We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully done”
Review of Daffodil Hill

Daffodil Hill
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Jackson
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Beautifully done”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from seeing the rows of daffodils planted on "the hill" outside the small town of Volcano, Ca. We went from Sacramento and Highway 16 moved fairly quickly. Though we were there on a Monday afternoon, there were probably 150 people. Parking, which was free, was across the street from the entrance in a dusty hillside. There is no charge to enter though donations are accepted. The flowers are mostly yellow or white, though we saw one peach colored group. They do have some food for sale, such as hot dogs and sodas, at the entrance. There are picnic tables in that same general area. The paths that are available on the hill are for the most part smooth dirt, but in some places there were rocks. We saw one gentleman who had fallen and reportedly broken his ankle. An EMT arrived to help him out. Others who had walkers were struggling somewhat. I saw several people dressed up in period costumes. They said they were dressed to take pictures of themselves with the daffodils as backdrops. There was a horse and two small donkeys in a fenced area behind the entrance area. We spent about an hour walking about, resting on some of the many benches, and just enjoying the beauty of the flowers. We ate lunch earlier in Sutter Creek at Thomi's restaurant, which provided tasty food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank WStaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Uhhhh...what is all the hubbub about???”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Okay, so we're staying in Ione...have been to some of the local gold country towns...went to the Black Chasm and then saw a sign for Daffodil Hill after a stop for lunch in Volcano. Figured 3 miles wasn't far to go since Daffodils are in season (and all OVER the place). We come upon a CA Highway Patrolman directing traffic and a sea of cars in a parking lot...we cross the street to the gardens and...I'm sorry to say...we were completely baffled. What the heck?? There are about 100 cars here...more than anywhere else we have been on the whole trip...and for what? I've seen more daffodils at Trader Joes! Maybe I'm jaded...on the drive to NorCal from SoCal we saw seas of mustard...lupine...etc. The gardens are "cute" but nothing spectacular by any means. Actually, I didn't "get it" at all. At least it's free!! I wouldn't bother at all unless you want to stage a photo for Easter or something. I don't want to be mean, but it reminded me of a pumpkin patch in October! "Big Deal!"

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ClawMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Springtime delight”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Daffodil Hill is located in the tiny Sierra foothills town of Volcano, about 60 miles southeast of Sacramento, or about 90 minutes driving time over a winding two-lane road that snakes through the hills. The operating season is very short, from about mid-March through the first two or three weeks of April depending on weather. But it's well worth the trip if you can go at exactly the right time when many thousands of yellow, white, and orange daffodils are in bloom. The fields of flowers are spread across a hillside, accessed by a network of dirt footpaths. Sections of these paths are quite steep, so you will want to wear comfortable walking shoes and watch out for loose rocks. Benches are placed at several locations if you want to rest your legs or just enjoy the beautiful view, and there are also privies if the need arises. The complex includes a small gift shop, a snack stand and picnic tables, and enclosures featuring colorful peacocks, pigeons, chickens, and even a couple of miniature donkeys. Antique farming equipment and old shacks dot the flower fields and offer nice photo opportunities.

Admission and parking are free, but bright yellow kettles placed at the entrance make a low-key request for voluntary donations. The parking lot is across the street from the entrance and an attendant is on duty to ensure the orderly flow of vehicles. Daffodil Hill is almost always crowded because the season is so short, so you will want to arrive as early in the day as possible (opening time is 10 AM) to find the closest parking and avoid the crush of people on the pathways. But leave Fido at home--to protect the flowers, pets are not allowed on the grounds. Considering that this attraction is owned by a pioneer Volcano family and run entirely by volunteers as a public benefit, it is very professionally and efficiently managed. Just wish Mother Nature would allow a longer period to enjoy it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank roadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, Usa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Everything's coming up roses”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Daffodil Hill is ablaze in color in shades of yellow, peach, white, and orange. 300,000 bulbs blanket the hillside, and everywhere you look is a Kodak moment.
Admission and parking are free so where can you go wrong.
Grab lunch there or bring your own...a beautiful place to be.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rich I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to see”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Daffodil Hill toward the end of the bloom season and it was still beautiful. We have heard stories about when it is the prime time to go and how it looks however even when we were there it was amazing to see. We plan to go back and see the full bloom at some point.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Evachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daffodil Hill also viewed

 
Jackson, Amador County
 

Been to Daffodil Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing