We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to John Wayne Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Irvine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to John Wayne Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the John Wayne Airport and in between the cities of Irvine and Newport Beach. It was located on a good thoroughfare which connected us to several places we wanted to visit. We had a room that overlooked the courtyard, pool and fire pit. The price was reasonable, but my son thought we had a good price because it was during the winter season. It was clean and modern. Breakfast is served, but it is not included in the price of the room. Internet was free! We always appreciate this. I was also glad they were good at recommending places to eat since we were new to the area and had no idea where to start. They handed us a well-organized paper listing the nearby restaurants, the types and the directions. We were there for a pleasure trip, but this is also a good business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Crteach,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you with all of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
24
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is located a few km from the John Wayne Airport and has easy access to the 405 Freeway. It is not a few km from the campus of UC Irvine. This hotel was not up to the same standards as the other hotels of the Courtyard Marriott group. The response on check-in was a bit perfunctory. The most negative aspect of the stay was that the room walls were paper thin - and the rooms did not appear to be acoustically isolated from one another - rather disconcerting and unpleasant to say the least. The "so-called" Main Street is actually a six-lane speedway. There are only a few restaurants within walking distance. If you visit this hotel without a car, you will be stranded as there are few services/stores within easy walking distance. In summary, this Courtyard/Marriott is an OK but it is an uninspiring place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ae6378137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear ae6378137,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and I will make sure that your concerns are addressed.

If you would like to discuss your stay with further, please feel free to reach out to me at anytime via email at cindy.han-reta@marriott.com.

I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

During my stay I was so disappointing with not only the service but lack of sleep I experienced. We were placed in a room that had constant noise from a facility door leading to the outside opening and closing. This was a very important trip for us and not getting any sleep left a sour taste in my mouth. Many amenities were lacking to top it off. Even simple things like enough towels in the room or the "free coffee" at 8:00am. Often times we pick Marriott not just for work events and functions but personal trips as well. However, my experience here was so dreadful I do not think that is going to be the case. Around 7am the slamming door stopped and then a cleaning person decided 8am was the perfect time to vacuum outside my door. We decided to leave early to have a little bit of serenity in our vehicle. I spoke to the front desk during check out and could not even receive an "I am sorry" wrote the GM and no response. Terrible customer service that is not the way to treat paying customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kourtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good basic hotel for business or family trips and reasonably priced. The staff was very professional and friendly. Location is convenient, close to the 405 freeway. The late 2:00 p.m. check-out was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Jamboree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poggy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Poggy2002,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in both our hotel and service and we are happy to hear that we were able to accomodate you with both.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here last year for a work related training and the amenities were good.

It was very convenient and more affordable to get my beer and wine from the Irvine Market liquor store (2540 Main St) that was walking distance from the hotel. I bought a cupcake merlot wine for $8.49 and a 6 pack of shocktop beer for $8.99. So you can compare this to the beer/wine prices at hotel.

I asked the hotel for a corkscrew and they had that for me.

All and all this hotel was close to my training and the Irvine Market walking distance away made my 2 night stay pleasant. Next to the Irvine Market is a few cafes to eat at too. The front-desk was nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Ecomango,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Irvine and we made your work trip a little more pleasent for you.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Checked in recently and was pleased with the renovations, clean lobby, nice pool, rooms were decent (little loud with foot traffic above). I give it an average because when I checked in they gave me a key to a room on the 4th floor with a nice view, however, there were still people I'm this room! I did I a double take and opened the room again and was in some what shock. Went down to the front desk and informed them of the situation, they apologized and gave me a room on the 2nd floor but when i opened the blinds there were two huge trees as my view- Coming from NY in the winter, i just wanted a little SoCal sunshine and had originally requested a room with a view so I asked if they could move me to a a room comparable to the initial room and was told someone would be right up to give me new keys. Waited about 25 mins, finally tracked down an employee and he put me in a room with a poolside view. The front desk sent up a bottle water and a Naked fruit drink. What saved this from being a disaster was that they also gave me in a free beer..It's good for business trips but ill probably venture else where next time I'm in this area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrVD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear MrVD44,

Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback is truly appreciated. I apologize for your experience and I will be speaking with our General Manager to see what we can do to alleviate this situation. If you would be so kind as to contact me via email at cindy.han-reta@marriott.com, I would love to hear a little more about your experience.

I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Even though this and the other hotels in the area appeared to be sold out, I was able to get a reservation becuase of the Marriotts Rewards program. The price was very good and the location was convenient to SNA airport, but not too close to be noisy. The lobby has been updated with a modern design and has a good cafe for breakfast and light dinner. Very comfortable to hang out in as is the fire pit area in the courtyard.
Rooms were comfortable, but the bathroom would be small for more than one person.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open on to the inner courtyard and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Corrine F,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your great feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy your time here as well as save a few dollars! We take great pride in our service as well as our product and your review validates all of our hardwork.

Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 19 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
0.6 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#7 of 19 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 2701 Main St, Irvine, CA 92614-6230
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Irvine John Wayne Airport Hotel is an oasis in the middle of Orange County. So relaxing that you'd never guess how close this Irvine, California hotel is to John Wayne Airport, UC Irvine, and fantastic shopping at South Coast Plaza and Fashion Island. Inside, experience our new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our Irvine, CA hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage choices in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each guest room at this hotel in Irvine, California has been completely redesigned to provide a more welcoming stay. Aesthetic changes create a vibrant atmosphere that encourages creativity and the upgraded high-speed internet enhances productivity. Guests to our John Wayne Airport hotel are in for a comfortable stay thanks to our new improvements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA
Irvine Courtyard
Irvine Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing