We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Decent property. Convenient to airport. Had to wait a long time for check in--rooms were typical of Marriott. Concierge lounge was average--very cramped. I would stay here again--but as another person commented, you need a car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onefortheroad_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    217
    104
    30
    15
See reviews for
83
61
28
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had Marriott Reward certificates for free nights here and used them.

First, the hotel can be slightly difficult to find, tucked away in a business park, surrounded by other high rises. Once you find it and leave and come back a time or two, it becomes much easier to know where you're staying.

Upon arrival on Friday evening (we were expecting a quiet weekend) we were met with a lobby CRAWLING with kids! Not a good sign! The hotel was sold out for some karate convention being held there!

Despite this, check-in was fairly quick and no problem!

Then, the annoyance that would haunt us throughout our stay began. Waiting for the elevator. Waiting, and waiting, and waiting... It appeared that of the five elevators, only two were in operation. And with a full hotel, these two working elevators got a work out! But you had to wait...and wait...and....you know.

The room was fine. Though a concierge level room, there was nothing that made it any different than a typical marriott room. Clean, efficient...all the usual amenities. A nice room...but exactly what you expect from Marriott. So that was good.

We did not dine at the restaurant. And with the hotel crawling with those little brats, we didn't dare approach the pool (we had brought our bathing suits from home with the "fantasy" of having a quiet, relaxing Saturday by the pool. NOT!

Would we return? Sure. Would we call ahead next time to insure there won't be conferences booked for a weekend...YES!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Typical Marriott, could be anywhere in the world.
I struggled to sleep, due to the traffic noise from the roads outside. I believe you need to request the rooms not overlooking the highway.

The staff were really helpful, and food was good, so no complaints there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I had the chance to stay in this hotel for only two weeks during my business trip to LA and the first thing I would say that the room charge was very economical. The hotel staff were very welcoming and it was close to my office. I enjoyed my stay there and the room was cozy during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srini_jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The hotel is very nice and a beautiful place to attend a conference. I went for a walk to see the area, and it is surrounded by office buildings in every direction. If you want a bite to eat, it is difficult to find anything without a vehicle. I would stay there again, but I would also rent a car next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Elements 102 Restaurant
Marriott Irvine
Nice table breads e.g., olive, cheese
Tasty ahi salad
Good service

Nice Starbucks in the lobby

Drinks are a little expensive in the bar

Nice physical fitness center

Internet access costs

Free shuttle to and from the airport

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed here twice – once in December once in February.
Basic Marriott – nice club lounge – fantastic gym and large hot tub and indoor/outdoor connected pool. Club lounge closed Sunday night so Platinum members get appetizer coupons for the martini bar. Shuttle from SNA airport. Southwest crews stay here. Minutes to a Whole Foods/Target shopping center with lots of stores and food.
Easier to stay here if going to Disneyland – when using points why spend 25,000 for 1 night at a Fairfield inn when you could drive only 15 min and stay at a full-service Marriott??
Employees at front desk were very friendly and also the staff throughout the hotel. Out of the ordinary to be engaged by the Marriott staff without the impression that you are bothering them.
I’ll return to this hotel and stay here again if I’m in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sth121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine
0.6 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing