We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jucumba is hot, hotel is not”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jacumba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jacumba
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Made reservation for Memorial Day weekend night. Staff persons were friendly, however, upon opening the door to our hotel room, we were surrounded by swarms of flies. Told hotel staff who said it's desert climate, you have bugs. Went to local store to buy fly strips, hung them in room, they appeared to work but when we returned 2 hours later, a new swarm had arrived. Then we discovered that our bathroom towels and washclothes had already been used by someone and were not replaced with fresh ones. There was not tile but really old carpeting in the room which reeked of cigarette smoke and needed to be replaced. We finally had enough after 3 hours and told the German woman (the owner?) that we were checking out for the above reasons. She just said, "Cash or credit?" She seemed resigned about the state of the place and I felt sorry for her. Didn't have high expectations about the place after reading reviews but did expect clean towels and no swarming insects in room. My advice: get the day pass, enjoy the springs, then go home.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAKen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2007

The hotel seems to have been remodeled a bit from the last time we stayed. the rooms were fine although the tiled floor was very cold in december. We tried to get a meal in the restuarant at 930 and the although the waitress was helpful the manager who we observed in the bar rudely shook his head and said they were closed. We were very disappointed in the "hot" springs. The water in the jacuzzi is barely body temperature and the water in the pool is cold. When I called to book a room I specifically asked about the springs as this was the primary reason for my visit. This is not the experience we had the last time we were here. We won't be back

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank mmmvelour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

This place has been the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Bathroom light switch did not work. "You can just unscrew the bulb" (With damp hands for extra excitement!). Room door closed but lock did not catch. Room connected to the office through a thin interior door with lots of light leaks and no soundproofing. Loud conversations outside room well into the wee hours.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sfbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2006

The Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel is currently in a transitionary mode, but still a worthy stop. Some of the rooms have been vastly upgraded as part of an ongoing renovation plan, but the three we stayed in were still hilariously old-school--circa 1972 or so, but clean and tidy. It was a little nippy for the outdoor heated pool, and the decor in the indoor pool needs an update, but the spa water was wonderful, and we heard several tales of its healing properties from the friendly, diverse regulars. The mineral waters there do make a bit of a slime, but after all, you are basically stewing in a healing, slow motion cave! The sulphur content keeps anything truly funky from occuring, so if you smell a little stink, remember it means it's good for you! We didn't experience the extremes others have reported here. As of April, 2006, this place is quaintly retro, a good deal, and loaded with atmosphere and characters. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, and served with love, and that was a definately above average aspect of this visit. We met the boisterous owner of the spa, and he was great. The road from Jamul to Jacumba is one of the best drives in California, and the Jacumba Spa is a great place to cap your day, soak your bones, and enjoy a terrific meal.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PirateQueen203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bethesda, Maryland
114
Reviewed August 22, 2005

I have been going to the Hot Springs for years. We go for the day as a family to spend time in the Sping fed pool and jacuzzi. The water is fabulously rich with minerals and is very clean. At least I could say this until the last time I went. Apparently there is new management in Jacumba. Gone are the days of fun loving Felix. We were treated rather coldly unpon checkin for the day. One used to be able to smell the sulphur from the parking lot when we got out of the car all I could smell was ammonia. But that did not seem to mean that things were clean. After we got into the jacuzzi we found not the lovely mineral bubbles we once did but disgusting gelatinous deposits embeding themselves into our bathing suits ( we later figured out that the filtration pump was out of order yet there were no warnings posted so we were sitting in who knows how old water). The main pool was once completely mineral water. As soon as we got in we could tell that the water had been cut with some sort of chemical. A torso sized part of the pool wall was peeling off but I didn't find that out until I had cut my arm on it while swimming by. There was construction going on, but not on the pool area. There were horrendous gnats and bugs everwhere, you were forced into the substandard water to be free of them. The filtration system on the pool was failing as well because there were pine needles constantly filling the pool. It seems they lost sight of the reason why people would come from all over the world to stay in Jacumba...the water. The hotel has always been small and old but the water and the service kept people coming in from all over the world. These aspects are no longer there. If you have fond memories of Jacumba keep them and don't return to sour yourself of them.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
15
Reviewed April 7, 2005

The mineral water is wonderful, but this place is really run-down and dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacumba Hot Springs Hotel

Address: 44500 Old Highway 80, Jacumba, CA 91934
Location: United States > California > Jacumba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jacumba
Price Range: $99 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacumba Hot Springs & Resort "The Jacumba Spa" consists of a completely renovated Restaurant, Full Service Bar, Two Swimming Pools, Spa and 24 Hotel Rooms. In addition to all the new features, the main focus is on the world famous mineral water. Pumped from our artesian well, the 100 degree mineral water fills our two pools and spa. As we are utilizing a continuous flow system so no chlorination is necessary. Located on the US/Mexico border in the high desert East of San Diego, the Jacumba Spa is the perfect get away destination. Many people have referred to the hot springs as "...Magical, mystical healing water". The waters at The Jacumba Spa will leave you relaxed, refreshed and rejuvenated from the stress-filled world we live in today. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing