We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope you're not expecting typical Best Western accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Amador Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hope you're not expecting typical Best Western accomodations”
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I stay at Best Westerns all over the US for business.

I've been stuck on business in this backwards town since January and its now July. Only 4 more weeks and I'm out of here.

Amador Inn.

Housekeeping will show up just after 9 am and ASK if you want service, then they take the trash, towels and linens and leave.

Anywhere from 2 - 5 hours later, they return and replace the linens and towels. God forbid you have more than one person in the room and want to take a shower or nap mid-day. You might very well not have sheets to nap in-between or towels to dry off with. 70% of the time, they don't replace the soap, shampoo or ice bucket bags.

The internet service is wireless and free...when it works. I 've seen where it will be up for a week with no problems, and then no connection for 24-48 hours. Often it will be up for an hour then down for 3. Hope you don't depend on the net for communications for work, banking, bill paying.

There are several people here from my company, and no one has the same rate! Try to explain that to the boss. When you ask the mgmt about it, they're clueless.

Staff has no problem telling you about how they "just got out" or are overcoming dependency problems or how an ex used to physically abuse them.

The town of Jackson itself, as scenic and pretty as it is, is full of clueless people who seem to have no idea of the rest of the world. Police won't quiet down a large group of partiers staying at the hotel because "they spend alot of money". It seems that even though Jackson thrives on tourism, they could care less if you come back, because there are alway more on the way.

This town has 4 bars, 3 downtown and one at Denny's. Downtown, you feel like you're taking a risk just being there when the sun goes down. At Dennys, you might sit in the bar for up to 1/2 hour before being waited on, then you have to hear how understaffed they are, let alone how understocked the bar is.

If it weren't for work, I'd choose vacationing in the Gaza Strip over Jackson and this hotel. There is a Holiday Inn Express, but they don't care if your there for 1 night or 5 months...rates are the same. Both hotels charge roughly $30 more for Friday and Saturdays, even if you're there long term.

Do yourself a favor, if you have a choice, go somewhere else. Amador Inn and Jackson don't respect or value their visitors.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    122
    61
    45
    40
See reviews for
114
119
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2006

Really awful service. Television was not working. Extra roll away bed stuck in my room. Light bulbs out.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

BC, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2005

We really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had a fridge, microwave, and a safe. The bathroom was big enough, and the sink area was great for freshening up. We didn't use the pool. Parking was plentiful.

When there were guests next to us being very loud and disruptive, we asked the assistant manager about quieting them down and she did immediately.

The only drawback, which had nothing to do with the hotel, was that the Denny's on the property had consistently REALLY poor service, and we chose to eat elsewhere. But the hotel itself was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scatteredmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Just stayed there this past weekend (6/4/05). Room was comfortable and clean. We paid a "Best Rate" of $75 for a N/S rm with two queens. While this is obviously an older hotel there were no major issues I saw though the mattress I was on did creak a bit. The only thing I can think of to avoid is rooms on the first floor of the main wing as they have sliding glass doors and parking is right there (literally people are parking 5 feet from your door). TV was fine but has no sleep feature (remote was lame though - only on/off, channel up/down, volume up/down/mute). There is a Denny's right there so that is conveinent. Other rooms looked out over a small stream but across the stream is the road but our room looked over the parking lot so not sure which would be worse. Rooms are fairly quiet though could hear people in other rooms using the hairdryer in the morning (though not loudly).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2005

Checked in on 01/15/05....must have changed a lot since the last review. Check in time 3pm we arrived about 1pm, they pulled up our reservations w/o any trouble. The clerk advised us the room was not ready yet but gave us a key card so we could get a discount at the Denny's across he parking lot. The room was clean and neat. Small refrigerator, micowave and a safe. Bathroom neat and clean and actually had water presure in the shower at 9:00 am the next morning. The Denny's across the way...also not bad in fact better then not bad. Had a Philly Cheese Steak melt that was very good for lunch.....has a full bar which was much appreciated after a day of gaming in a no drinking zone. Contact with everyone both at the motel and at Denny's was plesant. All in all a good experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2003

The Amador Inn "lost" our reservations! During check-in, two desk clerks got into an argument and one of them quit on the spot! After waiting around for an hour, they finally found one last room to offer us. Upon opening the door, however, we found someone else already occupying the room! Oooops!

Half of our party got a room here, the other half had to spend an entire afternoon looking for another location to stay. Such a waste of precious time!

The room we saw was clean and comfortable. The pool was tiny and the grounds definitely not worth bragging about. There were lots of partiers here, making for lots of noise and drunken behavior. The management did not handle this situation at all...

The Denny's next door was convenient, but the food was horrible! Don't go there unless you're desperate!

Helpful?
6 Thank 2004_Wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
552 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
69 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amador Inn

Property: Best Western Amador Inn
Address: 200 S State Highway 49, Jackson, CA 95642-2548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Amador Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amador Hotel Jackson
Best Western Jackson
Jackson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing