We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary Weekend Getaway”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Elsinore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Anniversary Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend, to sort of getaway for the weekend to celebrate our Anniversary; take in a jazz concert close by and to hang out near the beach. We had an awesome experience, from the the staff in valet to the front desk and even the friendly housekeeping ladies! I would also like to give a special thanks to Samantha who checked us in. She is so friendly and easy to talk to as we had a few laughs while checking in. The next day special services delivered a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of wine. The whole set up was beautiful and we were pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your thoughtfulness!! We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriceYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    220
    104
    30
    16
See reviews for
84
61
28
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food being served in the hotel restaurant and bar. We were attending an event over two days and were going to be hostage to the hotel for its duration. I was expecting pretty standard hotel fare but was delighted when I spotted burrata mozzarella and Heirloom tomatoes on the offerings and it did not disappoint, we were on to a winner. In fact all the food offerings over both days were a credit to your establishment. Kudos to your food team and keep pushing the boundaries, it's not easy to achieve but you guys seem to have pretty much nailed it. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean and from check in to departure (including the great breakfast) all your employees were outstanding.
Thank you, a lot of places should take a leaf out of your book. Keep setting standards.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your ‘outstanding’ experience with us. Our Culinary team was elated to hear that you enjoyed our seasonal offerings. When it comes to cuisine, our expert chefs stay true to freshness, quality, and seasonality with an innovative twist on Classic American favorites inspired by flavors of California. We’re thrilled that your experience has inspired a lasting impression and look forward to indulging your palate on your next visit to the OC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The beds were very comfortable. However, the bathroom is rather small. I would be willing to give up a little space in the room to have a larger bathroom.

The service at the bar was outstanding. I think one of the bartenders name is Roy. He was great.

I was a bit surprised when I had to pay for a cocktail in the concierge room during happy hour. $9 for a vodka / tonic is a bit much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for all your wonderful comments and taking the time to share your experience! It is so wonderful to hear that everything from the comfort of our bed to the sevice from Roy in our Floe Lounge contributed to your great stay. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our leadership team. We hope to have the pleasure of your return! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here in there past about 10 years ago and it was ok then clean I guess. Does not look like any things been upgraded sine then.

Checked in ok, room was musty smelling and just kind of old, the bed was nice though and having a balcony gave me a great view of the 405 freeway :-)

I checked in late and looked the room service menu, hmm only 5 entrees and none looking good, thought I wpuDgp. Down to the restaurant instead maybe a better selection, wrong same menu

Restaurant bar was noisy and 80,s music was too loud it appropriate they likely haven't. CHanged the cd either in 10 years. I must say the restaurant staff were nice and attentive. Iordered the roast chicken it was dry I think it was more flame broiled than roasted,either ways sent it back. Then I got sword fish, same deal I thin,the chef has a open flame. Back there it was hard, overlooked could not face anything else so. Got cheesecake instead. That was good, wine was cheaper than most hotels.

There's a Starbucks in the lobby which is nice,staff Theresa's friendly and coffee was as advertised.

Parking is $24 which seems kinda high for this place

I think you can do better in oc for the price

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bizTaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel F, Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear that our rooms and our restaurant options and quality did not meet your expectations. It is always great to hear that our hosts are providing excellent service. We did do extensive renovations in our lobby and restaurant areas which were completed at the end of last year and we have a room renovation coming up in the not too distant future.

We have had a lot of really positive feedback regarding our new menu and would love to hear some more specifics about what we might do better. We invite you to contact Lorenzo Salgado, our Director of Restaurants, at (949) 553-0100 if you would be open to discussing your experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've been planning events for a living for my whole career. And, I've been planning social events for even longer. So when I come across a hotel and catering/convention staff as stellar as this one, I'm in awe.

We recently planned a gala event for 350 people and really, we couldn't have asked for a better team to help us pull it off. We were frequently disorganized and last-minute but Marriott just rolled with it all. Such consummate professionalism down to every last server, banquet person, and staff member. Incredible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_G84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of all the details of your gathering. Our Event Planners thrive on providing our guests with the opportunity to inspire an engaging experience. Additionally, we're ecstatic to hear that all of our hosts you encountered provided you with the brilliant service and professionalism many of our guests have come to expect of the Marriott brand. We have always recognized it’s not the brass and glass, or acres of marble that make the difference... but rather the relationships of our hosts and guests that are the hallmarks of our reputation. Again, thank you not only for your business but also for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to hosting your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Good impression while entering in the lobby, very modern, very lightly, design etc... the impression is kind of different while getting out of the elevator at the room level. You are travelling back in time from a 21st century lobby to a 80's style resort hotel. Red floor in carpet, old fashioned decoration in the corridors... The room ambiance is the same. Despite comfortable bedding, I was disappointed about the price / quality ratio. 259 USD for a night is too expensive for this old fashioned style hotel. Almost no amenities in the bathroom, I felt like something was missing in this room, I felt uncomfortable and not like at home like in some other hotels I could have stayed in. A quick refurbish is necessary to justify these rates !! Staff is friendly and valet parking is very nice (I appreciate the bottle of fresh water offered while getting in my car!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the highway side or you'll not sleep !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel F, Front Office Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our new lobby area and the new bedding in the rooms. We are thrilled that you found our hosts to be friendly, as our main focus is always customer service. We are sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectation and are excited to let you know that as part of our recent makeover, we do have a room renovation scheduled for the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing the Irvine Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is clean, beautifully kept, and service is great. I accidentally left my shaving kit in my room after checkout. The staff kept it for me until I could retrieve it. The parking is a bit expensive, but it's very convenient to John Wayne Airport, and there are lots of good restaurants around. It would be a less expensive place to stay for a family heading to Disneyland. Rooms are a bit small and the elevator area can get jammed up, but great place otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badcamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear about your overall enjoyable stay! I look forward to sharing your feedback with our leadership team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the OC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing