We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Clay Oven

Clay Oven
Reserve with OpenTable
Clay Oven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 651 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Irvine Center Dr.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited this restaurant on Dec 30 2012. The ambience of the hotel is nice and the staff and manager were very courteous. The food was good and was different from the usual Indian restaurant menu though choices are limited for vegetarian only people. Had a great time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazyperson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very Pricey! poor food! SHAME!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

if you are from India, I bet you really cant like their food. it's really disgusting. we ordered for Shrimp Bhuna and what they prepared is "tomato chutney with Shrimp", LOL!!

the interior was good, server was knowledgeable and polite. but i really dont understand why are they making these kind of foods and calling it as indian delicacies!! come on!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sudipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wonderful northern Indian cuisine. Had a chance to chat with the owner who came by our table to check on quality. Very gracious and knowledgeable. We enjoyed an assortment of tasty dishes, and I'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been eating at this fabulous restaurant for over twenty five years! The owners son now manages it along with his dad. This family restaurant is set on a non descript strip mall. The smallish restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the food is amazing. Primarily northern Indian cooking, all the dishes are very tasty. Wonderful service added to tge above make it an outstanding choice for a casual night out. It's no wonder Pravid the owner is asked to cater many local Indian Weddings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Indian Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

OK, it's pricey, but it is not your average Indian food either. Right at the beginning we were greeted by the owner on a recent birthday celebration and from there we were in the right 'Indian' mood throughout the evening. The delicacies kept arriving at the table brought by very attentive staff. One of the high points was a tandoori duck (!!) with pomegranate sauce. The vegetarian dishes that my son had were absolutely delicious, and my wife's fish was delicious as well. We had a lot to take home, because the portions were also generous. The thing I love about Indian spices is that they warm up your stomach and create a wonderful feeling of satisfaction - as opposed to Mexican spiciness that burns your mouth but does not really go anywhere else. The Clay Oven certainly knows how to spice up things.
They also have a buffet at lunch time that is much less spectacular and compares to the standard lunch fare you get at the India Cook House on Culver, which is not a bad place either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfhomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Oven also viewed

Rancho Santa Margarita, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Clay Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing