We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Neighborhood Eatery”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tomikawa Sushi Bar Restaurant
Ranked #202 of 654 Restaurants in Irvine
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jakarta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Decent Neighborhood Eatery”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The place was beginning to crowd when we left before dinner time (having been invited by locals) on Sunday & after reading some of the recent reviews, this place is no doubt a local favorite. The food taste range from standard to good but the service got off to a bad start for us as the servers were not attentive when we arrived for an early dinner. Overall, if you want to grab decent Japanese food in your local neighborhood, then this may be the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We go to Tomikawa a few times a year and our last visit was one of the best. Very crowded early on a Sunday evening, partly because of the daylight savings time change. Waited about five minutes and then were seated at a table in one of the private rooms. Pretty sparse setting right off the kitchen door.
Service was prompt and friendly.
Food was the best we've had in all our visits. We both ordered the three-combi dinners. Tempura was light, crisp, and hot...straight from the fryer. California roll and sashimi were fresh. Salmon and steak teriyaki were both cooked perfectly and the steak was surprisingly tender.
A couple of sakes and that was the meal. No room for dessert and a bit left over for lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average to good Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is the typical step up from fast food restaurant. Please don't expect perfect service. You do get satisfactory service for this type of restaurant.
I am not an expert on Japanese food and I don't eat sashimi so I can't help in that area. I go to Tomikawa often for a quick bite and it is usually for their Udon soups or specialty rolls. I've never been disappointed. I must add that their rolls taste different everytime. It probably depends on the person who is preparing them.
In all, not a bad place for a quick meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had fun to open the holiday season with friends...”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I went with 5 other friends around 5:30pm for the Happy Hour Specials. The atmosphere was nothing to write home about EXCEPT to say that the acoustics allowed for private conversations to be heard without shouting or worrying about disturbing the next table - which is unique today. The food - we ordered 27 different kinds of sushi with two duplications (i.e. placed two repeat orders). Of the variety ordered only one really disappointed me. KAPPA MAKI (cucumber roll) is the simplest kind of maki sushi and therefore it is one of the hardest to "hide" any mistake (i.e. texture of rice or amount of osu - rice vinegar). The sushi was way too "FAT" (i.e. too much rice and the amount of vinegar used was lacking). Having said that, the other sushi we ate was "not bad" - especially for the 1/2 price tag during Happy Hour. Now would I cater from this place for a fancy sushi party filled with gourmet connoisseurs? No. But I would not hesitate to take friends for a "quick bite" during Happy Hour. 27 orders of sushi, drinks (2 alcoholic ones, 1 coke, tea) plus generous tip was $140.00 for six people. I hope to return soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javanut4673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Japenese cruisine!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Family finally persauded me to try Japenese and Tomikawa did not disappoint. Excellent cruisine. This was my first meal to totally consume with chop sticks. So fun. Try the steak and chicken tempura combination for lunch. Sushi and many of the rolls were very good. We will return and hope to see you there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shuttrrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomikawa Sushi Bar Restaurant also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Tomikawa Sushi Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing