We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious small plates”
Review of Lucca Cafe & Market - CLOSED

Lucca Cafe & Market
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Canyon
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious small plates”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I like the small skewers - mostly the shark fish and the chicken (the meat ended up too tough). The soup shots are really good (three different types of soup). Beet salad is consistently good. John Dory fish is perfectly made. Brunch foods are also popular. Service is usually good but when i was there with a large party they faltered.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank galisgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here at lunch and at dinner. I found it to be over priced, and pretentious. The food is good, but the portions are very small and the prices are quite high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food...a tad pricey”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, great atmosphere...all really excellent! Visiting from TX on a work expense acct...a little pricey for that. Lucca salad is a winner and the Halibut special is to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aganga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A great place to eat and talk”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We like this place. It is one of our favorite Irvine places for a regular meal.
Food is excellent, prices are reasonable, and the atmosphere is friendly.

This is the kind of place you can eat health or not. And you will likely love anything you order on the menu.

One tip. The bakery is great. This is a good option for taking with you.
Be sure to check the web site for hours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PH-Travel-Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch was o.k.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went to Lucca with a group for a late brunch/lunch on Sunday. The menu was not as interesting as I had hoped, but we had a nice table on the patio. I chose a salad from the specials menu and it was pretty good, but I was glad I asked for dressing on the side as other salads looked overly dressed and just wet. The pancake special and egg dishes looked more appetizing than the sandwiches. Overall I would say it was o.k., and the outdoor table was great for our group.

They had a nice selection of cheeses in the market section of the Cafe, so I plan to check that out some time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca Cafe & Market also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing