We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, just horrible!”
Review of Tuscany Mediterranee Grill - CLOSED

Tuscany Mediterranee Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible, just horrible!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Sitting here in the parking lot and writing a review cause that is just how angry I am. 0 star is more correct! Read everybody's review and figured I would give a chance. Dinner service started out fine. Food was mediocre. When it came to pay, we realized the owner is a scammer! Our bill came and we found out he charges 12% instead of 8.75% and making us (a party of 2) an automatic 20% tip. When we questioned the waiter, the waiter took it up to the owner and he took $1 off the tax. No apology. We said it was still high and the owner asked us what is the problem? We told him, well you're overcharging everything. He said the he made a mistake but took $1 off already. We said that is still high. He said the system is acting funny at the moment. It was all handwritten though! (Fyi: no paper trail). We then questioned the gratuity. He said he can put whatever gratuity I want on a customers bill, a in house rule (BS). Then he goes about saying on a big party he charges 25% tip (what?!) We said we are a party of 2 and it should be at our discretion. He basically later says groupon diners are cheap and tip incorrectly. The owner said since this is a groupon deal, that is why I am charging 20% tip basically telling us he is pocketing it himself thus stealing from his employees. Douchbag! We said we understand but it should be at our discretion not added to the bill like that. He then insulted us and said, come on after the groupon deal, we are only paying so and so dollar. We said that is not the point. He then shoves our card at us and kicked us out.

Mind you, the whole time he's raising his voice. Even though the place was deserted on a Saturday (now I know why) There were only 2 staffs waiting table on a Saturday night. SAD! I said the yelp reviews are completely right about this place. The owner yells out, I don't care about the reviews. Uhh...Maybe you should!

A place that is trying desperately hard to be fine dining. That's really hard with an owner like that. Please please avoid this place. He knows exactly what he is doing. We are reporting this guy to the IRS and the BOE. There is definitely something shady going on.

Just read reviews on yelp. When faced with complaints of overcharging, he lashes out and yells at his customer. Such a pretentious owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lola377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    3
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, not great service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a nicely decorated restaurant in an area where there are lots of offices. Our party of three had a reservation and was promptly seated. The food was good but our requests for extra bread and a drink took much too long to be fulfilled. We were Groupon customers but that is no reason to wait on us more slowly; the restaurant was not crowded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Squidhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pasta with seafood”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very romantic cozy with fresh flowers taper candles fine dining service
For sure the place to take your date to be impressed
Chocolate cake was superb
Quiet food was very very good
Fresh seabass and filet combination I had was great
We will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went to this restaurant with a Groupon for lunch. The owner refused to honor it saying it was for dinner only. There was nothing on Groupon stating it was for dinner only. The entrees (fish) were tasty but awful expensive for lunch as it was $25.00 a la carte. A couple of entrees plus an ice tea amounted to over $50.00 for lunch. I do not mind spending that much in NYC but I do in a restaurant in Irvine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will Not Return”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arrived for our 6:30 reservation, quickly seated by nice young lady. 10 minutes later a man came by and told us the specials for the evening. He returned about 5 minutes later for our order. We asked for the calamari appetizer and some wine. Friends order glass of his recommended wine and we ordered a bottle of wine. The two glasses were served and our "bottle" of wine was delivered in a small carafe with no cork, label, or presentation, just poured. I can guarantee you it was not the Pinot Grigio we ordered. Calamari was served after a long wait and man returned for our order. As each person stated their request he asked "soup or salad" and we responded. He never mentioned the meal did not come with this, but was extra. Salads were ok, nothing special but nice size for a dinner salad. Food was basic, husband liked his shrimp ravioli, friend like his chicken tuscany, other friend thought her shrimp and crab was very spicy and I thought my champagne risotto was dry and lacked any distinct flavor, so overall, food OK. When he asked if we would like dessert, we declined and were never offered coffee or tea. Few other misses, water glasses left empty, etc. and the place was certainly not busy. When the bill arrived we were surprised to see the salads were charged at $4.90, not the $3.90 listed on the menu, along with several other $ additions not explained. We were using a Grupon and we did not wish to make a scene as this man serving is seems rather aggressive, so we left a nice tip and departed. We will not return nor will we recommend this place to anyone. Had read previous reviews on Yelp but thought the menu look interesting. Drive up the road a few miles for Antonello's, better food,great service and pleasant atmosphere for much the same price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loisshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Mediterranee Grill also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing