We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Entrance to rooms are all outdoors and are four to a building. It makes for a very private stay in incredibly spacious and luxurious rooms.

Breakfast is all you can eat and pretty tasty for a hotel breakfast. Including make your own waffles and breakfast sandwiches.

Rooms include dishwasher and ovens. The later is very rare for rooms and make your stay a lot less expensive.

They serve dinners monday through wednesday. Not always as delicious, but I'm eating them and they are a sign of this hotels hospitality.

Typical beds for residence inns. Mattress is king size, but its a little too firm for me.

Hotel is driving distance to a decent size mall with shops and bars. I went there once, but thats not why I was in town. Laguna beach isn't far, which was an interesting change of pace.

Overall I stay at a lot of hotels for my job. I stayed at this one for one month and would put it in my top two hotels that I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Hard to miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We returned to Irvine for the second time in July. My husband was working in his company's California office again, so we made a vacation of it. We stayed at this hotel during our first visit, so we chose it again. This second stay was very unpleasant as compared to the first. The pros...fabulous location - only a very short drive to beautiful Newport and Laguna beaches, as well as numerous wilderness areas, and the Irvine Spectrum. Easy access to freeways, Disneyland etc. The rooms are clean, although they have a stale smell, and the staff is usually very helpful and pleasant. The big con from this trip...the very large group of rude Saudis who were there for what we were told was an annual trip. They were loud and littered all over the place. I was unable to do laundry because they were in the too small laundry room daily, using all of the machines and once again, leaving their trash everywhere. In the mornings, they put their hands in the food, refusing to use the provided utensils. Not to mention, they seemed to think all of the food was intended for them. On more than one occasion, we were unable to eat because everything was gone. I actually witnessed one man taking all of the bread provided for toast. The hotel staff was aware of these issues. One staff member told us this happened every year and to try to be patient, they would leave soon. Unfortunately, they were there our entire stay, which we cut short. So, considering this is a yearly occurance, why wasn't the hotel prepared to deal with this so other guests would not have to be
inconvenienced? If we ever return to Irvine in July, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineSpectrum, General Manager at Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

I wanted to take a moment and Thank you for your comments. My team and I are disappointed that your stay was not better. We do try and schedule enough staff to minimize the impact of our International guest. However, due to your comments we will be reviewing our operational procedures to try and do a better job. My hopes is that you will try us again when you are in Irvine next time.
Sincerely
Anita Ashe-Michini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you're familiar with Residence Inn properties, you'll recognize this location as the "original" Residence Inn style, with the "house" style buildings surrounding a main "gatehouse," where the lobby, breakfast and fitness center are located.

I arrived late on my first night of a two-night stay, so although the check-in experience was friendly (with a nice gift for being Marriott Platinum Elite), the parking was tough to come by and the room I received was a bit of a hike from where I had to park. I'm sure the area of town is safe, but I always feel a little leery wandering to my room late at night and outdoors.

I had a first floor room, which is good when you have a large amount of luggage - the second floor units are only accessible via stairs. The room itself was a nice size and looked clean, but the room had definitely been smoked in and smelled very stale, even though this property is supposed to be smoke-free. I have had this issue at Residence Inn properties in the past - I think people are just very comfortable in these home-like hotels and smoke indoors as they might in their own homes? Bed was harder than what you'd find at a Courtyard Inn or a Marriott, but the bathroom and shower were nice. Plenty of outlets and lighting, room had a charming fireplace and a newly-renovated kitchen with nice countertops and appliances.

I didn't use the fitness center or try out the free breakfast on this visit, but I found the location to be very accessible to not only the SNA airport, but also to Irvine and Lake Forest area restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: If you have a large amount of luggage, stay on the first floor, as the second floor is only accessib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank volksaudinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineSpectrum, General Manager at Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments, coming from our Platinum members your feedback is very important to us. I will share your review with my staff to ensure we meet your expectations. Thanks you again for choosing the Irvine Spectrum Residence Inn.

Sincerely
Anita Ashe- Michini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice location and convenient. The room is just the right size. There was free dinner and breakfast. Good place to stay with kids.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronicaindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineSpectrum, General Manager at Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. We are glad you had a enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return.
Have a great day
Sincerely
Anita Ashe-Michini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

1 bedroom floor unit was clean, adequately equipped, and nicely appointed. Room rate of $130 per night was competitive. Front office staff was average, not overly friendly but not rude. Breakfast was above average, with eggs, ham/sausage, waffles, and good coffee. Excellent location for Irvine professional area, easy access to a number of businesses and restaurants. Bed is not comfortable at all, with a noticeable tilt to one side. I don't think the shampoo bottles can get any smaller, but the bath soap was quite pleasant, with a hint of lemon smell. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarddavis2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was a good clean hotel... I'll summarized the pros and cons the best I can based on a 3 night stay.
Pros:
- Full fridge and kitchen, housekeeping even did my dishes for me
- Tennis court, pool, hot tub
- Beer and wine with dinner
- Friendly staff all around
Cons:
- If you stay on the second floor, there are no elevators, so you must lug your luggage up the stairs
- Dinner is only Monday-Wednesday, unlike other Residence Inns I've stayed at
- Hard to get parking spaces near your building
Overall, good hotel, I would return.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFKent21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking for the perfect hotel to explore the Orange County while having the comfort of a cosy hotel, so we decided to go the Residence Inn. The manager was very nice and we felt most welcome in the place, so our stay started on good bases. We called the front desk asking for an extra chair when we arrived in the room, because surprisingly they just give you one chair for the kitchen table, even when you registered for two... Anyway, the room was cosy and modern, which we definitely liked.
Then the troubles began. We asked on another traveler's advice for a second floor room, but has a 1st floor room. Big mistake.... The people above us were probably insomniac, and had probably to relieve their anxiety by walking heavily the whole night long back and forth in their room. Needless to say that we were looking to recharge our batteries, and on that matter, this goal was not reached.
On the positive side, the pool and spa area was nice, breakfast was ok, yet not the best one we've seen in this range of price.
When we explained to the manager what happened, she didn't understand why we didn't call the front desk to have it call the client above, yet I wouldn't say that was the above customer fault, but rather the lack of isolation in the building. She apologized and offered us some Marriott points, but we don't have the card, so it just stopped there.
As a conclusion, I would say that I am expecting from an hotel at that range of price to be irreproachable on almost everything. Not perfect, not luxurious, just above a regular hotel. And that was not the case, and it shaded our week-end. Too bad.
NB : Although the manager had left some work order for it, we never got our second chair...

Room Tip: 2nd floor only, if you are two in the room, plan ahead and ask to have a second chair at your arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maud_S_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
8 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 23 in Irvine
576 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
7.3 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
7.5 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 23 in Irvine
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum

Address: 10 Morgan, Irvine, CA 92618-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range: $148 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an array of comforts and conveniences when reserving accommodations at Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum. With a prime location near Lake Forest, our hotel is near many of the city's most popular attractions. Take a tour of the University of California Irvine campus, experience outdoor fun at Orange County Great Park and shop until you drop at exciting stores at Irvine Spectrum. After a full day of excitement or work, retreat to our spacious suites featuring separate sleeping and living areas in addition to fully equipped kitchens. When you need to be productive or connect to social media, take advantage of our free property-wide high-speed Wi-Fi. Begin every morning with our free hot, savory breakfast buffet before heading out on an adventure. During downtime, maintain your exercise routine in our fitness center and enjoy a swim in our sparkling outdoor pool. Whatever your reason for staying with us, you'll enjoy the home-like comforts at Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Irvine Residence Inn
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing