuzzi, which looked like a relic from the ‘70s, didn’t work, though given the temperature that day, hot water was the last thing we wanted. It was the pool that looked tempting, but we were afraid that if we took a dip when we arrived in the early evening, it would be too late to get into a restaurant (this isn’t a community where things stay open till all hours).

The front desk recommended the Willow Steakhouse for dinner, just a few steps from the motel. Service was friendly and professional, and our meal was excellent – not inexpensive, but definitely worth the price. We ate breakfast the next morning at the Woods Creek Café, not far from the hotel, a bustling local hangout where large platefuls and cheery smiles seem to be the order of the day.

Not the trendiest accommodation, perhaps, but for the price, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved the charm of the old west feel. We had a room with a jacuzzi (I loved it). The owner was wonderful about the jacuzzi because the first room she couldn't get it to work so she switched us and made sure the 2nd one worked first. I give her 10 stars in how wonderful and helpful she was. We didn't have a problem with the Wifi. She directed us to a wonderful state park to check out the next day for 4th of July (Columbia Historic Park) and we are so glad she did. We had a lot of fun there watching the celebrations of the 4th. We walked through the charming little town and just loved it. Our room was nice & clean and the bed was comfy. If we ever make it back to CA we would stay here again. Be sure to check out The Willow for dinner, some of the best steak I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Used as a stopover between Yosemite and the California coast. The location is good - close to Main St and about a 10 minute wall from the namesake Railtown 1897. It's also not far from a great breakfast spot, Woods Creek Cafe (across the highway). This motel is pretty run down. I was amused to see a sticker on the mirror advising that the room's contents are inventoried before and after your stay so they can call the police if they find something missing! Not exactly welcoming. I was also less than impressed by the cleaning job in the bathroom, which had hair and a couple dead insects on the floor. The beds were comfortable enough and wi-fi worked fine. The air conditioner shut off some time during the night and would not restart; it wasn't too hot though so it didn't cause a problem. There was a small pool - did not try it. Although we were told staff would be on duty when it was time for us to check out in the morning, there was nobody there. Not a big problem since they had a key drop box.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doubutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My wife and I and our two kids stayed at this motel over the Thanksgiving weekend. The staff was very friendly, room was clean, beds were comfortable and everything worked! There was plenty of room for the four of us. This place is in a great location too, right off main street so restaurants are well within walking distance. Even though it is just off main street it is still very quiet. I really have no complaints at all.

A couple years back we stayed down the road about a 1/2 mile at the Country Inn. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN!!! I will however stay here again. Just can't beet the price for what you get! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoldCountryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
2.8 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
2.9 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamestown Railtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamestown Railtown Motel

Address: 10301 Willow St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9761
Location: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range: $68 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamestown Railtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Historic Downtown Jamestown, in the Sierra Foothills. Gateway to Yosemite National Park, High Sierra, Big Trees, and Scenic Caves. Near Columbia State Historic Park, Railtown 1897, and Dodge Ridge Ski Area. Adjacent to historic Gold Rush towns of Sonora, Jamestown, Chinese Camp, and Columbia. Take your pick of fun activities such as boating, fishing, water skiing, swimming, white water rafting, or horseback riding during the summer months, or skiing, snowboarding, ice-skating, or sledding during the winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Jamestown Railtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamestown Railtown Hotel Jamestown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing