We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable choice for a weekend at for this neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend night and it was very good for the purpose of our visit. A nice lobby and a nice bar... Breakfast was obviously for a fee only, free coffee in the lobby was provided ONLY for FEW hours (most of the time there was no free coffee in the lobby). Front desk receptionist was kind. Room space was very good, bed, aircondition and free WiFi were very good.

We reached the hotel by a car, did not fly in/out SNA. We picked this Courtyard hotel over the nearby SpringHill's because of a lower weekend rate.

On previous visits to this neighborhood, I wrote two very good reviews about the nearbt SpringHill hotel, however since then... the hotel raised its weekend rate.

Room Tip: A low rate for a weekend stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear marathon308,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of a few of our amenities while staying with us. We take great pride in both our product and service and we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy both.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here after a late arriving flight at John Wayne-the Marriott was super expensive so chose this option, whose price point was reasonable.

I had to wait to check in as the desk clerk found an envelope for a guy (not a guest) picking up an envelope, going through seeing his ID and verifying info, etc. It was late and I found this not to be the greatest example of customer service.

Room was clean, but not as spacious as another courtyard I had stayed at several days before. In am had to wait for server at bistro about 5 minutes or so to show up; I don't find lax service such as what has mentioned to be out of the ordinary for Orange County, but this seemed to be systemic with every experience I had in the hotel; no one in too big of a hurry to help.

The price point is great, but it's not the closest to John Wayne, and also not the easiest to find or get to at night; located in what appears to be a combo business/condo development, you actually have to access through a point on Jamborree or down from the actual street address on Main. Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLintheSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear KLintheSEH,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your feedback and I will assure you all of your concerns will be addressed with our General Manager. If you would like to address them with me candidly, I would be more than happy to dig in a little further on what we can do to better any future stays. You may contact me directly via email at cindy.han-reta@marriott.com.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Courtyard on Main St. The front desk staff was so friendly and welcoming. I stayed in a one bedroom room on the first floor and it was quiet. As with the Marriott chain, the room was clean and comfortable. Loved the bed and the free wifi, free parking is also available here. The Courtyard is a hop, skip and a jump from SNA if you're flying in. There's quite a few shopping centers within driving distance to get some food if you choose to opt out from the Bistro that is in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Greg J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your time here with us. We take pride in both our service and product so your feedback is welcomed.

Thank you so much, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very nice Courtyard with the Bistro upgrade. The rooms were very clean and I had one facing the courtyard. It was nice to have a patio to sit on in the evenings after work. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I was there for a conference at the Hyatt across the street. It was an easy walk and in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear KellyHouston,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. When you are alway from home on business, we like to keep our guests as comfortble and relaxed as possible. Our staff takes great pride in our service and hotel so we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Cindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Irvine on a Sunday at a weekend special rate. We were in room 303 with a view of the office building next door. The room was smaller than in Courtyards where we had stayed on this trip (Kahului, Maui and San Diego's Liberty Station). It had a chair-width porch without chairs. We didn't buy breakfast with the room.

Pluses
• The bed and pillows were very comfortable
• Many wall plugs for charging our various devices
• Free coffee downstairs
• The TV screen was very large with good selection of channels
• Refrigerator, coffee maker
• Air conditioner blows over the desk and TV, not over the bed

Minuses
• The free in-room wi-fi was very sluggish, and sometimes I was unable to attach files to e-mails. Probably the bandwidth doesn't fit the traffic. Maybe better in lobby.
• The toilet probably uses compressed air. The flushing noise is loud enough to wake up your wife if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night.
• The bathroom is divided by a door into a sink and mirror and a toilet-bath/shower. The door squeaks

The room was comfortable, but the smaller room and sluggish wi-fi were a big nuisance. We felt it was a good value on the weekends for those who don’t need good Internet, but we would not spend a hundred dollars more of our own money to stay there on week nights, given the alternatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Staidhere,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We always appreciate comments that will help us better the stays of our future guests. I apologize that the internet was sluggish and the noise from your bathroom woke up your wife, I will make sure our Engineering department looks into it. We will make sure to look into the specific room that you stayed in and see what we can do to elevate those issues.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

Best,

Cindy H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stay at this property when we are flying out of SNA, since our flights are always early morning. We really like the location and the pool! We usually arrive early afternoon and spend a few hours at the pool before getting dinner and returning our rental car - By staying here we pay for one less day of the rental car. The hotel has a free shuttle to/from SNA. It leaves the hotel every half hour, on the hour. When I called for airport pick-up after returning our car I was informed that the shuttle driver had just gone on his half hour break. Staff member told me to take a taxi and the hotel would pay for it. (My husband decided we should walk.... I would NOT recommend this as you take your life in your hands trying to get out of the airport! That said, it took us about 30 minutes to walk to the hotel.) I made a reservation for our return to SNA in the morning. We were the only passengers, so the driver took us shortly after we arrived in the lobby.

Check-in was easy, although I did have to ask if an upgrade was available (I'm a Platinum Premier Marriott Rewards member). I was given the option of a couple of suites in different locations. Suite was clean and everything was in working order, and there was a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the living room. And of course, since this is a Courtyard, there was free WiFi. Parking can be a little problematic when the property is busy, but we did not have a problem. Parking is available in front of the hotel and there is a free garage behind the property. The hotel has a roll-the-dice program for Marriott Rewards members -- You can earn extra points, something from the marketplace, etc. I "won" 500 extra points and they were promptly credited to my account. The property also has a cafe, but we did not utilize it.

All staff members we encountered were friendly and professional. We will be staying here again in October!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear akdonalds,

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As a Platinum member with Marriot we truly cherish your patronage to our hotel and the many other Marriotts you must stay in, so thank you again for your loyalty,

We look forward to welcoming you back in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The rooms are clean, high speed internet, great location, clean bathroom, good breakfast, good pool, excellent service, nice neighborhood it´s really close from every place. Everything is perfect there, we´ll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear thehernandez,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We pride our selves on both our product and service and we are glad to see you were able to take advantage of our many amenites that the hotel offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#5 of 23 in Irvine
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Address: 2701 Main Street, Irvine, CA 92614-6230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: $119 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport Hotel is an oasis in the middle of Orange County. So relaxing that you'd never guess how close this Irvine, California hotel is to John Wayne Airport, UC Irvine, and fantastic shopping at South Coast Plaza and Fashion Island. Inside, experience our new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our Irvine hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage choices in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each guest room at this hotel in Irvine, California has been completely redesigned to provide a more welcoming stay. Aesthetic changes create a vibrant atmosphere that encourages creativity and the upgraded high-speed internet enhances productivity. Guests to our John Wayne Airport hotel are in for a comfortable stay thanks to our new improvements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA
Irvine Courtyard
Irvine Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing