We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place -”
Review of Agora Churrascaria

Agora Churrascaria
Reserve with OpenTable
Agora Churrascaria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 658 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: McArthur
Description: Churrascaria - a Brazilian Steak House in the “Rodizio” style.  A great variety of different cuts of meat, such as beef, chicken, pork and lamb are cooked on an open fire and carved table-side by traditionally dressed Gaucho (local ranchers from the south of Brazil).  The fixed- price menu includes an extensive hot and cold salad bar that features fresh salads and vegetable dishes as well as delicious seafood dishes.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“awesome place -”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

was taken to this restaurant by my sis/bro in law s - and it lived up to its reputation - great place , great food - and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naveenPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above average Churrascaria”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The most beautiful Churrascaria in SoCal. If I could choose how my apartment should look like I'd copy Agora 1:1.

Foodwise its not much different from the usual upper class Brazilian steak restaurant except that there is more delicious seafood at the buffet.
Price is ok and the passadores are very friendly.

One star subtracted because some of the meats were a tad dry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meat! And a great salad bar too!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good variety of churascaqueria. Good selection of meats, great salad bar , nice, modern ambience, good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best in class”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have eaten in Churrascarias in a number of cities, and most have been good, but this was a step or two above the best I have ever experienced. The salad and "other" bar was well appointed with fresh and delicious options. I usually limit my selections to rice and black beans and "leave more room" for meat, but the choices were so appealing that I ended up with a plate full of other items too. Not to worry, when the meat started coming I was ready for it.

Here too, the quality of the meats was exceptional. The offerings were predominantly a variety of beef (with one or two chicken choices and one lamb). I have seen a wider variety of meats offered at some other Churrascarias but never the level of quality that that serve at Agora.

This will be a regular stop on future trips to Anaheim.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoScreenName1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anti-Souplantation”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I guess you can say Agora is the anti-Souplantation. Replace unlimited salad with an assortment of juicy and slightly charred meat, and, voila, you have Agora. Meat Heaven.

For those uninitiated to the world of Brazilian BBQ/steakhouse, here a quick guide for you so you don't act like a baboon:

When you first entered the restaurant, you'll be greeted promptly, seated promptly, and have your drink order taken promptly. Just like any other restaurants, hopefully. But after that, the destiny of your meal, the enjoyment of your night, is in your hands.

On each table there will be an item with two sides, Red and Green. Some restaurants you will be given a wooden block, some might be a can, but, at Agora, you will have a coaster. This is no ordinary coaster, do not place your drinks over it! It has magical powers. When you flip the coaster to Green, the meat will keep on coming until you can stuff no more. When you wish to take a break, perhaps to the bathroom and clean out some unwanted clutter so you have more space to do work, then simply flip the magical coaster to Red, and the meat train will by pass your table. Well, until you flip it back to Green again, that is.

Sounds exciting, right??

But, of course, there comes a time in our life when we make the choice (a brilliant one, in fact) to date someone who is a vegetarian. Don't let this damper your quest for MEAT. Agora have one of the finest buffet at a Brazilian BBQ/steakhouse. Your better, and healthier, half can enjoy assortment of items from vegetables, fruits, and carbs.

So really, go there tonight. You won't regret it. Well, you're wallet might, but your stomach will be satisfied, and that's alllll that matters.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agora Churrascaria also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Agora Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing