We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good concierge lounge, better than other Marriotts”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good concierge lounge, better than other Marriotts”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Currently staying at the Irvine Marriott and thought is a was hip and trendy property. I was impressed with the Concierge Lounge as it was far better than most Marriott's. The front desk check-in was chic and modern. I felt like I was checking in to the "W" hotel.

The work out room is better than most and the equipment was maintained. They had iced wash clothes and fruit in the workout room. They did not have equipment wipes, so used a towel to clean my equipment. The wipes are a must have 24x7 item in a workout room.

The drawback of the property is the parking situation. You have to deal with the parking hassle of getting a ticket when you show up, then switching to a parking pass at the front desk, and showing pass upon leaving the parking lot, then getting a paper ticket to enter the parking lot and then throwing it away. It is a stupidly complicated process for non-travelers.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for a better city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    215
    103
    30
    15
See reviews for
83
60
28
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Irvine Marriott for a weekend to visit our old home & friends in Newport Beach. We chose this hotel because 1) I am loyal to Marriot whenever possible and 2) the rates in Irvine were much more reasonable than Newport Beach for a summer weekend. The location is convenient to everything we needed including 5 minutes to the airport and 15 minutes to the furthest parts of Newport Beach.

We arrived late (around 11:00 PM) and check in was fast and friendly. Our first night was in a king room with a balcony on the 11th floor. I had been flying all day and was starving (wife had been in town all week and already ate) so I ordered room service. A club sandwich & fries took just under an hour to deliver which seemed like forever, especially when it was ordered at 11:15 PM; the good thing was that since I was so hungry, they could have fed me anything and I would have thought it was the greatest meal ever.

Unfortunately, the bed was VERY uncomfortable - so much so that my wife slept on the floor. When we awoke the next morning we asked to switch rooms to something with a newer bed and were informed that only floors 3 - 5 have newer beds. The staff were very understanding and relocated us to room 441 which had two new, firm, double beds. When we swapped out the old keys for the new, the front desk agent said that their beds receive a lot of complaints and they are working on upgrading them.

Parking was a little steep at $12 - $19 per night depending on the night ($12 isn't bad but $19 is a bit much) however, our room rate was great (booked on Marriott.com) so I can't really complain. Also, their WiFi allows you to connect up to five devices for one charge, which is great although paid WiFi at any hotel is annoying.

Also, I was looking forward to some sushi at the lobby sushi bar but it is no longer there. :(

I'd stay here again if the price was right but only if I could get a room with a new bed.

Room Tip: At the time of our stay, floors 3,4 & 5 have new beds while the other floors have old, uncomfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zooch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very lovely newly renovated lobby, with its own starbucks. Excellent service by all the staff. Rooms were clean and quiet. Fun pool but a VERY rough pool deck -- could use some updating. Good location, convenient to much of orange county. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIsenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and we'll definitely stay again.

Room: Nice, clean, roomy and what we expected for a Marriott.

Pool: LOVE this pool. The kids had a blast swimming in this over sized, half outside/half inside pool and were pleasantly surprised to see the night pool lights change colors. FUN! Their pool chairs were very comfortable to lounge in.

Food: We have an elite status with Marriott and had access to "The Lounge" and their free breakfast was the best. Lots to choose from and the staff were great and quickly replenishing the buffet and clearing off tables.

Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our week long Cali trip. If you are looking for a place that is close and convenient to the airport, this is your place. Other than that, there is much other around that businesses. It is about a 20 min drive down to Newport Beach and 10 min to Fashion Valley.

The hotel itself was pretty nice, but like many other reviewers have mentioned it is under construction so you can't get full effect. The staff was more than accommodating to make it a good stay for us though. We got there early and could not get into our room so they held our luggage, guaranteed our double bed room and gave us directions to the beach. Upon return, the person at the front desk could tell we were tired and hot and offered us waters. So that was a nice gesture you don't often see when hotels charge $5 for a bottle of water.

The rooms was nice, but a little out dated. They have a nice indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub we used and was very nice. Other than that it was just your basic Marriott. Nothing terrible, but nothing spectacular. I wish we could have been there with the new lobby.

I would stay here again if our travels brought us into the Orange County Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaSun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've had a great stay here - and the lobby is now done. There's a bit of construction going on but it doesn't effect us at all. We have stayed at many Marriotts, and this is the most deluxe with the best staff ever - great front desk, wonderful hospitality people and staff in the Concierge's lounge - which is a bargain. Included: breakfast 7 days a week and an evening appetizer and desserts bar (5:30-7:30 for appetizers, 7:30-9:30 desserts). What a chef! Yummy food served on real plates with linen napkins. Alcohol is not included, but soft drinks are. We are here because our grandson is competing in the Little League US Regional Playoffs. Pool is great, basketball, too. They have wonderful lounge chairs and umbrellas, and staff is so accomodating to our group - putting tables together for us and storing our large trays of spaghetti. Anything we need, they provide. The rooms are all upscale with a terrific table on wheels that you can pull between the beds and use for dining or games. They have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. My daughter-in-law opened escrow on a house while here and they bend over backward to scan the contracts and email them for us, too. Way to go Marriott Irvine - this is our hotel of choice now in this area!

Room Tip: Choose the Concierge package and you'll be put in a room on the upper floors with a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Four of us girls chose the Marriott for a one night stay as we were in town to celebrate a relative's "big birthday" at a lovely nearby restaurant - Andreis. The Marriott was less than a mile from the venue, which made it easy and affordable (only $5.25 + tip! for the taxi) and best of all we could all enjoy our dinner & cocktails knowing we would be driven back to the Marriott safe and sound - only 2 minutes away. When I reserved the room they explained that the hotel was under construction, but we never would have guessed that. There was little sign of any construction and we noticed no additional noise.
The staff at check-in was extremely hospitable and professional. With 4 of us sharing a room, they kindly brought in 2 additional single beds at no extra cost. This is a great location,close to freeways & restaurants. For us girls, this was a great value, about $36 ea, including the valet service for our car which was parked in a secure lot. We did not eat at the Marriott, however I would definitely recommend you try dinner at Andreis if you chose to go out.
Overall - great value, great location, excellent service, clean, comfortable and secure. This was the perfect choice for us.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet, not too far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing