We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good-best in Jackson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Glendora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good-best in Jackson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

Second time visiting Jackson-and returned to this holiday. Service was very good, rooms are spotless and if you need any assistance-just ask someone at the desk-they will help you.

There is an additional surpize in Jackson, if you are in the mood for great food-try the mexican food resturant-down the road. Family business and the food is good!

If you were considering going to another "major chain" hotel in this area, check the with the locals about them first. This Holiday Express Rocks.. but another "name brand-national chain" seems to be blighted with little tiny bugs-in the bed. BEWARE! Perhaps, checking with the health board-before making any choices.. (ICCKY)

Have fun wandering about in the caverns and gold mines... we had a blast!

  • Liked — Simply the front desk and the rooms
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wigglesnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
33
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

This is a typcial Holiday Inn Express, with pretty much everything you would expect. The location is convenient, and it sits up on a hill with a decent view of the surrounding area. There are stores and fast food places across the highway, and other restaurants downtown, which is a couple of miles away. Nothing is really walking distance, but very convenient by car.

The room (224) was a nice size, with a good mattress. You had a choice between firm and soft pillows, which was a nice touch. It had a small work desk, but I was unable to get the wireless Internet to work. The front desk said the only other choice was to plug into the DSL outlet in the room, but I had neglected to bring a cable. Not a big deal.

There was a microwave and refer in the room, along with a coffee maker and "Holiday Inn Special Blend" coffee, which was some of the worst in-room coffee I've ever had. The room and the furniture are starting to show some signs of age. The bottom of the tub was stained from age - not gross, just getting old. Shower was adequate, and there was a strange combination of nice fluffy towels and older, thin ones. I found it a little odd that there was a small catalog in the bathroom adverstising Holiday Inn towels and shower heads for sale. You can even order cinnamon rolls to have shipped to your house. A strange touch.

Breakfast is included, but stay away if you want to eat healthy. They had hot omlettes with cheese (premade, not made to order), which were actually pretty good, along with really greasy sausage patties. The usual cereal and bread. Good coffee here. Also their special cinnamon rolls (I guess the same ones you can order by mail), which were pretty good as well.

The real downside to this hotel is the paper-thin walls. In this day and age of soundproof construction, I was really surprised to find that I could hear the TV and much of the conversation from the room next door. I ended up with earplugs in and the fan running on the AC all night in order to dampen things down enough to get some sleep.

All in all, a decent enough place to stay, and I would not recommend against it. But don't forget the earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

The Holiday Inn Express looks new both outside and in. Our bed was comfortable and all fixtures worked well. With the windows closed the room was very quiet. There is a fitness room on the first floor but no pool. We walked out the back door to the movie theater situated a few steps away during the hot afternoon. The hotel attendant was very helpful, offering ideas for local restaurants and attractions. We ate at the Bonanza restaurant and were pleased with the food quality and prices. The tapioca pudding was delicious! Jackson itself was rather quiet downtown, but the museum was interesting. The breakfast at the hotel consisted of some good cinnamon rolls, hard boiled eggs, juices, and warm/cold cereals. The breakfast room itself was spacious and clean. For the money, the Holiday Inn is a very good value.

  • Liked — Newness of facility, proximity to historical points of interest
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WStaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

This was one of the best HIE we have stayed in over the years. The room (101) with two queens beds was a good size, with beds and two chairs and table you could still move around. The beds were motel soft as was the pillows. The bathroom was a separate room with door and very good size. Our only objection to the room was the very dark furniture which made the room dark. The breakfast was the typical Express serving but with no micowave oven. The HIE location was half mile south of the center of town and across the street from two strip malls. The parking area is a good size and there is additional parking at the movie theater next to the motel. We were told the motel has been in operation 3 1/2 years. Very clean and employees were frendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

One of the newer HIE properties and it shows! Beautiful flowers outside create an immediate good impression. The people at the reception were quick and efficient but not the most personable. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable King Size bed. It had an armchair, a desk, ergonomic chair and all the utensils you may need. A/C was efficient even on a hot day. Nice drapes, clean carpet and a well appointed bathroom. The breakfast room downstairs is larger than in a lot of older HIE, was never crowded (even on Memorial Day). Breakfast offerings are the usual. What we liked most about this place was its quietness. The hotel was totally booked but we never encountered any noise, not from the hallway, from adjoining rooms or from the outside. Location is great for sightseeing in the Gold Country. A 4-Plex Movie Theater is right next door, but the traffic to and from the theaters bypasses the hotel. When in the area we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2006

Hotel staff are excellent. Rooms are new, very clean and well decorated. Internet connection is the best. I'm glad Jackson finally has a modern hotel! The rooms would cost $200 and up in a major city.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

The room was decorated very nicely and was very clean. It was completely worth the price. I would have rated it "Excellent," but I didn't like that when I requested more pillows (at 11:00 at night), I had to go up to the front desk and get them myself (I was in my pajamas). Other than that, I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort
11.6 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Address: 101 Clinton Rd, Jackson, CA 95642-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stay Smart" with Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Jackson, California! Escape to historic Jackson, California on the Scenic Highway 49, which leads you to the many wonders of the Gold Country. Visit multiple quant towns with an abundance of antique and specialty shops here in the Mother Lode. Mokelumne River is just minutes down the highway and wishes to help you create some magical memories while relaxing or living-it-up next to the water. Families and people of all ages will be enticed by the beauty that engulfs Amador County. For you fish lovers, we have a few lakes that are sure to "catch" your attention! Open tournaments for fishing happen yearly at Lake Pardee and Camanche Lake is fun to take a swim in or even to break some waves on your jet skis! Golfers tend to love the fact that there are two golf courses in our area including Mace Meadows Golf Course being minutes up Highway 88. There are tournaments, fun events and great people and food! All located within 20 - 30 minutes from our hotel, you'll find wineries in stretches of Plymouth and the Shenandoah Valley with rows of cascading vineyards for miles to see. Snuggled nicely in the winery area is the Amador Flower Farm which features vibrant flowers, plants and staff!A pumpkin patch excites many in the Fall as well! For those who love the snow, located an hour drive up Highway 88 is Kirkwood Ski Resort. We sell discounted Ski Lift Tickets for Adults, Teens and Children during the current season of the year! (Check out our Ski and Stay Package on our website during Ski Season.) Chaw'se Indian Grinding Rock State Park in Pine Grove, up Highway 88, is great for a solo retreat and a pleasure for couples or even families. They are also ADA compliant. A few miles down the road from this beautiful park, you'll find the just-big-enough town of Volcano, which has wonderful features including an outdoor amphitheater and cavern tours at Black Chasm. You can fill a photo album with fantastic captures of Daffodil bulbs from the 1800's that peak out each year at Daffodil Hill, just a few minutes' drive from Volcano. This outstanding family-owned (and still occupying the property daily as a residence) ranch and farm, opens their gates for a couple weeks in the Spring to the public and is a MUST-SEE of Amador County. Try your luck at the Jackson Rancheria Indian Casino, just 5 miles from here. Entertainment and good food awaits. To sum it up, we are just three hours from the gate of Yosemite and two hours from South Lake Tahoe and Heavenly Valley Ski Resort! We look forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express in Jackson, California! Cya soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Jackson
Holiday Inn Jackson
Holiday Inn Express Jackson
Jackson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing