We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay if seeing a show at Verizon Wireless Amphitheater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this hotel for last Sat. night, due to its proximity to the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater (to see Journey [!!!] & the Steve Miller Band). It is very close, about 6 miles so it made it very convenient. And it's also very very close to the Irvine Spectrum, where you have a plethora of dining and shopping options.

The hotel itself was very clean and no complaints about the room, with the exception of the A/C, which like another reviewer commented, could use some updating. When we set the thermostat at 69 (which we did when we walked into the room because it was stifling), after a few minutes, felt like it reached 69 degrees in a hurry. So we turned it up to 76 degrees.. which then became too hot. So we left it at 70 degrees the entire stay. Yes, it did get chilly at night but that what the blankets are for. I'd rather be too cold and curl up in a blanket than be too hot when I'm trying to
sleep.

The other "weird" part was the concierge service. When we asked them for suggestions as to a good place to grab a bite before we headed to the show, it felt like they were trying to sell us a vacation timeshare. I appreciated their eagerness to help, but it felt a bit overboard.

Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again. Well, the $18/day to self-park seemed just a smidge overpriced but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that we were your hotel of choice for your concert weekend. As you mentioned, our proximity to Verizon makes us a great choice when seeing a concert or attending an event at that venue. I’m sorry to hear that the thermostat in the room gave you some challenges. Though it sounds like the AC was working, it appears we need to do some fine tuning on that thermostat to allow for a better experience. I’ll be sharing your feedback regarding our concierge with my team as well. Their primary role is to assist you with any of your needs, but they are also here to introduce our guests to Wyndham’s great timeshare options. Of course, if a guest is not interested, there should be no aggressive sales pitch. Thank again for your feedback. I’m happy to hear you would select us again and look forward to providing you with another great stay the next time you’re in town.

Best Regards,

Justin Gammon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 955 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

A very average hotel with high rates due to the location. Nothing special about the rooms or service

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Abbey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Abbey W,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your opinion of the hotel. We value your feedback and will be looking for ways to ensure to all of our guests experience a great stay.

Best Regards,

Justin Gammon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night, thinking if we liked it we would stay longer but left after one night. The a/c units in this hotel make a lot of noise. The engineer came up and said it was normal, however it was impossible for us to sleep well because of the deep growl coming from our neighbor's a/c. Every time the compressor kicked in, the walls would start humming. When we asked to move, the front desk supervisor said she had never had noise complaints before, we could have the same problem again- really not helpful and doesn't make a guest feel welcome at all.

From outward appearances though, the hotel looks great, with a contemporary West Elm look. We stayed at the same time with several school athletic teams, so the hotel was bustling with youthful energy. The self service laundry was very useful, although you needed to go down to the front desk to get quarters and there was exactly one washer and one dryer on the floor we went to. (there are 2 floors with laundry in the hotel)

Service was short staffed. We noticed several guests pushing luggage carts themselves in the elevator, hallway, even parking lot. The woman at the front desk came up to help us with our luggage when we checked out. Odd.

Note, there is no mini-bar or fridge in the rooms. You can rent one for $10/day.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank 10021NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear 10021NYC,

Thanks you for your feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m sorry to hear about your concern with the noise form the air conditioner. I can certainly understand how frustrating this was for you and I am sorry that we weren’t able to provide you with a better resolution. Though our AC units are all brand new, they do make some small level of noise when they go on and off. I also appreciate your feedback on the staffing levels. I have shared your review with my Director of Rooms and we will be reviewing our scheduling during these high occupancy weekends to ensure we have the proper level of staff to accommodate our guests’ needs. Again, I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Justin Gammon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We only stayed for 1 Saturday night, for a quick getaway. While this was not the most "romantic" of choices, we stayed a "date-night" kind of getaway and spent our money out on the town instead. (If you are local, check their website for their California resident rate).

While it was nestled in among the corporate towers of Irvine, it was a great location with easy access to lots of different venues/choices in the OC area. Quick jaunt north on the freeway to South Coast, quick dip south toward the Spectrum or Fashion Island.

The room itself showed its age only in the popcorn ceiling, everything else seemed quite renovated and up to date. The room and bath seemed very clean...until I noticed some type of big white crumbs between the bed and nightstand. So maybe a little more attention to vacuuming detail would be good! Front desk was warm & friendly, and we were approached in the brief line by the concierge, who offered us a discount to dine there, and offers for restaurants if we needed.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear KellyLS,

Thank you for the very kind review. I am happy to hear that the hotel services and amenities made this an enjoyable stay for you. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team, including the recommendation to be a bit more thorough with the vacuuming. Thanks again. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Justin Gammon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank gaborh224
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamIrvine, General Manager at Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#7 of 22 in Irvine
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 22 in Irvine
557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport

Address: 17941 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92614-6253 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Irvine
#1 Business Hotel in Irvine
#1 Green Hotel in Irvine
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Orange County California and a short drive from the John Wayne Airport, the Wyndham Irvine - Orange County Airport hotel is an ideal destination for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests in town for business will enjoy the hotel’s close proximity to several local corporate headquarters, while those getting away from it all are sure to enjoy the abundance of local beaches, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Irvine - Orange County Airport Hotel Irvine
Irvine Crowne Plaza
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing