We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant in historic site”

Stanley's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanley's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stockton, California, Usa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New restaurant in historic site”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stanley's Steakhouse sits in the renovated National Hotel in downtown Jackson.
Great atmosphere and the waitstaff was very attentive and friendly.
Had the 16oz ribeye charbroiled which was done to my liking and my wife had the salmon cakes from the appetizers as her entree which were 3 good size crispy cakes which were tasty with a really nice remoulade.
Good wine list with local Amador wines...pricey but nice...nice place to come after Daffodil Hill visit and local Dandelion Days fair in downtown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    14
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was comfortable and elegant. The service eas good and friendly.
The only drawback would be that it was a little on the spendy side.
All in all it was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food poor service”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The wife and I took a nice drive in Amador County and stopped for lunch in Jackson at Stanley Steakhouse for lunch on a beautiful Friday afternoon. The National Hotel that Stanley's is in is beautiful! Just had a complete renovation of the hotel and Stanley's which again is in the hotel. We we were quckly greeted by a very nice young lady in her early twenty's and ask if we were here for lunch. We said yes and she told us to seat anywhere in the bar area which was very nice and had around six tables. When we were seated there was the two of us and four other people at two other tables and it was 11:55am. It took the young lady ten minites to come to our table and ask what we would like to drink. Another ten to fifteen to bring back our drinks (which she got wrong) and to take our orders. It is now 12:15pm or so. Drink refills were hard to come by during our wait. At around 12:50pm our lunch of Prime rib dip and Hamburger came to our table. Each had homemade chips that were wonderful. My wife Prime rib dip was one of the best she has had and my Hamburger was excellent and prepared just as I had asked. Bottom line is the food was excellent (limited lunch menu but excellent food) but the service was VERY SLOW and not prepared. We had to ask for things like mustard for hamburger, sugar for ice tea and coffee, refills. Which even slowed our meal down even more. She was always going back to get items we asked for and it took forever! It was not because she had too many people to cover, it was her, one either lady (which she come over to refill our glass one) and the bartender (which he was taking his own orders of drinks and food at the bar). Even my wife's coffee refills were not fresh. I hope they solve the service problem as its a major one. Such great food in a beautiful place and the service just brings it down greatly

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortugueseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I rarely eat out on Valentine's Day but decided to splurge and celebrate this year. The waitstaff couldn't be more friendly and the surroundings were very beautiful. We had gone there once before on Christmas and it was terrific. As for our Valentine dinner, we have some, we believe, constructive suggestions. First, we had the Valentine special; a choice of appetizer/salad, entree, and dessert for $50 per person. We don't mind the price if the quality and quantity are there. Quality...superb! Quantity...not so much. We started with two lobster Mac and cheese fritters and what we had was delicious. Three would have been better. Next was a very small filet mignon cooked to perfection, along with some greens and some thinly sliced potatoes. All delicious but in a steakhouse in the Gold Country, there needs to be decent portions and these were just plain skimpy. But...we could live with that as our concentration was on the romance of the evening. Dessert...that almost made us angry. For our $50 meal, we had to SPLIT a tiny, individual Baked Alaska! Seriously? Come on, Stan...splitting a dessert would be a great idea if the portions of the meal were generous, but they weren't. You had the perfect opportunity to showcase your excellent chef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wonderful wine list. Steaks done to perfection. Unusual steakhouse salad. We loved it. Also the bleu cheese wedge was very good. Best Cheesecake dessert I have ever had. Ate there twice during our stay at the National Hotel. Going back soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarCun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Jackson, Amador County
Sutter Creek, Amador County
 

Been to Stanley's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing