We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little place”
Review of Fat Freddy's - CLOSED

Fat Freddy's
Restaurant details
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky little place”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The guy who runs it looks like he's about as old as Methusalah, with the sense of humor of George Burns. Just had milkshakes, which were made the old-fashioned way, and it brought a bit of childhood back to me. The decor is hysterical, especially the buffalo with the tiara on it. TONS of penguins.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crazytracy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I Love Fat Freddy's”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Once a month a group of us guys from Sacramento go to Fat Freddy's to enjoy a Casper dog and an old fashion milkshake. The place is a hoot and so is Freddy. There is one counter and a few tables...the dogs are steamed as well as the buns..anything you desire on them. It brings back the memory of the first foot long Casoer hot dog I ate in Oakland as a kid in the 1940's. If you go to Jackson, you have to go to Fat Freddy's for a dog!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big surprise!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and i stopped in here for a late lunch on April 8 after walking and shopping main street. I ordered the polish dog special which comes with fries and a drink, and my wife ordered a regular hot dog with an order of chili-fries, along with a traditional old style "made in the metal shaker" milk shake. Great flavor and not so thick that you had to work to get it through the straw. The place doesnt just serve hot dogs although thats their specialty,,,but there is quite an extensive little menu for a place of this size. The meals were really great, and the quantity was amazing! After polishing off our plates, we didnt need any dinner that evening--just a snack in the room. Fat Freddy's is located just up the street from the National Hotel and the owner/operator is on-site. He has been there 18 years so for a place to stay alive in old town jackson, you know he has put out a good product, and he definitely does. In a word, this guy's hot dogs arent made,,,,,,they are BUILT! Definitely a "go back to" the next time we are in jackson.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank casperntn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doggy Dog!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great hotdog shop! We love Fat Freddy's for an original taste of Jackson. There is nothing like coming to Fat Freddy's when you are just craving one these dogs and always the taste is wonderful! Stop by before early afternoon to get a taste of yummmmmm. :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kupcake44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

Jackson, Amador County
Jackson, Amador County
 
Jackson, Amador County
 
Jackson, Amador County
Jackson, Amador County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing