We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update lobby, old rooms”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Update lobby, old rooms”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is one of the pricier Marirott's in OC and the lobby delivers, the rooms however were disappointing. The concierge lounge had a typical breakfast and happy hour, but the upstairs "office" is very handy for interviews. Overall meets the marriott standards I am sure the pool and rooms are next on the upgrade list, but don't let the swanky lobby fool you, it's just a normal Marriott. Paying $20 a day for parking is a bit ridiculous, as every other hotel in the are offers free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, or a corner room with big side windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience both unfavorable and favorable. We feel terrible that we failed to fully meet your expectations. We understand parking is a premium in and around most airports and Orange County is no exception. Our fee enables us to manage our parking inventories and most importantly in offering a safe and secure parking experience for our guests. Rest assured, I will take your feedback and share them with our leadership team.

On the other hand, we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our “Great Room” and while our guest rooms are a bit dated, I am thrilled to share that we’re currently in the design phase of a forthcoming renovation of our guest rooms. We look forward to the possibility of your return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    220
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
84
61
28
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Parking is $20 to self park in uncovered lot. Lobby very sophisticated and modern, rooms and bathrooms extremely small and older decor. Hard to find stores close by and clerk didn't even try to help us. Not friendly, very business like. It is clean and neat, beds were comfy, but pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your sharing your feedback with us both favorable and unfavorable. We’re glad you had an opportunity to experience our new “Great Room” and while our guest rooms are a bit dated, I am thrilled to share that we’re currently in the design phase of a forthcoming renovation for our guest rooms that will be just as sophisticated and modern as our Great Room.

Additionally, please accept our sincere apologies for the inability to provide you with the local information you required. Please know that we have shared your experience with our staff as our goal is to provide guests with a memorable experience from their travels and we realize that we came up short for you in this area. Thank you for your feedback and we surely hope you may give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Excellent location to the airport and businesses in Irvine. Nothing going on after business hours around here. Purely a business hotel. The restaurants in the hotel are good, as is the bar. I stayed here a couple of years ago, the lobby and bar area and pool deck area had been completely remodeled. I'm hopeful they'll now extend that to the rest of the hotel. My hotel room was rather worn and tired looking. Could definitely use an update.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience our new “Great Room”. And, while our guest rooms are a bit dated, I am thrilled to share that we’re currently in the design phase of a forthcoming renovation for our guest rooms that will be just as impressing as our Great Room.

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you through the OC again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

No free wifi. I travel quite a bit and it's shocking to find that in this day and age a hotel still charges for wifi in the rooms. It should be free, everyone uses it. Even most cities provide it.

Wifi is so important to me, I will not stay here again until they change their policy and offer free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sad to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our charge for internet in our guest rooms is assessed in order to maintain the service and equipment used to provide it. Unlike this Hotel, other properties choose to include the cost in the rate. Complimentary internet in ourlobby area is always an option for those who need to jump on the internet or quickly check emails. We hope you will consider returning again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Aside from the renovated lobby there really isn’t anything too impressive with this hotel. Stayed here on business and was upgraded to the concierge floor, which isn’t saying much. The only perk was the complimentary breakfast served in the concierge lounge but otherwise the rooms are no bigger than any of the other floors (or so I was told by the front desk). The rooms are narrow and the bathrooms are somewhat smaller in comparison to other Marriotts but since this hotel is geared more towards convention/conference guests and business travelers then I can understand the no-frills atmosphere. In general, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel as a vacation destination.

This Marriott is located in a business neighborhood right off the 405 and it’s also a 10 minute drive from The District Promenade (restaurants, movie theater, shopping, etc.). The beaches are about a 20 minute drive without any traffic in the area. If you like your Starbucks fix, there is one located right inside the hotel across from the Front Desk. The fitness center and pool area are well-maintained although showing some signs of aging.

I share the same frustration with some of the other reviewers on the fact that Marriott (not just this one, but all of them) continues to nickel and dime you on every little thing, from parking to internet, when most other hotel chains have either done away with these charges or just include them in their hotel rate. It doesn’t seem like any amount of complaining will do any good since this is how it’s been for years so I don’t expect Marriott to change their tune now. Overall, this place is nothing to rave about but it’s not a nightmare either; but if I’m traveling in the area again I will most likely explore other options for my stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us both favorable and unfavorable, we feel terrible that we did not live up to your expectations, for this I sincerely apologize.

The lobby and public space was the first phase of our renovation project so we are glad you approve of the design. I'm delighted to share that our pool most recently has received some special touches with more to come. In addition, our fitness center and guest rooms are currently in the design phase of a forthcoming renovation, which we are sure to exceed your expectations.

Again, thank you for your feedback. I look forward to sharing the detailsof your experience with our Leadership Team. We look forward to the possibility of your return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The staff is amazing, they were extremely helpful and always friendly. The rooms are nice but pretty standard. The lobby is amazing I personally love the fresh cut flowers in the lobby. Parking is a little odd but easily manageable with in and out privileges.
I really enjoyed the food at the restaurant, a lot of fresh choices and again service was impeccable.. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The staff was very helpful - As a gold member, I enjoy the concierge lounge. It's interesting to see the differences in attitudes and helpfulness of the concierge staff. The staff at the Irvine Marriott are excellent. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport and I always enjoy stopping by Newport Beach just a few miles away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing