We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Conference Success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Irvine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
“Conference Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our conference was very successful thanks to the cooperative and friendly staff. They rearranged rooms quickly and efficiently between meetings and banquets. The meeting spaces were perfect for our needs. The sleeping rooms were quite nice and spacious. The entire staff was outstanding during our three night stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your conference with us.
We really appreciate your feedback.

We are fortunate to have an exceptional Banquet and Event team.
Thank you for recognizing their efforts.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    294
    145
    56
    44
See reviews for
147
119
69
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times, mainly because I am a Hilton Honors member and this hotel was conveniently located for me.

Overall, I'd say the desk staff is not overly friendly or courteous, and have had a few negative experiences. The wait staff in the restaurant is always pleasant, polite and courteous.

Here's the problem with this place....watch out if there is a group event going on. One time there was a well[-behaved high school education conference going on. The second time it was a two-day event for a large group of hip-hop dancer/teachers. Both times, the group took over the lobby and breakfast area. Because these areas are relatively small, all these people in too small a space makes it VERY, VERY noisy and VERY VERY crowded.

PROS:
super convenient location near John Wayne AIrport with free shuttle bus
usually priced very competitively
nice breakfast buffet
close to everything Irvine

CONS:
front desk can be kind of snarky
a group event at same time of your stay will create a noisy, crowded , unpleasant experience.
Must pay for in-room wi-fi. Tacky.

WOULD I STAY HERE AGAIN?
Depends on price...if I can get it for $100 per night, then yes. Otherwise, I'd stay at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegreykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stays with us while in Orange County.

I appreciate your candor regarding your experience.
It certainly helps us focus our efforts on the items that matter most or our guests.

I hope that should your travels bring you back to Orange County, you will continue to allow us to be of service to you.

Sincerely,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,091 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great location if you are flying out of John Wayne Airport. Moreover, the price is very reasonable making it a great value.

My colleague and I decided to stay at this hotel due to early flights and it turned out to be a great choice. As full disclosure, I am a Hilton Diamond member which influences my choice of hotels. However, this full Hilton property was so reasonable in price and so convenient that the choice was obvious at the time of booking irrespective of my frequent stay status.

We were checked in very quickly and efficiently upon arrival. My room was very spacious and clean. The décor was nothing special but it was adequate and not distracting. The amenities including the WiFi worked well during my entire stay. My bed was quite comfortable allowing me to get a good night's sleep.

The front desk staff were very helpful in enumerating our dinner options nearby. To get dinner outside the hotel, a car was really necessary. That might have been the only disadvantage of the property, however. After dinner, upon returning to the hotel I took a walk through the surrounding neighborhood. It was an enjoyable stroll that I was able tot take through a quiet conglomeration of businesses and condominium complexes. My walk was safe and invigorating. There was a fuel station/convenience store within a three-minute walk of the hotel that allowed me to pick up a couple of waters for my room at the end of my stroll.

The best part about the hotel was that, while they offered a shuttle on the half-hour, the airport was walkable. Simply crossing the street and safely walking through the parking garage allowed me to reach the terminal in ten minutes. It was a nice change to be in control of my schedule at that point. I should add that my checkout was quite efficient and I experienced no delays getting out the door to get to my flight. My only regret was that, because I had to leave so early, I was unable to take advantage of the breakfast buffet that would have been complementary to me.

Overall, if you have a flight out of John Wayne/Orange County Airport, I would highly recommend this property as a convenient, reasonably-priced and high-value hotel option the night before you fly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the great review!

Our team appreciated your comments. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hilton Hotels & Resorts. We look forward to being of service to you soon!

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Traveled to Santa Ana for business - flew into John Wayne airport and right across the street is this hotel. Very nice decor and the rooms are nicely furnished. The staff was accommodating from the valet to the front desk to the waiters - excellent hotel

Room Tip: although you are near the airport you do not hear the noise
See more room tips
Green Features: the usual towels etc. the bathroom fixtures seemed to have water saving heads
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eataroundwoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your comments and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoussis, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great hotel with very good rooms and facilities. The pool is ideal to relax, you also have the bar that is nearby. The free shuttle to John Wayne Airport is also very convenient. Wonderful staff that is really accommodating, they'll treat you as a well vaulted customer. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Romain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is old. Especially for a Hilton. The tub is stained from wear and tear. Carpet is retro days of the 90s. I'm fine with the 9$ wiskeys . staff need new clothes, guy had a over sized blazer jacket. Unless this place is running in a 90s theme or you like the 90s style, go to the Hilton in costamesa .

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jziq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

overall the hotel service was excellent unfortunatelly breakfast was not included so we have to buy it. coffee runs out by 7:00am and food was very expensive. Also, the gym was very small and no ventilations

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank claudiam239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonIrvineGM, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do have coffee service available throughout the day via the bar or restaurant.
In addition, we do have several room packages available that include breakfast.
Perhaps one of the packages would provide a better value.

Thank you for the feedback on the Fitness Center ventilation.
Our Chief Engineer is looking into the issue and we are hopeful that it was an isolated incident.

Again - thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Regina M. Stryker-Guthrie | General Manager
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 19 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport

Property: Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Address: 18800 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Irvine
#4 Family Hotel in Irvine
#6 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport is centrally located in the heart of Orange County and located near many attractions, shopping centers, and restaurants.Use the complimentary shuttle from Orange County John Wayne Airport. We provide a comfortable setting for any event and welcome the opportunity to welcome your family or group. Equipped with outdoor pool, fitness center, Aura Bar and Grill, this Irvine hotel offers luxury accomodations and expert service for your leisure or corporate stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport Hotel Irvine
Hilton Hotel Irvine
Irvine Hilton
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing