We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long time coming but well worth the wait” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The National Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A long time coming but well worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

a Magnificent restoration, this hotel has a great staff, great food and a wonderful atmosphere.
Jackson is a fun shopping destination and there is a nearby casino. There is also a true foodie cooking store in town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank csimmamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
75
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Amador County is only 1.5 hours from the SF East Bay, and has so much to offer!

I booked a Queen Suite with Balcony access - the John Wayne Suite, where John Wayne actually stayed during a movie shoot in Sonora - for our Saturday night stay. I am super picky about hotel rooms, and I was DELIGHTED with this room - I could not find a single fault with this room, or anything about the hotel for that matter. I loved the excellent clean white, beautifully detailed duvet and quality linens, carpeting, gorgeous antique furniture, stone fireplace, balcony...all of this was enough for me - but my husband LOVED the huge flat screen TV with Direct TV HD! Thank you, National Hotel, for not "deciding for us" whether or not we'd watch TV! And I loved the Gilchrist & Soames products, the shower was excellent and roomy, the parking was convenient, and the bar across the street was entertaining too!

We had dinner at The National Hotel's "Stanley's Steakhouse" on their dining patio. Dinner was excellent. We had yummy National Margaritas, Wedge salad, Heirloom tomato salad, filet mignon and Baked Alaska!

The National's employees were lovely - happy, genuinely friendly, interesting, professional and helpful. From registration, to general management, to restaurant, to housekeeping, to check out - everyone was wonderful.

So our tour of Amador County began with lunch at Taste Restaurant in Plymouth, a visit to Story Winery and Helwig Vineyard in Plymouth's Shenandoah Valley, a walk around Jackson and sitting on the balcony at The National Hotel, dinner at Stanley's Steakhouse, breakfast at Rosebud's Café in Jackson, a wade into the Mokelumne River just outside of Jackson, lunch at the Hotel Leger in Mokelumne Hill which included a self-guided tour of their lovely rooms and the new wine/event cellar that was renovated by Hotel Impossible last year!

Thank you, National Hotel for a terrific stay! We loved every minute, and greatly appreciated all the hospitality!

Folks, this Hotel absolutely deserves your business!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fairly pricey but a great location and lovely amenities. Great continental breakfast--fresh fruit galore and lovely scones, cinnamon rolls etc. I'd just add some plain Chobani yogurt to the offerings!

Room Tip: I went for lowest price but wasn't disappointed with quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adb5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night with my wife on a motorcycle trip. The stay began with Rebecca checking us in. I had some general questions about the hotel and town and she was an excellent tour guide. She has an awesome sense of humor and is extremely professional and goes above and beyond what is expected of her. The room was outstanding! It was very clean, the ac worked very well along with everything else. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motorgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
611 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the National, the room was comfortable and clean and of standard size. The shower was excellent as were the towels and robes.

What I liked best about our room is that it opened onto the balcony over Jackson's downtown. The balcony runs the width of the hotel so it is shared by 5 or 6 other rooms. Folks were friendly and it was very enjoyable to spend an evening with friends there. The only downsides to the balcony are privacy and noise. If you want privacy in your room, you have to close the balcony door and curtain, this leaves you with no natural light in the room which can be a bit dark. The noise on the balcony comes from the very loud juke box at the bar at cross the street. On a warm night, the bar door is open and the music is noticeable.

Noise from the adjacent room was also n issue at times. Talking could be heard through the adjoining doors and the jacuzzi and water running/drainibg was loud enough to wake us up.

The other minus I'd give for our stay was that the bathroom was not wiped down on our second morning there... must've just missed it that time because cleanlyness was not an issue any other time.

The continental breakfast was typical pastries, fruit, juice, coffee and a single cereal choice of granola. I'd have liked to seen a better overall selection for the cost of the room.

Friends of our ate at the steak house in the hotel and said it was excellent.

Overall the National is a quaint hotel, the standard rates are a bit steep for what you get. It is nicely located for wine tasting and other activities in gold country.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I first walked into this place in 1988, it was a dump. At the time, I actually stayed in a room that had no heat and it was winter! Yesterday, I entered this newly remodeled building. It has been restored beyond any time in its long history. Nice friendly locals dressed up in period outfits. We at dinner at the small but quaint restaurant just the other side of the bar. The food and service was excellent. Try the room, food or bar and get to know the beauty of vintage gold country in the sierra foothills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is nicely done, very pleasing and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable, more pillows than anyone could possible use. The bath tub was delightful as well as the shower. We had dinner in the hotel, service was very very good and the food well presented and excellent. A very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chellyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Property: The National Hotel
Address: 2 Water St, Jackson, CA 95642-2328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Hotel has just completed a four million dollar renovation and updating, while maintaining the grand dame's wild west, gold country roots. Rooms and public areas have many of their original fixtures (phones & lighting) and furniture. All rooms are luxury, many with jacuzzis, balconies, heated floors, fireplaces and so much more. Most of the 150 year old bar has been kept in tact and now is an elegant venue for meeting and imbibing, or while waiting for your table at our fine dinner house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing